We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B on beautiful grounds”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spiddal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardmor Country House Spiddal
Ranked #1 of 14 Spiddal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B on beautiful grounds”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We arrived early in the day here after a long flight and a three hour drive from Dublin and Vera and Bartley were so kind to allow us to stay and make ourselves at home while they prepared our room. The house is beautifully decorated, as are the grounds. We had a nice room in the back overlooking Galway Bay. We met interesting people at breakfast each morning, and Vera's cooking was well received. She's a wealth of knowledge of things to see and do in Spiddal and surrounding areas. She gave us a map to follow for the road to Connemara and marked our route with precision. We followed her advice and had a wonderful scenic drive the next day. While in Spiddal we ate at An Cruiscin Lan and Peppino's. Both were good!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydi2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    16
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I can say nothing but positives about Vera and Bartley. We have stayed with them quite a few times over the years that we have traveled to Ireland. Every visit was wonderful. The rooms were spacious and wonderfully decorated. This year we had a view of Galway Bay and the Aran Islands from our room with two chairs and a table in front of the windows. The breakfast is served at a large table so you can interact with other guests. This year, there were students from GA and also a French couple. Vera has excellent breakfast options including fruit. She also serves a great Irish breakfast. And she does her own baking which is wonderful. We have been traveling to Ireland for 15 years, staying at B&Bs always but Vera's gardens are some of the most beautiful
We expect to travel back to stay with Vera again next year and cannot wait.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Spiddal is a great choice if you prefer the outskirts of Galway to staying in the town proper. There was a mighty storm afoot and we enjoyed watching it from our room after returning from town and the beach. Our room was spacious (though the bath is a tad smallish) and had a lovely view of Vera's carefully tended garden. Our bed was wonderfully comfortable with layers and layers of lovely wool blankets - no one suffers cold at the Ardmor House!

Vera Feeney is a most charming woman who has traveled extensively. Her collections are an intrigue in themselves. And Vera knows how to make guests feel at home. She has excellent advice for things to see and do and she is a Grand Mistress of the Kitchen. Her pastries, jams and soda bread are head and shoulders above others in Ireland.

We loved the long dining table and the opportunity to chat and exchange venues with guests from the UK and Germany.

Thank you, Vera, for making our stay so memorable

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ideas2Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This was a good choice, Lovely hostess Vera made us welcome on arrival. Room was clean and neat with tea & coffee facilities. Next morning we had a lovely breakfast shared with 4 lovely French tourists and a couple from UK.
A lovely view of Galway Bay from our room at back of house.
Barbara & Neville (Australia)

Room Tip: Back of house is nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnev169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Good location for a visit to Spiddal (walking distance) or if you are visiting children in the Gaeltacht. Breakfast was very nice and lovely fresh bread. However, sleeping quality was nil. I would rate it as a 0/10 on my sleeping quality scale. From when I went to bed at 10pm (after a long journey) until just after dawn the snoring of one individual in the rooms above our room was unbelievable. Rooms are downstairs but access is directly from the car park at the rear of the house. The proprietors seemed tired of the business?

Room Tip: Ware earplugs! There is little sound proofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FailteEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Vera was very nice upon arrival, showed us our rooms which were very clean. The beds were comfortable and the shower area newer but sink is a little dated. She had wash cloths and soap amenities. It was our first night in Ireland so we asked for a recommendation of where to eat in town (approx. 5 min. drive). In the morning Vera gave us directions on our map as to the route to make use of our day there. It was excellent advice. Breakfast was good and we enjoyed the delicious apple tart the one morning. Her daughter helped to serve the food and coffee came out promptly. Great garden surrounding the property. Only problems were the one night the people arriving on the floor above us were extremely noisy and woke us up but can't fault Vera for rudeness in guests. If exploring Connemara area this is a great place to stay. Beware if trying to find on gps it gives you the wrong place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4vrongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

What an incredible place! Perfectly clean rooms, amazing views, and incredible breakfast are all great but Vera and Bartley are what makes this place worth a visit. Very friendly and always striving to make all of their guests happy. This is the most courteous place my wife and I have ever stayed and will be back to stay again. You will not be disappointed in Ardmor country house! By the way they also serve the best breakfast in Ireland!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsnorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spiddal
112.7 mi away
An Cruiscin Lan Hotel
An Cruiscin Lan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Spiddal
88 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,280 reviews
8.0 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Tankardstown
Tankardstown
#1 of 3 in Slane
303 reviews
113.6 mi away
Radharc Arainn B&B
Radharc Arainn B&B
#7 of 14 in Spiddal
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
An Caladh Gearr Thatch Cottage B+B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmor Country House Spiddal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmor Country House Spiddal

Property: Ardmor Country House Spiddal
Address: Spiddal House Spiddal House Spiddal House Greenhill, Spiddal, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Spiddal
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Spiddal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing