We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice, Highly Recommend”
Review of Tuar Beag

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spiddal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tuar Beag
Ranked #6 of 14 Spiddal B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We highly recommend Tuar Beag. We were thoroughly satisfied during the eight days we stayed there in 2005 and had no reservations making Tuar Beag our home base for this twelve day stay. As expected, Tuar Beag retained it's cozy, friendly, inviting atmosphere as expected Siobhan and Eamonn were gracious hosts. During our stay I sampled many breakfast menu choices and I can truthfully say all were delicious. When my wife was ill and unable to make breakfast Siobhan made a special tray to take to her in the room. Again we highly recommend Tuar Beag and look forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: The second floor South West corner room has a balcon.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Tuar Beag
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 84 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

Tuar Beag in Spiddal is the perfect spot for visiting the Aran Islands or touring Connemara. Eamonn and Siobhan couldn't be more welcoming. The B&B is easy to locate, just outside town with a view of the sea. Everything was spotless and little touches like fresh baked cakes and water jugs left by the bed are a nice touch. Breakfast is excellent, served with a lovely sprig of fuschia. Highly recommend this homey B&B.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
1  Thank wandererChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We were fortunate indeed to select Tuar Beag for our week long stay in Spiddal. Siobhan and Eamonn were terrific. Our room was very comfortable and the view from our room was spectacular. Siobhan was a wonderful cook and there was always something delicious for breakfast .. there were plenty of choices although I had my favourite!!! The house was within walking distance to Spiddal where there were several pubs and restaurants.Tuar Beag is a great base for exploring Connemara and The Aran Islands and it was only a 20 drive to Salthill and Galway City. Siobhan had plenty of suggestions for places to visit and was always interested in what we had been up to during the day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryk_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We found Tuar Beag on the Irish B&B website and read many reviews on that site as well as on Trip Advisor. Eamonn and Siobhan have been in the B&B business for many years and their home is a lovely old house with beautiful, great big thick stone walls. Although WiFi is available, those same walls interfere and reception is spotty. The downstairs is as warm and inviting as depicted in the Internet pictures. It was nice to have access to a guest lounge since our room was a bit small -probably because it had two beds: the queen sized one we had asked for, and a single one. It faced the front of the house and had a nice view of Galway Bay. We found it warm at night and could not turn off the heat, nor open the windows. The bathroom was fine, with a smallish shower. The dining room is particularly warm and inviting, and beautifully set. Breakfast is good and served by Seobhan herself. Guests are asked to select the night before from a pre-set menu which offers a good selection of dishes. Each dish is very well presented, but we found the portions small. For example, on both mornings I selected fruit and yogurt and although it looked very nice in a long, slender dish, there were only a few pieces of fruit, topped with a very few spoonfuls of yogurt. On the second morning, we only had one cup of coffee each and none was available when we asked for a refill. We had never encountered this before in any of the B&Bs we stayed before, whether in Ireland, England, France or anywhere else in Europe for that matter.
We must add though that when we discovered we had left an adaptor in our room two days after we left, we contacted Siobhan and asked if it could be sent to the hotel in Dublin where we were going to be a few days later. Eamonn put it in the mail that day and it was indeed waiting for us when we arrived in Dublin.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MonctonCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuarbeag, Owner at Tuar Beag, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

We welcome all feedback and our offering has been fine tuned over the years by listening to guests and acting on their positive and helpful suggestions. We genuinely and most wholeheartedly thank all those guests for the positive comments in their reviews which are very encouraging. We also thank this guest for his many positive comments and are saddened that his and his wife's experience did not match the expectations they had, based on the reviews of guests on the Trip Advisor and the Irish Tourist Board websites. We fully accept that every guest is individual and entitled to their opinion however it is important that any comments are an accurate representation. I would therefore like to note:
1. A double or twin room, not a king, was booked. As a room with a King bed and a single bed, with a front sea view was available we, without request, made it available to these guests at the agreed last minute special price of Euro 29 per person for the double room booked. We regret that it was considered a bit small- it meets the Irish Tourist board standard for a four star B&B room for 2 people. We could quite easily have accommodated these guests in our very large rooms if they had communicated that a large room was important to them
2. Just as we finished serving all breakfasts, some guests sought me to check-out. On returning from the reception a short time later this guest was still in the dining room on his computer - all the other tables had departed. He sought a refill of coffee. Unfortunately, believing breakfasts were over, a new pot of coffee had not been put on to brew when I went to reception. I most apologetically told the guest I would put on a pot now but that it would take 10 minutes so if they wanted coffee immediately I could make some instant. Both offers were declined. There was tea and coffee making facilities in theirs and every guest room. Mugs the size of 2 standard cups are used in the dining room.
3. We are acutely aware that it is difficult to maintain room temperatures to suit every guest. The subject of heating is thus clearly outlined in the extensive guest information folder in every room plus room heaters can be turned on or off. Their room window and the window in the ensuite bathroom directly off the guest bedroom, like every window in the house, are openable. If at any point during their 2 day stay an issue with the heating had been brought to our attention we could have helped to adjust the temperature to their preference.
4. These guests had juice, hot porridge, fresh fruit and yoghurt followed by a cooked main course as well as toast, homemade bread and coffee. I am disappointed that they considered the portions small and with any suggestion that they did not get an adequate amount to eat. In Tuar Beag our primary focus is quality thus we serve every part of the breakfast menu , individually and freshly prepared, to guests at their table. As the guest outlined we offer a wide range of main courses designed to meet all palates and appetites. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, which I recollect was one of the breakfasts these guests chose, is a lighter breakfast option, albeit made with 3 eggs , smoked salmon and a random accompaniment of potatoes, mushroom or tomatoes. Today I did something I never did and counted the amount of pieces of fruit put into the fruit salad coupe– it came to 19! If advice on which breakfasts were the most filling was sought this would have willingly been provided for the second day.

It is a pity for these guests and for Tuar Beag that they found their experience to be average and even more disappointing that the issues they raise could have been redressed if they had communicated them directly and then allowed us to deal with them at the time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Siobhan and Eamonn were both wonderful hosts and the stay most enjoyable! We loved the dining room and the great breakfasts every morning, as well as having access to a living room. Everyone in town was wonderful as well; we really enjoyed our time here!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Found this place through the Irish B&B site, and it had great reviews on trip advisor which it certainly lived up to. Our room was large with comfy bed and pillows, basic bathroom with toilet, shower and wash basin (which is enough).

Lovely big house over 100 years old or so. The thick stone walls interfere with the WIFI, but can get it in the foyer (there are better things to do). Lounge room with comfy chairs and large TV. Plenty of parking, beautiful gardens. A short walk to the nearby village, which has a footpath, there is a hotel with a restaurant which is pretty good. We drove out to the Burren and the Cliffs of Moher, quite easy to get through Galway, its about a 15-20 drive out of Galway.

Siobhan and Eamon were lovely hosts, very knowledgeable about the area and welcoming. Lovely Irish hospitality which makes you feel right at home. The breakfast was yummy- fresh fruit, yoghurt and a selection of hot meals you choose the night before.

Stay here if you are looking for a relaxing, welcoming, clean and comfy place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holiday_Jen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Siobhan, the owner, is a very kind person and helped us settle and feel home. We shared a big family room with our 4 children and a big bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and we could enjoy a wide variety of Irish products. Its locación is perfect to start a lovely journey around Galway County.

Spanish family

Room Tip: Big family ROOM for 6 people
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marga959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spiddal
0.7 mi away
An Cruiscin Lan Hotel
An Cruiscin Lan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Spiddal
97 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,726 reviews
5.0 mi away
Connemara Coast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radharc Arainn B&B
Radharc Arainn B&B
#7 of 14 in Spiddal
28 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ard Eoinin Spiddal Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuar Beag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuar Beag

Address: Eamonn and Siobhan Feeney, Spiddal, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Spiddal
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Spiddal
Price Range: $33 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing