We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful "total return" rental with a great...”
Tigh Lals Thatched Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tigh Lals Thatched Cottage
Bedrooms Cottage from the Outside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Tigh Lals Thatched Cottage
Bedrooms
Cottage from the Outside
Living Area
Kitchen and Downstairs Bathroom
Views from the Roof!
Various Spiddal Pics
View with Garden
Beach (Trá na mBan)
Beach 2 From a Distance
Another view of Living Area
Showing driveway with Parking at Side and Rear
Old Fireplace
Another view of Kitchen and appliances
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Spiddal, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
IwanderSo...
South Florida
1 review
“Wonderful "total return" rental with a great location and top notch hospitality”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Still remembering our lovely week at Carmel and Martin's charming cottage. Perfect for our needs in so many ways. Very close to Galway city, but with a country village setting, Tigh Lal was a wonderful base for touring Connemara and enjoying the city offerings as well. We loved the town of Spiddal, being able to walk to buy groceries, stroll the beach paths across the road, check out the library, chat with the very friendly locals, and zip down a block or two to the local pubs by night to hear fabulous live music by very talented regulars. While at the pub who should we run into but...Carmel and Martin!
They are the friendliest hosts one could imagine, the kind that make you feel like you're right at home, and did everything they could to make our visit as satisfying as possible. And so caring--Carmel would stop by to drop off homemade cookies and yummy brown bread, but, since we were full of questions about Spiddal and the surrounding area, would end up staying for a cup of tea and a visit by the fire. Loved the whole experience. Could move in permanently tomorrow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Enfield, Meath, Ireland
1 review
“you have to rent this house, fantastic,homey, friendly,craic & ceol”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

we had a great time, carmel and martin are so helpful, kind and generous.cottage is so idyllic and has everything( and i mean everything) we need, lovely home baking on the table as we walked in , so welcoming. they couldn`t do enough for us. beach right across the road, hughes pub is a great haunt for the craic agus ceol, great trad music.The playground is only down the road too. fab scenery all along the coast. People are so friendly and couldn`t do enough for you.we loved it so much we didnt want to leave

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful people, so friendly kind and generous
Liked least: nothing everything was perfect
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColletteW...
Enfield
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Rare Find”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed in tigh Lal's on two occasions - both were short stays. Our daughter and husband were already there and we visited. From the minute we arrive at the cottage we loved it. We met Carmel and Mairtin shortly after we arrived and they have to be the best hosts we have ever met. They bent over backwards to ensure that our stay was just perfect. We enjoyed their company as they were very interesting, knowledgeable and extremely kind. On arrival there were scones & buns left for us which we thoroughly enjoyed. They were more dropped in later in the week also. We had all the necessities available to us when we arrived. Apart from the milk,Tea, Coffee, sugar etc., there were loads of extra items in the press along with dishwasher tabs and washing powder in case you needed them before you got to the shop. The cottage is amazing, so authentic and cosy. It is in the centre of Spiddal, minutes from the beach and minutes from the shops and pubs. The pub around the corner had traditional music from Thursdays onwards and it was outstanding. I believe the week before we arrived there were 42 musicians there playing trad! The people are lovely always eager to have a chat. We visited the library too and the lady there was extremely helpful and kind to our grandchild. the craft village is only minutes walk away and again well worth a visit. It can be hard to find a holiday location that ticks all the boxes .....To find a beautiful cottage set in a lovely community near everything, set in what i would describe is old Ireland with hosts that ensure that your stay will be memorable ..... not that is RARE! Snap up a week here and you will not be sorry! Enjoy!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathleen...
2 reviews
“Perfect Irish Cottage”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I stayed in this lovely little cottage with my sister and brother-in-law and mom on a recent vacation to Ireland. We loved it so much we didn't want to leave. We felt so at home and welcome. Thank you, Carmel! I hope to come back again some day.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Liked least: It didn't have WiFi, but it's an Irish cottage!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbaby1...
yuba city
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Irish hospitality at it's finest!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We feel so blessed to have found this little home away from home. Carmel was a wonderful and gracious hostess. The cottage was warm and cozy. We truly loved our stay here, it was the best in Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Carmel the host, she even gave me her recipe for her wonderful jam cookies.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands1...
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed in this cottage over the halloween midterm (3 adults and 3 children). House is in a great location with very safe parking. The front garden is gated and great for the kids to run around.On arrival greeted with beautiful homemade bread,buns and marmalade by the owners who were very welcoming. House is right in Spiddal, walking distance to shops,pier and pubs. Bus stop to Galway very close to house. Electricity is on a meter,but it really wasn't expensive to run. It's an old cottage restored to a high standard. Very clean and has everything one would want.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage location and
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katherine...
Severna Park, Maryland
1 review
“Quaint and Charming”
Reviewed October 4, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We loved this traditional Irish cottage with a long family history. Four adults shared it for 4 days and all were very comfortable and thought its location was ideal - near food markets, church, library with internet, good Pubs with music, and a lovely promenade along the waterfront. Hosts Carmel, Martin, Cathal and Uncle Brendan are very gracious as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing