We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
An Caladh Gearr Thatch Cottage B+B
Nearby Hotels
$352
$211
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Twelve Hotel(Barna)
$227
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Anno Santo(Galway)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$295
$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
35
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat breakfastbrown breadsitting areahot teaan easy drivesconesaran islandspeat firethatch cottageview of galway baygreat hostsfull irish breakfastmauramichaelferryovernighthostess
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 42 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We just spent one night in this B&B near Spiddal. It is located directly at the main road and therefor easy to find.
The room and bathroom are very clean and big enough. They provide WiFi in the whole B&B and TV in the sitting room. In the close vicinity you can go for a walk to the beach.
The breakfast was really nice and the highlight of our stay. They serve you the traditional Irish breakfast and freshmade pancakes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominik-Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maire1234, Owner at An Caladh Gearr Thatch Cottage B+B, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review to TripAdvisor and to show that you enjoyed your stay at An Caladh Gearr. That is what is important to us. We take note of all the points you made to make our customers happy.
Kind regards,
Maura Conneely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

A real irish house owned by a nice couple who were very helpful and friendly.
Best breakfast we had in Ireland: fresh fruit salad, homemade scones and muffins.
Location perfect to visit Connemara, Galway and Aran Islands.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaurizioInViaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maire1234, Owner at An Caladh Gearr Thatch Cottage B+B, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thanks a million for the lovely review. Nice to add to your holiday enjoyment.

Maura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was making a working break away and needed somewhere that was quiet, with internet access (I know!) and restful. It ticked all the boxes and the weather was incredible so the beach just couldn't have been nicer- all to myself!
The breakfast was also wonderful and hearty or healthy as you like- freshest of fruit or full Irish- lovely

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maire1234, Owner at An Caladh Gearr Thatch Cottage B+B, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

It is always rewarding when a client is happy with their stay in An Caladh Gearr, B+B. Thank you Kristy.

Maura Conneely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Everyone coming to Ireland should stay in a thatched cottage at least once during their stay. This B&B is an old, perfectly restored one-story, stone-walled, white-walled thatched cottage. We stayed there in September 2012 for one night -- but wish we could have stayed longer. Maire, the owner, welcomed us into the cottage with tea and cookies, in front a cozy peat fire -- delightful. The room was large, by Irish standards, with double and twin beds, furnished in bright pine woodwork trim and floors and a small but nice bathroom. The beds were very comfortable, the sheets, cases and duvet clean and crisp and the bathroom was nice. Plenty of hot water for showers. She gave us a great recommendation on a restaurant/pub - Donnelly's - a few miles back towards Galway. The food was excellent. Maire (I might have the spelling wrong) served a super breakfast, with multiple varieties, including a full Irish breakfast, and all the side trimmings you would want, like cereals, juices, toast, scones, etc. Very hearty and great flavor. Can't recommend this place enough -- it is on the MUST DO list of things to do and places to stay when you are in western Ireland. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dukedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This thatched cottage is a wonderful place to stay! Hot scones and breads with hot tea were offered on our arrival, even though we were somewhat late in arriving. Maura and her husband were gracious and gave us great tips on how to navigate Galway City, how to get to the airport for a flight to Inis Mor, and where to eat in Spiddal. Maura really knows how to cook a great Irish breakfast. Their home is lovely and warm. The smell of the peat fire was soothing and welcoming. I'll never forget that smell. Of all the places I stayed in Ireland, this thatched cottage was and is my favorite. I will stay there again on my next trip to Ireland. I wholeheartedly recommend this thatched cottage to all who travel to the Galway area.

Room Tip: They only have three rooms, all three looked warm and cozy. We stayed in the twin room.The linens were beautiful. The twin room had great light all day.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlusting1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews