We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous shop - staff need a lot of work”
Review of Standun Spiddal

Standun Spiddal
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Spiddal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Standún is a unique family-run store, situated in a traditional Connemara setting in the west of Ireland. The store is in its 3rd Generation and has been in operation for over 60 years. There is a huge variety of Aran Sweaters, Irish products, Menswear, Ladies fashion, children's clothing, Irish and International gifts and homeware and a cafe with home baking.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a great remodel - the stock, the quality, the variety and originality. There aren't many shops like this left. Unfortunately, the staff let it down. I have shopped here probably four times this year alone and each time not one staff member has asked if I needed help (when I often do). Instead they avoid eye contact and ignore me or focus on their current task. I've walked in when it's quiet and busy - both make no difference. In saying that, I always purchased something anyway. I note that once I was served at the till by the original owner who's passing the business to his daughter and he was friendly. Definitely worth a visit.

2  Thank MaryMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliona s, Owner at Standun Spiddal, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our store and i am glad you thought it was worth visiting. I apologise that you were not happy with our customer service. We take this very seriously and we hope that the next time you visit you will see a vast improvement.

Thank you again

Cliona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"irish products"
in 6 reviews
"waterford crystal"
in 4 reviews
"shipped home"
in 3 reviews
"great store"
in 4 reviews
"third generation"
in 2 reviews
"buy things"
in 2 reviews
"for sale"
in 5 reviews
"coastal road"
in 2 reviews
"galway city"
in 5 reviews
"tour group"
in 2 reviews
"product quality"
in 2 reviews
"aran islands"
in 4 reviews
"clothing"
in 23 reviews
"merchandise"
in 9 reviews
"gifts"
in 21 reviews
"sweater"
in 30 reviews
"shop"
in 36 reviews
Filter

99 - 103 of 121 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just before Spiddal.

They have lots of clothes, and specialize in wool. A few books, dishes, and a few souvenirs.

The staff is helpful, and the prices are pretty good.

2  Thank JMM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Always find something nice to buy here. Even got the Christmas shopping started.
How sad is that?
They have a great selection of clothing for men, women and the kid's stuff if brilliant.
Also good for kitchen things and gifts.
Nice little coffee bar too.

5  Thank Fortynine33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliona s, Owner at Standun Spiddal, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate the feedback and we are delighted you were happy with our store. We hop to see you back again soon! cliona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

It was really great to visit the Spandun. The product quality was really great. And the most interesting thing is that I met my friend after 20 years in there! It was really great and a lot of memory was brought back. Really enjoyed the shopping with my friend. We bought many things, specially the Aran sweater was great. Also the gifts were good.

5  Thank 725AlbertN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliona s, Owner at Standun Spiddal, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed your trip to ireland and our store and we hope you will revisit us in the future! cliona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

French (Six of us) just one day in the Connemara and Galway ,We stopped in this shop in March 2013. Great and excellent Quality - Great Value - Was possible to buy Tipical dress in Wool made in Ireland, Taditional Compact Disc of Irish Music, book, and many kind of "souvenir". Everything you would like is in this shop.The only one problem was: not enough space in the luggage..!!The site is along the seaside - for the glance - we had also a coffee with an excellent cake. Everyone is absolutly friendly, smily (even if we don't speak gaelic!!) and give advice if you need.

3  Thank jl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliona s, Owner at Standun Spiddal, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit at Standun. We hope you will come back again to visit us in the future and maybe we can teach you some Gaelic! A bientot! Cliona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Standun Spiddal also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Moycullen, County Galway
 

Been to Standun Spiddal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing