We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best scones ever!”
Review of Builin Blasta

Builin Blasta
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Spiddal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best scones ever!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Finding good scones should be easy but it is actually really hard! Well the best scones ever are in this cafe, they have a seriously good baker here. Wonderful bread and pastries too.
All the food looks really good, the staff are nice and the location is easy with good parking.
Perfect for Sunday brunch and good value too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mirtha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    40
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quaint and delish”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This place does incredible food, it's a nice to sit in for a coffee and it's in a stunning area that everybody should try and visit. The most incredible thing I've had to eat there is their beetroot and chocolate cake. I only ordered it out of curiosity, but it was outstanding. Their salads are to die for.

The staff are incredibly attentive, I only wish the Builin Blasta would open in the evening and had a tad more space inside.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barna, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places to eat in Galway!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten in An Builín Blasta several times in the past few weeks. The food is delicious - the salami pizza is a firm favourite! Jamie and his team are a great asset to An Spidéal. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NiamhCodyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Café in Craft Centre”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Builín Blasta is the café at Ceardlann, the craft centre in the village of Spiddal on the coast road out of Galway city. It is a marvellous place for lunch and well known as such in the area so it is as well to get there early or be prepared to wait for a table. On my most recent visit my wife had what she described as the best fish cake she had ever tasted while I had my favourite - a big slice of delicious pizza. There is a limited choice of wine by the glass. They also sell their own produce including bread (amazing baguettes) and salad dressings. Warning - not open evenings or Mondays (even bank holidays).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conamara
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food & great service”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Builin Blasta is a lovely cafe with great food with a bit of a twist. They have scrumptious desserts. The staff are very friendly & efficient especially as the place can be very busy & crowded

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TaistealaiChonamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Builin Blasta also viewed

 
Spiddal, County Galway
 

Been to Builin Blasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing