We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy cozy cafe at Craft Village in Spiddal”
Review of Builin Blasta

Builin Blasta
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Spiddal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reno, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Busy cozy cafe at Craft Village in Spiddal”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very busy place, clean, bright, energetic staff, great selection of baked goods, sandwiches and entrees with a good menu selection. Open until 7:00 p.m. in the summer, so if you want to eat early in Spiddal which has only one other real restaurant, this might be the place to go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    41
    15
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“an unexpected pleasure”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

visited Builin Blasta as part of the parental migration to see children in the Gaelteacht and was delighted to encounter a friendly reasonably priced cafe which produces beautifully prepared food . It is simple but gorgeous and the deserts are magnificent (slightly expensive for the deserts but hard not to try) Staff are helpful in the midst of the chaos of parents seeking to feed their young on a rainy day. Plenty of parking but you have to keep an eye out for the restaurant as it is at the entrance to Spiddal in the middle of craft shops.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Forget what I ate here, but it was delicious!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I joined to review a different restaurant but this was suggested to me for review as it's in my area. The food is very well prepared - fresh and tasty. The portions are also pretty large by Irish standards, I would say and I know I couldn't finish my meal.

There are cheaper options in the same area but the standard of what they make there is unmatched so you definitely get what you pay for.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TenLeftFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“excellent spot for lunch or tea”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Everything is fresh and homemade. Our group of ten had a variety of selections, and everyone was well pleased.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great cakes!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Absolute hidden gem here! Didn't even know it existed but so glad that we found it. The sweets here are divine as well as the savoury lunch. Hard to get a seat during busy season but whenever the family are out that way we definitely stop by.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Builin Blasta also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Builin Blasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing