We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Tour Guide / Exremely Good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of O'Neachtain Tours - CLOSED

O'Neachtain Tours
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific Tour Guide / Exremely Good Value”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had an extremely good tour to Connemara with tour guide, Steve. Steve was informative, humerous, attentive, and professional. We were picked up and dropped off at our B&B at the pre-arranged times. During the drive through Connemara, Steve had a continuous commentary going re the sights, history of the area, along with some Irish Humour and Irish Music. We reccomend this tour without reservation.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Didn't honor a reservation”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

In April 2012 we booked a day tour to the Cliffs of Moher for mid-August, paid online, got a confirmation, was informed that the tour was operated by a specific bus company (O’Neachtain), but upon arrival at the bus station in Galway I was told that the tour vendor, Failte Tours, has no longer been working with O’Neachtain since May 2012... so I had to buy 3 new tickets. The O’Neachtain representative sent me across the street to file a complaint against Failte Tours with the tourist office. I feel O'Neachtain should have honored our booking and worked the issues with Failte.

As for the tour itself it was OK. Although they advertise 2 hours at Cliffs of Moher we were only given 1 hour and 20 minutes. The worst thing was on the trip back to Galway the bus driver turned the microphone over to passengers that wanted to sing. The singing was loud, mostly not good, and it went on way too long. By the end of a long day on a bus it would have been nice to have some quiet time for the drive back into Galway.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank thunderfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“O Neachtain tours of the cliffs of moher”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I had a tour with o neachtain tours it was so so the sound system was rubbish and despite enjoying talking to john i do not think that the other passengers could hear him at all it was a so so type tour to be honest i would have preferred the healy tour which i had done previously and enjoyed a lot

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aoifem1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Inferior, Unprofessional”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We went on the Burren and Cliffs of Mohrer Tour and I think we were on the same trip as the contributor below although we saw things differently. The tour was suppose to depart at 10am. We did not leave the terminal until 10:30am, and then we got an unscheduled tour of Galway. No explanation...obviously killing time. At 11:00am we were back at the bus terminal to pick up two passengers. I was not surprised when the driver announced that we would have only 1 1/2 hours at the Cliffs instead of the normal 2 hours. The bus was okay but the sound system was very poor. The driver/escort was not very articulate or knowledgeable, and very repetitious. He talked alot about taking other O'Neachtain tours. We learned nothing about the Burren and the Cliffs. All the tours go to Doolin for lunch and I knew we were in trouble when he said we were entering Doolin through the back way, as if this was a good thing. We ended up at a pub that was located about 2 kilometers outside the actual town. (The better tours go into the town where there are a food options and some stores.) This is one of the worst day tours we have ever been on in our lives. The day before we took the Connemara Tour with Galway Bus Tours and it was so, so delightful and well done.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Berenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Cliff of Moher tour with lots of add'l info & stops”
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

We booked the tour in Galway & got an extra tour of Galway to boot. I think the driver had to kill some time to wait for 2 more passengers but it was a great bonus for us. The driver was full of info on the sites we were seeing as well as where to eat & what to do in Galway too. We mad stops at a castle (don't remember which one but possibly Gleninagh?) & also a rocky beach before getting to the cliffs. We had 2 hours at the cliffs & made a stop at the Matchmaker bar & the Burren. The sound system wasn't too good as the music was playing (country & western music for some strange reason for a while) but the driver was easy to hear & understand. Bus was somewhat older but comfortable. Overall a great trip!

Helpful?
1 Thank JulieO167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Neachtain Tours also viewed

 
Spiddal, County Galway
Spiddal, County Galway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing