We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, Great service!”
Review of Park Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Spiddal
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the Park Lodge for 3 nights in the "off season" but the service we experienced was first rate. Rooms in the main building were clean and roomy. Breakfast offered a variety of hot and cold options. We were near the end our Ireland vacation, traveling with our children, and they said Park Lodge had the BEST brown bread.

Our first night at the Park Lodge was Thanksgiving day. We were part of a group of at least 40 guests from the U.S. The thanksgiving meal that was prepared for us was the best ever. Turkey, potatoes, stuffing, etc. All prepared to perfection and served efficiently.

The pub was fun with friendly service. The staff was very helpful with recommendations for visiting nice beaches close by as well as dinner suggestions in Galway. We would love to return in the spring or summer to enjoy this area with warmer weather. The large banquet hall and experienced staff would make this an excellent choice for a party or reception.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building on the second floor offer a great view to the Aran Islands and Galway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt_in_Minn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 43 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Nice Hotel, Clean Spacious rooms, Nice Breakfast. (which was finished at 10:30 but they still feed us later :) Late bar which always helps. food was good also! Would stay again! Quite Surroundings so you willget a good night sleep, ideal for wedding parties!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lainey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great location and lovely staff but we were very disappointed with the lack of cleanliness in the cottages. The wardrobes were musty and full of cobwebs and graffiti. We couldn't use them for the week we were there. There was a musty smell in all of the bedrooms which was a shame as the living area was quite well decorated and maintained. The kitchenette was very basic and this would have been fine if it was clean! Coffee pot was thick with grease and unusable. Under the sink was full of cobwebs, dirt and last years mouse droppings! This is also where all the trays and pots were kept! In fairness to the staff they cleaned it, got pest control in and gave us a discount, however they refused to admit that there were mouse droppings there! Cannot understand how simple cleaning and painting over graffiti etc was not done. Such a shame. Never got to sample the food as the restaurant never seemed to be open! I knew from previous reviews that the accomodation is basic but there is no excuse for bad hygiene. So sorry to have had this bad experience as we were really looking forward to a family holiday. Hopefully they will sort these problems out so others will not have such an experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Scateri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My friends and I stayed at the Park Lodge Hotel and recieved the best hospitality from the staff that anyone could imagine. Galway Bay and the cottages gave a real Irish experience to us outsiders and the staff topped off our stay with funny jokes, delicious Irish style meals, and going above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The Hotel is right off of Galway Bay and that sunset is one heck of a sight. I travelled around Ireland for about four months and would definitely consider this hotel to be the best and most memorable stay during my travels. We considered staying in a hotel in Galway but wanted to get away from the city while still being able to have a short journey back to Galway for visits. The location of this Hotel made it perfect for us and I am very happy we chose to stay here. It's a fun place to stay and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while visiting my daughter in Irish College. The food is very nice and the staff were extremely friendly. The rooms were very clean and this hotel offered extremely good value for money. Having free internet is a real bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My family had the opportunity to stay at the Park Lodge over Christmas this past year. We have stayed at many hotels, but have never received such phenomenal service. The rooms were very clean and spacious, the food was great, and the staff went well above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our stay.


I can't imagine a better place to stay to truly experience top notch hospitality. I would recommend the Park Lodge to anyone visiting the Galway area!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Galway Bay. The sunsets are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Spent the recent bank holiday weekend their for a family wedding with wife and two childern. We had a great time, brillant playground and playroom for the kids. The wedding dinner was fanastic and a late bar. Hope to be back soon

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnpat l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spiddal hotels
2 mi away
An Cruiscin Lan Hotel
An Cruiscin Lan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Spiddal
101 reviews
3 mi away
Radharc Arainn B&B
Radharc Arainn B&B
#7 of 14 in Spiddal
28 reviews
0 mi away
An Caladh Gearr Thatch Cottage B+B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ard Eoinin Spiddal Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lodge Hotel

Address: Park Spiddal, Spiddal, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Spiddal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Spiddal
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing