We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad value and terrible Owner.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
An Cruiscin Lan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Spiddal
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bad value and terrible Owner.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We thought we struck it lucky when we booked over the phone as we got 2 double rooms (4 ppl) the weekend of the Red Bull cliff diving in Galway. (Inis MOr) we agree 120 as the price and it was payment on departure. I was happy with price as it was B&B rates. When i got to the "Hotel" i was even more grateful it wasn’t more than B&B rates as its noting more than a hostel over a pub. NO one on reception- you have to ask someone at the bar to check you in, by this they just give you a key and point to the stairs. The rooms were clean enough, very basic but again for the price i was thinking sure its grand. When we arrived we told the barman who gave us our room keys that we needed breakfast at 8 am as we were heading off early for the day. We were downstairs at 8 am the next morning and there wasn’t one person working. at 8.15 the chef walked in said he’d be putting something on soon. We obviously couldn’t wait and there was no one there to check us out so we left. I received a call later that day asking why i hadn’t paid i said there wasn’t an opportunity for me to and that i would on the way past that night. when i called in i was gutted to find out the owner hadn’t been clear on the phone it was 120 per room per night so my bill was to be 240 euro. For what was a hostel? I said we didn’t even get breakfast so he deducted 2.50 per person from the bill. given that I’d be reluctant to pay 120 per night in a nice place I was really unhappy with his charge. When I explained how price was miscommunicated and we never received anything that you would expect from a hotel such as a welcome, breakfast, porter on duty etc..A porter would be good as the place is over run with drunks at night. he said that’s how it is. There are other places to stay so I’d advise anyone to do this.

Room Tip: rooms at back have extractor fans outside them.. rooms at front are not double glazed so you can hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AoifeG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    38
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
26
34
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have visited here on two occasions, once in the Summer of 2002 for a wonderful meal when my grasp of the Irish language was less than impressive, and recently with my girlfriend for a few cold beers on a daytrip from Galway, when thankfully my Irish improved to the point where I was able to place orders and converse with locals without speaking a single word of English. A nice spot in a genuine Irish town, although a little touristy at times (it's sad to hear so many tourists from Dublin, Cork, even Galway City itself with so little respect for their own native langauge), An Cruiscin Lan is a great place for both proper beer, conversation in Irish, and great food too. Go raibh mile maith agaibh do gach ball foirne.
.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreedyMessiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 10 or so years and it's always been up to expectations.
The food is very good and nicely served, and with attentive service as well. Sometimes a bit of a wait because I guess they cook it from fresh. Usual excellent Irish breakfast.
The bedrooms are smallish but well appointed and the en-suite bathrooms are clean and everything works when I've visited.
Spiddal is a nice village on the road out to Connemara and has many local attractions, craft industries etc. Two very good pubs across the road.
Yes, I'll stay again.

Room Tip: Room at the back are quieter, the road at the front can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ludomcgurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Called in for lunch and was not disapointed.great food,great value for money,lovely fresh food,and also the young girls working in the
bar and food area were a credit to hotel,very helpful cheery girls.thankyou

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank janeanne42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Dropped in here for a meal on my way through Spiddal. The menu was nice, simple food, and the waitress service was excellent, we were seen to straight away and drinks arrived quickly. The bar was busy but not packed, so over 45 minutes waiting for pasta, fish and chips and sandwiches is not really acceptable for essentially pub grub. The food when it eventually came was very nice, but the chefs need a kick in the backside to get the food out a bit quicker. I would not like to be in it when it was busy.
Also calling it a hotel is a bit of a stretch, it seems more of a B&B over a pub.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

If you want good food in a relaxed and friendly environment then this is the place to go.We were given a warm welcome and fed on 'honest to God'food.I had the chowder followed by steak sandwich and himself had goats cheese tartlet and fish and chips.Very reasonably priced too.We stayed on for the live music session and I can only report that we can't wait for our next visit to this hub of ceol agus craic.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgdettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Been reading some of the complaints about the establishment below and just don't get it. An Cruiscin Lan did not disappoint at all. It is an affordable B&B type hotel with a solid restaurant and bar below. The best asset? You couldn't ask for better proximity to Tigh Hughes or An Tobar - Spiddal's two brilliant music pubs.

As for the service, my girlfriend and I did not have a complaint in the world. Brian and his Manchester United tattoo were especially memorable. It's clear the joint is run by a small staff but they're attentive and personable.

If you're looking for luxury accommodation just head down the road to Galway and take your pick. If you're looking for a cool hotel in one of the country's coolest towns, stay here.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jeff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spiddal
6.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
4.4 mi away
Connemara Coast Hotel
8.4 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,416 reviews
9.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
2,993 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radharc Arainn B&B
Radharc Arainn B&B
#7 of 14 in Spiddal
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Cruiscin Lan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Cruiscin Lan Hotel

Property: An Cruiscin Lan Hotel
Address: Main Street, Spiddal, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Spiddal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Spiddal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — An Cruiscin Lan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Cruiscin Lan Hotel is owner operated by the Foye Family who have provided the people of Spiddal and tourists alike with the finest food, drink and friendly accommodation for over 20 years. Our Hotel is situated right in the heart of the Wild Atlantic Way in Spiddal Village Centre where you have many traditional pubs, shops and restaurants right on your doorstop. To the rear of the property a mere 500 metres from the Hotel is the Old Pier, a beach, a newly built walkway that brings you all around Spiddal and it’s surrounds and uninterrupted views of Galway Bay, The Burren and the Aran Islands. A regular bus service in the Village connects to all these places. We are situated 20 minutes from Galway City and Rossaveel Ferry Port is only a 10 minute drive with daily Ferries to and from the Aran Islands. We are also en-route to the bustling town of Clifden, Carraroe, Roundstone, Ballyconneely and Oughterard Golf Clubs, the fishing port of Cleggan, The Inagh Valley, Kylemore Abbey and Victorian Walled Gardens. Our multilingual staff are at the very heart of our Hotel and Restaurant. They are welcoming and friendly offering advice on local amenities and tourism and providing assistance in any way they can. Our award winning Chef and Restaurant caters for all dietary requirements, with an extensive range of menus for adults and children to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your An Cruiscin Lan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing