We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Berties Cottage

Berties Cottage - a beautifully restored thatch cottage with all mod cons. Close to amenities.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Berties Cottage - a beautifully restored thatch cottage with all mod cons. Close to amenities.
outside dinning area and lovely Gazebo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Berties Cottage - a beautifully restored thatch cottage with all mod cons. Close to amenities.
outside dinning area and lovely Gazebo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kinvara, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
KathyIpsw...
Ipswich, MA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed October 4, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We were delighted to stay at Bertie's Cottage, named for a friend of Michael's, the owner, who restored Bertie's childhood home. This two bedroom thatched cottage with an upstairs TV/Tech room was only 20 minutes from Galway city, and there were great local places to visit as well. We stayed here to get our ferry out of Doolin to the Aran Islands (Inishmore--fantastic--pony trap tour with Thomas Faherty), Connemara, where we went to the Connemara Marble Factory for a history of the formation of marble in Ireland and some fantastic jewelry!, Aran sweaters, Clifden and Kylemore Abbey, and Cong, the "Quiet Man" heart and soul. Anyway, there were ample clean towels, coffee and tea, a lovely fruit cake, and Michael was a charming host who was very accessible. We had the full Irish breakfast in the Merriman Hotel each day--great breakfast and stellar service. We enjoyed dinner at Keough's and The Pier Head, both recommended by Michael. I would gladly stay here again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Reviewed September 22, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ladytblad...
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Irish cottage”
Reviewed September 9, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Amazing cottage with Ireland traditions and authentic rooftop that delighted us at every turn. Wonderful gardens around the whole cottage and an awesome deck to enjoy the day regardless of the weather. The pub is right down the street but no noise from it nor the road in front of the cottage can be heard inside. Michael was a gracious host and I will return to Bertie's so if you need an awesome place to stay I highly recommend and give them 6 stars!!!! BIG THANKS Michael 4 allowing us to visit and we will treasure the memories made in Ireland. I wish you and your family the best and look forward to returning soon.
Regards
Claudia H and Carmen K

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely well equipped cottage”
Reviewed August 9, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great cottage nestled in a quiet village, which is ideally suited for exploring the coast and Burren area. The cottage was comfortable and quiet. Despite being on a main road, there are shutters in the front bedroom windows to block out sound. The cottage bedrooms are spacious and both on the ground floor which is convenient. The cottage as a whole is more spacious than the pictures show. There is a huge area for parking. Michael greeted us and was very friendly and helpful. The cottage was well equipped and had what we needed. It was a great place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oh what fun”
Reviewed July 16, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We had such alot of fun at this cottage. It was so lovely and full of character. As it happened Michael had double booked the first night, but before we arrived he had already booked us into a lovely B&B a few Kilometres away at Clareview whilst the owners were away. It was very nice of them to let us stay when they weren't really open for business at that time. The rooms there were lovely. Back to Berties. Michael was a wonderful host. Offering to run us into town for our evening dinner and recommending places to eat. If you do rely on a taxi then book it well in advance. The cottage was well laid out and has an interesting history. Lots of nick nacks around and a big open fireplace to make it really cosy out of season. A bbq outside if weather allows. Lots of parking. Well equiped kitchen. Just about everything you need. The best bit is the character of the place. Very special. Local pub is nice, but you won't get food there (except Taytos)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maps74352...
1 review
“Charming cottage located in a little village of friendly people.”
Reviewed June 12, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Bertie's Cottage was exactly what I pictured Irish country living to be. Very comfortable beds, the layout was quaint and the cottage was close to Galway city and lots of great scenic driving routes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
premiermo...
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Charm personified”
Reviewed May 22, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

100% for cleanliness, charm , facilities and access to The Burren for walking and Doolin for Aran Island Ferries . Michael was really welcoming and he has created a beautiful home away from home. I’ve always wanted to stay in a thatched cottage!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing