We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal for family”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Berties Cottage

Berties Cottage - a beautifully restored thatch cottage with all mod cons. Close to amenities.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Berties Cottage - a beautifully restored thatch cottage with all mod cons. Close to amenities.
outside dinning area and lovely Gazebo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Berties Cottage - a beautifully restored thatch cottage with all mod cons. Close to amenities.
outside dinning area and lovely Gazebo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kinvara, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
ScottD100...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal for family”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very enjoyable stay in Bertie's Cottage.

Michael, the owner went out of his way to make sure we were welcome.

The cottage had everything we needed including a washing machine and microwave. A small but cosy living area with a TV was upstairs while a good size dining room table was on the ground floor. Also, both bedrooms were a decent size - both with double beds. We ended up letting our kids share their bed but we could have got a cot for the younger one if required - he just wouldn't have stayed in it!!!

The cottage is well situated as close to Galway and the motorway network. Kinvarra was also a really nice town with a good farmers market on the Friday. The village of Balinderreen itself was very small but had a petrol station shop for essentials which was more welcoming than your average forecourt store. The village also had a small hurling pitch that we could use for playing with a ball.

Overall, a really good experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bubblehea...
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The BEST ever!!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

All we can say is...you've got to stay here! This was the most wonderful experience ever and if we ever return to Galway we will definitely stay at Bertie's Cottage again. Everything was perfect, neat, clean, cozy, quiet and comfortable. Michael and Maureen were the perfect hosts and made sure we were settled and happy. They even had milk in the refrigerator and an apple pie waiting for us, which was so thoughtful. The beds and pillows were clean and very comfortable. The cottage was immaculate and equipped with a washing machine which was very nice. There was a market about 5 min. drive and a wonderful pub just a couple doors away. Please be sure to stop in there. The gentleman who ran the pub was very kind and helpful. The cottage is not far from the Cliffs of Mohre and the countryside is loaded with ancient ruins just waiting to be explored. This is the perfect place for a family to stay if you want to experience a bit of Ireland and be as far away from the tourists as possible! Thank you Michael and Maureen. We had an absolutely amazing vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was top notch...just perfect!
Liked least: We can honestly say that there wasn't anything that we didn't like!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fairytale Cottage - a dream come true”
Reviewed May 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful cottage - restored with so much love and attention to detail. Michael's welcome was lovely with a fire in the open fireplace and scones. Ireland is simply beautiful and the people are so lovely and friendly. The location of the cottage is great for excursions to the Cliffs of Moher or Galway and Connemara.Hope to return again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zig2016
Carlow, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed April 7, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed here with my family over Easter. Beautiful traditional cottage lovingly restored by Michael. Quaint! Kids loved eat,..gramophone a treat. Perfect location for visiting Galway city and the burren. Definitely worth staying in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honestly2...
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magical little cottage”
Reviewed February 16, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Myself, my husband and two kids have just stayed in berties cottage it was a fantastic experience to get to stay in an authentic Irish thatched cottage. Michael the host was most accommodating. The large fire place with turf burning to welcome us the first day. The bus stopped just out side the front door of the cottage. We had a car and drove everywhere but was good to know we had the option to leave the car. It had all the mod cons anyone travelling could need. It's so close to kinvara a beautiful seaside village 5 mins drive. We enjoyed stopping off in clairnbridge nearby also. Overall a fantastic and reasonably priced cottage. Thanks Michael.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy thatched cottage for family break”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Bertie's cottage for 4 nights over Halloween mid term break.
Our purpose was to visit family in the locality and this cottage suited our family of 5 for this short stay.
The Cottage was refurbished by Michael to give you a taste of Auld Eire with Peat for the range fire and plenty of books about the local area. Michael greeted us and made sure we had everything to keep us comfortable.
Good oil heating (essential off season!). Comfy beds. Bedrooms for 4 people (2 double beds - our youngest was on a put up bed, which was grand).
I would certainly recommend this as a base for exploring The West, good location between Clare & Galway city only 20mins drive away.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
699Charli...
Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful period cottage".................”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Beautifully restored thatched cottage, nicely decorated in tribute to a friend, well equipped with everything, some may not like it having road frontage but we found no issue with any noise, well located to tour Clare and Galway counties, great restaurants locally within 5 minutes drive and local pub and servo just down the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique features
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing