We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful seafood”
Review of The Pier Head

The Pier Head
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Kinvara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located on the quay in the village of Kinvara, breath taking views overlooking the bay and Dunguaire Castle. We cater for all tastes. Daily lunch menu served from 12, a la carte from 5. Large upstairs room overlooking bay can be used for private parties.
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had a lovely meal here upstairs overlooking the sea. We both had the lobster and it was fresh, tasty and perfectly cooked. A good selection of wines and friendly service made it a lovely overall experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy_in_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    189
    62
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dingle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great atmosphere and fantastic food. When it comes to seafood I am hard to please but The Pier Head provide a menu full of choice and well presented, tasty food. The lobster was €29.95 and came with salad and the best baked potato ever.....I had no room for desert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Carmel Dempsey and friends”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Best of fun 3pm Sunday in July 2013 .Entertainedby Carmel and friends . They played on the patio that afternoon . People danceing on the street . The energy was electric .
One of the best days of our 14 days in Ireland and we had many best days .We will be back again . The food and service in the bar and restaurant ten out of ten . Carmel can really work the crowd !Thank you Kinvara what a pretty town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blissful B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostuni, Italy
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Better than ever.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I reviewed The Pier Head restaurant in 2011 and gave it only four stars. This time I am rewriting my review and giving it five. The food and service have improved greatly over the past year and they are now open for lunch with freshly caught fish on the menu. The vegetables used to be a bit "touch & go" but now they are cooked lightly and are far more appetising. I had the starter of breaded mushrooms and they were perfectly cooked; crisp on the outside, the way they should be. My main course was a fillet steak with garlic butter; absolutely perfect too. The wine list is exceptional now and we had a fabulous bottle of Bordeaux. The staff are warm-hearted and endlessly helpful and friendly. I would have to say that this is easily the best restaurant in the area. Most highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fish at the Seafront”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

On a short visit from Scotland, our guests took us along to the Pier Head in Kinvara. The views over the Bay are superb, the service and food was excellent. Our only complaint was the heat, but given that this was very unusual weather, the long lasting impression was very favourable and I would like to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank believe57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier Head also viewed

 
Kinvara, County Galway
 
Kilcolgan, County Galway
 

Been to The Pier Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing