We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable house, good location, responsive...”
other travelers have booked this property
Cottage, 5 bedrooms, sleeps 8
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage, 5 bedrooms, sleeps 8
Patio with picnic table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Cottage, 5 bedrooms, sleeps 8
Patio with picnic table
Sitting Room. Has TV/DVD. Selection of DVDs, books & games.
Featured Fireplace
Kitchen-Dining. Seats 8.
Double Bed
Queen-size bed
Single bedroom with windows to Burren Hills
Queen-size bed on ground floor.
En-suite in ground-floor bedroom
Corner Kitchen
Bathroom 1
Featured staircase
Our Lane-way. Ancient walls of natural Burren stone
Beautiful broad-leafed trees line our lane-way. Walls of natural Burren stone
Garden shed - has the table-tennis table.
Kitchen window - relax with a glass of wine
Dunguaire Castle at entrance to village offers banquets and entertainment
Sailboats and Sheep!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kinvara, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FilmLover...
2 reviews
“Comfortable house, good location, responsive house manager, some odd quirks”
Reviewed August 18, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This house was pretty much as it seems in the advert on Holiday Letting, but with a few quirks. There is a small house right beside and to the rear, also managed by the same people, meaning that the rear outside space is not fully open to you, although the garden is exactly what is seen in the photos (which are carefully shot so that the small house is not in view).

The house was mostly very clean, although there were dusty parts on less visible bits of furniture, and, as is often the case in holiday houses, some of the kitchenware needed cleaned before use, as previous visitors had not cleaned pots & pans etc.

There are three double bedrooms, the master downstairs with an en-suite toilet and shower room which gives a good shower driven from the hot water tank. The master bedroom oddly has only one bedside table and lamp, which is an omission in my opinion. The two doubles upstairs both have beds under the sloping roofs so the roof side would be no good for taller people as even I had to duck quite low (I am only 5 ft 3in). One of the rooms is very small for a double room. The two single rooms are a good size and one of them has lovely views overlooking countryside. All the mattresses were comfortable and supportive, the most important thing in a holiday home to get right! The shower room upstairs is fine, although with a very gentle shower. There is no bath.

Downstairs, there is a lovely large wooden table and there are 8 chairs which easily fit round it, not always the case in holiday houses which claim to cater for larger numbers. The actual living space has a warm and cosy feel and comfortable seating. It would be a bit small for 8 people, but we had only 5 in our party so it was fine. The kitchen is quite small for a property catering to 8 people, but it is pretty well-equipped, although you have to hunt for some utensils which are hanging up in strange places in the utility area. There is a very odd collection of crockery which is fine as long as you don’t mind a lot of mix and match. A few plates & bowls were cracked. We did manage to have a dinner party for 12 when we were there by making use of two large pots and a huge one from the house, and by borrowing some cutlery from our friends (we brought in the table from outside and used the bedroom chairs). There is a large fridge-freezer, a washing machine and separate tumble dryer, and an outside line for drying clothes. Oddly there is no inside drying rack for clothes, which I think a large family could need in rainy Kinvara, as not every item of clothing can be tumble dried. One of the quirks of this house is the complete lack of household manuals: it was sheer guesswork trying to work the oven and especially the microwave. Another quirk is that the hot water must run through an electric immersion heater on a timer if the central heating is not being used – we worked out the timer, but again no manual or instructions were provided here. A further quirk is the strange instruction not to put any foodstuffs in the waste, but to put peelings, raw veg in a compost bin – but there were no instructions on what to do with cooked foodstuffs which needed to be thrown out. Also there were no instructions about bottle recycling (which we found in Kinvara near the cottage on the other side of the main road through the village).

The free WiFi advertised is extremely slow, and is only good for browsing the internet or sending emails. You will not be able to download or stream video. The internet was a bit flaky and went down several times during our visit. As the router was in a locked room to which we had no access, the house manager Kathy, who was very responsive when we contacted her, advised us to turn off and on the power to the whole house to allow the router to reboot. The WiFi is also used by the small house next door.

Outside there is a picnic bench plus a table with 4 chairs. There is also extra seating available in the shed. There is a dinky table tennis table and bats/balls (we brought our own thinking it was a full size table, but it is tiny). Barbecue facilities were also provided although we did not use these.

The house manager offered us the use of a hot tub for an extra fee which we took up. I would actually recommend against this, even if you like hot tubs, because there is no outside power socket, something I was not aware of until I arrived. I find this extremely odd for a house that offers an external hot tub. We had to power it by trailing the power cable through the open kitchen window, which was close to ground level and could easily have been used to get into the house from outside by standing on an outside table or chair. This either means leaving the house insecure when you go out or go to bed, or means turning the power off so that the hut tub cools down. We opted for the latter, thinking on our holiday insurance restrictions and our various devices like iPads – so we could not have the hot tub ready for us after a day out. There was no manual left for the hot tub either, so I had to download the manual from the internet to work out how to use it.

The house itself is very handy for everything in Kinvara. There are two supermarkets, one quite large, within easy walking distance, and you can walk to the pubs, to the restaurants, to the bay, to the castle. There is almost no tourist information in the house so make sure to bring your own information on what to do – and perhaps leave any leaflets you pick up for the next visitors.

The house manager, Kathy, was very friendly and responsive before, during and after our visit. As long as you are aware of the various quirks, this is a comfortable (if a little pricey) place to stay in Kinvara.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2018
Thank you Anne. Overall your review was positive and complimentary, and we have started immediately to put into place some of your recommendations – extra bedside locker & lamp, new matching crockery sets, more cutlery, clothes horse, outside socket, and the instruction manuals in a more accessible place. Just to note: the House Instruction Sheet which I send to guests before arrival, and which is also contained in the Welcome Folder does have instructions on how to turn on the hot water by a red button near the immersion tank, and then a slider switch to ‘Constant on’ which bypasses the timer. This sheet also has a map showing location of the glass recycling bins! And we had a great selection of tourist leaflets at the start of the summer but they seem to have whittled down! Anyway we do appreciate visitors’ feedback as that is how we get an insight into what to improve/add in order to provide top quality accommodation for our guests.
(You mentioned about difficulty having a dinner party for 12, but, in fairness Anne, while we can certainly add to the cutlery and crockery, the cottage is set for a maximum capacity of 8 persons, hence 8 around the dining table - but good idea to bring in the garden table. Also the large half-acre site does have a second shed converted to studio which is sometimes in use by 1 person who does our garden maintenance. A tall densely slatted fence divides the 2 properties and gives privacy, and there is a separate driveway for each.)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okie_in_E...
United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay Option for Counties Clare/Galway”
Reviewed July 1, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Our family of 6 (4 adults & 2 children) stayed at the holiday cottage for a week and 1/2 in Jun 18. The cottage met our needs perfectly. It's on a quiet side road in the town of Kinvara with ample parking space. Several pubs/restaurants are within an easy 10 minute walk so no need to drive to go out to eat and have a pint. Having a washer and dryer meant that we could pack less and constantly have clean clothes. There was also a dishwasher which was really nice as well. There was a tea pot and a French press for coffee (no drip coffee pot); however, we had tea the entire time we were there. There was a nice patio space and tables on the patio so that you could relax outdoors in the evening. The WiFi kept the kids entertained and us connected. The size seemed to be perfect for a family of 6 with my in-laws staying downstairs with their own toilet & shower and the rest of us upstairs with our own toilet & shower as well. Kathy, the owner, was very nice and very responsive when we had questions both before, during, and after our stay.

The location is very centrally located for reaching sites in Counties Clare & Galway and for day trips...you will need an auto though. The location is very good for reaching the Burren, the Cliffs of Moher, historical sites/ruins, and the beaches in County Clare. It's also good for reaching sites in County Galway such as Galway city and for a daytrip to the Connemara area. We drove to nearby Athenry and caught a train to Dublin for a daytrip. The Rock of Cashel was a 2 hr drive away and was an easy daytrip as well. It's approximately a 45 minute drive from Shannon airport to the cottage.

Kinvara was a perfect location for the stay as well. The quaint town sits on a harbor with a castle/fortified tower house. There are a number of local restaurants/pubs in town for an evening out. Several of the pubs played traditional Irish music on certain nights of the week. There was also a small outdoor market on Fridays. There are several decent sized supermarkets for groceries in the town and 2 petrol stations near the cottage.

We definitely would stay there again, and we had a wonderful time on the Western coast of Ireland.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2018
Thank you very much for the really nice review. Your descriptions are even better than my own! Welcome any time again. K.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guide6199...
1 review
“Very good location”
Reviewed June 13, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We enjoyed our stay there, very quiet and close to Kinvara village with the pubs and restaurants by, We will visit again, highly recommended .

Patrick

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2018
Thank you very much. Yes, I think the location is one of its most attractive features! You are very welcome to visit again. Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B
1 review
“René”
Reviewed June 6, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Perfect location, as it is quiet away from the main road but still a very short stroll into town.
Shop and pubs just around the corner.
The house was clean and had very comfortable bedrooms. As well it was very well equipped with kitchen utensils, so preparing your own breakfasts and dinnners was no problem.
The manager of that house (Kathy) was very flexible when we had to change the dates we booked the house for, as all our flights were canceled due to a snowstorm.
All in all it was a great place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2018
Thank you René. Glad to be able to give you new dates! Welcome to stay again anytime. Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justk86
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice extended weekend”
Reviewed May 20, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Stayed in Kinvara for an extended nded weekend. The house lies in a nice calm spot. Enough sleeping space for 5 people is provided for. Only 2 bathrooms though. Furniture is rather retro but was absolutely sufficient for our needs. Contact to host Kathy was nice and uncomplicated as well as all admin bits.

Overall worth recommending for a group up to 5 people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali679
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Great location, comfortable & private ”
Reviewed February 25, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This was our third visit to this house. We keep going back to the Burren because of its beauty in any season. We have 3 children and it is a safe and comfortable house for all of us. A short stroll into town but with country views the house has everything we need and we look forward to our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2018
Thank you. Welcome anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a-girl-go...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced ”
Reviewed February 2, 2018 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This property did not live up to our expectations at all. 1300€ for a week is way over priced. Cottage is a small 5 bed. Furnishings are old and tatty. The whole place needs renovating and a good deep clean. Wouldn’t go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2018
The price reflects the last week in July which is high season. Sorry that you felt the house needs renovating - it was only built recently, to modern specs, but I will look at the furniture and see what I can improve. We appreciate your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing