We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well located and roomy house in Kinvara”
other travelers have booked this property
Cottage, 5 bedrooms, sleeps 8
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage, 5 bedrooms, sleeps 8
Patio with picnic table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Cottage, 5 bedrooms, sleeps 8
Patio with picnic table
Sitting Room. Has TV/DVD. Selection of DVDs, books & games.
Featured Fireplace
Kitchen-Dining. Seats 8.
Double Bed
Queen-size bed
Single bedroom with windows to Burren Hills
Queen-size bed on ground floor.
En-suite in ground-floor bedroom
Corner Kitchen
Bathroom 1
Featured staircase
Our Lane-way. Ancient walls of natural Burren stone
Beautiful broad-leafed trees line our lane-way. Walls of natural Burren stone
Garden shed - has the table-tennis table.
Kitchen window - relax with a glass of wine
Dunguaire Castle at entrance to village offers banquets and entertainment
Sailboats and Sheep!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kinvara, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Trish G
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well located and roomy house in Kinvara”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a lovely three week stay in March, two adults and a toddler. We had a few overnight and dinner guests and the accomodation was sizeable enough to fit us all comfortably. The location is unbeatable, on a country lane just off the main road into Kinvara village. Minutes walk to shops, pubs etc but had a nice feeling of the countryside with only a few houses on the road and horses and sheep in the fields nearby.
Big positives were location, the cosy and well equipped house and easy to deal with host Kathy.
Negatives were that it wasn't very clean and we had to wash a lot of the dishes before using them and the house is in need of a bit of love.
Overall it was a great stay and we'll definitely be back.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oisa
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Happy with this Cozy Cottage Close to Town”
Reviewed April 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of five adults (ages18 to 76) who rented this charming cottage in Kinvara, County Galway. Kathy, the owner, was very clear with directions about everything from how to locate the cottage to how to work the electric.
Let me start by saying this rental property is a very good value for the cost. We got a roomy cottage with five bedrooms, each having very comfortable beds, warm covers and large pillows. The one bedroom on the ground level is en suite with nice hot water in the shower. The upstairs bedrooms share a bathroom with an electric shower delivering immediate hot water. All of the bedrooms are of a good size and welcoming. Skylights brighten the second floor.
The kitchen is well-equipped with everything we needed for our stay. The attractive dining table can seat eight. Having a washer and dryer was a big plus. Also, the vacuum was handy.
Our favorite gathering place was the very comfortable and cozy living room with a fireplace which we used every night. We burned firelogs, peat and wood (which gave off the most heat). WI-FI was appreciated as we planned each day's outing. The location is wonderful for exploring Counties Galway and Clare.
Kinvara town is a short walk down a lovely tree-lined lane in front of the cottage. It is a rough ittle country lane with some pot holes which only add charm to the cottage experience in our opinion. We enjoyed the rookeries high in the gnarled trees and watching magpies, wood pigeons and the entertaining rooks.
As I said, this accommodation is a great value. Expect an authentic Irish country ambience. Do not expect high-end furnishings or manicured lawns. The ony things I would change would be to replace a couple of worn throw pillows and match the sofa throws. Otherwise, we found the accomodation to bedelightful ad Katy to be most helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2016
Thank you! And thanks for leaving the house so clean. We would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future. Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RubyMc
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 2 weeks end of August 2016.
Pluses are the location as walking distance to nearby shops, pubs, restaurants and local church. Some lovely pubs with live music - we especially enjoyed the food at The Pier Head which we visited on a few occasions, including my 50th birthday and they made a wonderful cake! Only a short drive to Tracht Beach also where we had some lovely walks and my dog loved the freedom there. Lovely drives to the nearby Burren and surrounding areas. Deceptively spacious house, looks small but lots of room inside. Quiet location.
Negatives are the road to enter the house is very bad, lots of potholes and the garden and land around the house needs to be done. Generally the house is lacking care - needs redecorating and cleaning, it's a shame as the location is great but it is lacking upkeep. We only cooked one roast dinner and had to wash all the pans as they were greasy and unclean. We did have a problem with the toilet flush on the ground floor but contacted the owner and she was able to get it all fixed for us the following day which was good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The road to the house, the garden and land around it and the house was not very clean
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roisin A
Moate, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Suited us perfectly”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Kathy was easy to contact. We were very happy with the house, it is at the top of the town, a couple of minutes walk brings you back into Kinvara. We used the house as a base while visiting friends for a weekend. It was clean, all machines that we used, worked. Bedrooms are lovely size considering the compactness of the house.

When we visit our friends again later in the year we will be hoping the house is available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was in the house.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
Thank you very much Roisin. Glad you liked the house and we would welcome you back again later in the year. K
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff31323
Prescott, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy and Comfortable home base for exploring Western Ireland”
Reviewed November 24, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our family stayed for one month in October, 2015. This five bedroom home is in a great location, just a few minutes walk to downtown Kinvarra. It is close to conveniences but far enough away for peace and quiet and beautiful views of the Irish countryside. The owners are very professional, friendly and accommodating. The house was clean and the beds and linens were very comfortable. The kitchen has all of the convenient appliances, including a dishwasher, and everything worked well. Washing machine and electric dryer included. Utilities were efficient, not costly. WiFi worked well. The wood burning fireplace was a nice feature, very cozy. Skylights add lots of light, even on cloudy days. The grassy backyard and patio area is also a nice spot to relax. The town of Kinvarra is full of friendly people, pubs and shops and is a great home base to explore The Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and so many other amazing things to see in this beautiful country. We really hope to make our way back to this holiday cottage someday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort of the house.
Liked least: Some minor maintenance to the home is needed.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2015
Thank you very much for the great review. I'm glad you enjoyed Kinvara and our cottage! You were very pleasant guests to deal with and you left the house spotless. You would be very welcome to come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cait D
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXQUISITE”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The cottage and location could not have been more perfect. The host, Kathy, was incredibly helpful before and during our visit. The cottage is very cozy and comfortable, in a beautiful quiet location close to the lovely village of Kinvara.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing