We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need to change” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merriman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Merriman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinvara
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Need to change”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Lovely venue, decor and location but food has become bland.

We've always enjoyed the food and service at the Merriman but it has become very poor since changing hands. Some small changes would make a big improvement.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    60
    32
    16
    8
See reviews for
49
65
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colyton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed just one night. Lovely location liked the town. The hotel with thatched roof looked appealing. However room small and basic. Sadly dining room shut in evening so had to eat in noisy bar with football on large tv screen. I HATE football. I asked for a table away from it. But the best they could do was where I couldnt see it but so loud. Barman turned it down but someone turned it up again. The meal was indiffetent and not all on the limited menu available. Staff here friendly though.
Breakfast was in dining room. Fresh baked bread on the menu so I requested it. I was told it was the sliced soda bread by the toaster. This was stale and hard and did not looked hone baked. The two girls on duty were talking about my request and one told the other how she had fobbed me off!!. There was not much good about breakfast either.
When we left the hotel there was nobody on reception. I would have made some comment on the experience. As no one turned up and we had paid for everything I just left the key on reception.
Overall a most disappointing stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I've eaten in the bar several times and found the food, service and price very good. The staff are very friendly and attentive. The only thing i would say is that the menu could do with varying a bit more. Plenty of choice for people passing through, but for regulars you could find yourself ordering the same things again and again. I've seen the rooms but not stayed there (my parents stayed there. The rooms seemed small and a little dates but clean and comfortable)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gallim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stopped off at the bar and had chowder and a toasted sandwich. The chowder was lovely and the sandwich was also good. we found the food to be of good quality and good value. The bar although quiet when visited had a lovely warm atmosphere. Would recommend it as a stop off to anyone

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflowers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

On a cool fall night the Merriman Hotel restaurant hit the spot with its warm decor, full beer list and tasty menu. There aren't many options in Kinvarra but the Merriman is certainly decent.

They were a bit understaffed during our visit but it was the off season. I suspect it gets busy during the summer months.

A dinner & drinks for two cost about EUR 60.

Room Tip: Choose a table near the window, especially at night. The town lights up nicely after dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PLRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Very pleasant staff; comfortable but fairly basic room; good bar food and nice bar area; good breakfast. Easy parking and right in the center of this small town. Overall a great spot to stay as part of our driving tour of Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytoretire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Dined here with visiting family. Kids did get food that they were happy with, my meal was OK but not memorable. Tried to order dessert but had to go look for the waiter, who never even bothered to come back with my order and finally had to cancel it.
Very disappointed with the service and could not recommend on that basis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank locationspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinvara
7.6 mi away
Lady Gregory Hotel
8.9 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
10.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
10.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
11.0 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merriman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merriman Hotel

Property: Merriman Hotel
Address: Kinvara, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Kinvara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinvara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Merriman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Merriman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merriman Hotel Kinvara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing