We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, fantastic staff. A good base to explore the Burren”
Review of Merriman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merriman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinvara
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here with extended family in September 2012.

From the start, the staff (especially in the bar/restaurant) were excellent. Even with two bus-loads of tourists arriving for lunch into the bar/restaurant at the same time, the few staff that were on duty kept their heads and managed things well, and all the while staying professional and friendly to all the customers.

The hotel, while in need of some investment (room fittings are old, the TVs are litle 14" portables, there are no room safes, and the room keys are exactly that - no security swipes here), was a nice place to stay and use as a base to explore the Burren. Although if you are looking for a real Irish experience, you can't beat the many B&B's and guesthouses all around the area.

Kinvara is a nice little town, with a lot of pubs and a castle on the edge of town. €6 admission charge for the castle does feel a little steep. I'd recommend you consider saving your money to see the best castle in the country (Bunratty) and its folk park - it's more than €6 but there's no comparison between the two experiences. Bunratty is no more than an hour away from Kinvara, if you take the N18 road. If you decide to go via N67, it will take you about 3 days (N67 is narrow and slow)!

Back to the hotel: The food in the bar was excellent. The breakfast in the restaurant was fine - selection was not immense though and at €10 per person (if it's not included in your room rate), a bit pricey for this part of the country.

The hotel is currently up for sale by auction but the staff will keep the show on the road until new owners come in and hopefully make this hotel even better.

Room Tip: Look for a room at the rear of the hotel (as the hotel is on the very busy N67 road). If you are som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weekender32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 211 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

nothing earth shattering about this place. The rooms were good, breakfast was good and the staff in general were friendly and helpful. A nice place for a stopover or a base to explore the area.
The whole place seemed a bit in the doldrums though this could have more to do with the time of year - end of the tourist season - than anything else

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maisieandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed there about a year ago with my son. We took one room which was well furnished and clean. The beds were comfortable with good bedding. We ate dinner in the pub section. I had a great chicken curry and my son enjoyed his burger with chips and salad.
Kinvarra is a nice little town and the hotel is a short walk to all the shops and a nice pub.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dboconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Nice little Inn, with good food, just beware of the stairs! There is a wheelchair lift, that is waiting for you as you get to the top of the stairs. Nice rooms, and just a short walk to the bay, where you have a beautiful view of Dunguaire Castle.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eye_travel_more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

They have a large bar seating area. I didn’t see any other part of the hotel. They do have a formal dining area according to the staff. Menu is pretty good size for bar food. We ordered fish and chips, a burger, and the little ones split a seafood platter. The seafood was good; though I thought a little high priced for the amount they were given. The burger was cooked perfectly and the bun was fresh. The fish was ok; my wife was a little disappointed. We both liked the chips. The waitress was pleasant. The place was not very busy, but I think we visited in the off season.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CriscoPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The Merriman Hotel is small and cozy. We enjoy going here with the kids on a Sunday normally when there is a match on the tv. The staff are friendly and attentive. The food is hit and miss. Normally though it's ok. We like it as the kids can run around a bit while we sit and chat.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillieEggery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed here april 2011 , rooms are comfatable and spacious and the food was 100% , typical irish breakfast was amazing and will cater for all your needs!

brilliant little break

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlotte_fairlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinvara
9.5 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
832 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
228 reviews
11.4 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
7.5 mi away
Lady Gregory Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kinvara Guesthouse
Kinvara Guesthouse
#2 of 12 in Kinvara
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merriman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merriman Hotel

Address: Kinvara, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Kinvara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinvara
Price Range: $57 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merriman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Merriman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merriman Hotel Kinvara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing