We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kinvara Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kinvara Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 14 Kinvara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Heavenly stay”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The guesthouse has Very spacious rooms. We Stayed with a family of 5. By far this has been our Best stay in Ireland! Breakfast is very good. The village is small and a great walk with family and nearby Dunguaire castle is worth visiting. The hotel is very modern and our room had hardwood floors and devoid of smelly carpets, a common occurrence in Europe. Highly recommend a night or more stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathiawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    77
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
88
143
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Fairy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our decision to stay two nights at the Kinvara Guesthouse was based upon the largely positive online reviews.

Although perfectly positioned in the heart of this pretty and quaint village, we were underwhelmed by this accommodation.

It was the little things - crumbling tile grout in the bathroom, very old kettle and faded bed covers - that contributed to the overall sense of the room being 'tired'. (We also found long black hairs on the pillow - not ours!)

In a small housekeeping oversight, we had to ask for towels and drinking glasses as there were none in our room.

Breakfast is served in a large dining room adjoining the guest lounge. It was fine. Not great. But fine.

All of that said, the guesthouse is in a great position above a well-stocked supermarket and a few doors away from some great pubs. Just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenPortFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Kinvara Guesthouse is a little gem! Recently refurbished with standards that would surpass any hotel. The standard of accommodation is amazing and we found the price so reasonable.
The staff are so helpful, the decor is modern and tastefully decorated and the place is immaculately clean. The location is right in the centre of the town and we enjoyed a lovely meal in the pier head restaurant right on the quay.
This is a truly exceptional B&B and in my opinion a top class place to rest your head! Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Loved Kinvara and would definitely stay here another time, and next time longer. The village is beautiful and charming, located within a 30 to 45 minute drive to many sights, and Galway, too, if you want to visit for a day and return to peace and quiet! I believe there are also boat charters that can be arranged for something else to do. The guesthouse is clean and updated, serves a good Irish breakfast with a continental buffet if you want something lighter. The staff were friendly and helpful. All in all a very nice stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kridar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Found this guesthouse on TripAdvisor while driving and decided to check it out based upon the glowing reviews. The guesthouse is centrally located, with close proximity to restaurants. The convenience of the grocery store next door was helpful. Room was clean and modern, but bed was uncomfortable. Breakfast was average. Expected a more traditional, homey B&B setting, but found the guesthouse to be more along the lines of a motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CML0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were driving from the Cliffs of Moher back to Dublin & needed some where to stop overnight. Kinvara looked like it ticked all the boxes so we stopped & were very pleased we did. Lovely little town with a unexpectedly charming guesthouse. Decor was very modern & clean, staff were friendly. We needed some washing done, so staff offered to let us use their washers & dryers & even did it for us. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyqAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Kinvara is a wonderful town and features a beautiful scenic harbour and castle. We were extremely blessed with fantastic weather for the whole week, temperature reached 30 degrees one of our days. Our bed and breakfast was clean and modern. The Guesthouse has been modernised in the last three years and is being still having further touches added to it. The lounge area had t.v and Internet facilities although Internet was available in all rooms. The proprietor and staff were most helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: If you have a room at the back of the guesthouse facing the car park, you may be woken up by deliver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinvara
0.1 mi away
Merriman Hotel
Merriman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinvara
181 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,626 reviews
10.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
10.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
2,638 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fallon's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinvara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinvara Guesthouse

Property: Kinvara Guesthouse
Address: The Square, Kinvara, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Kinvara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kinvara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinvara Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinvara Guesthouse is a delightful, new, luxurious Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the picturesque fishing village of Kinvara. With unrivaled natural beauty on its doorstep, this beautiful guesthouse is ideally positioned at the gateway to the spectacular Burren Region and on the shores of Galway Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Kinvara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing