We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fun night of entertainment”
Review of Dunguaire Castle

Dunguaire Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$101.88*
and up
Cliffs of Moher, King John's Castle and the Burren Day Trip From Dublin
More Info
$65.92*
and up
Cliffs of Moher Winter Day Tour from Dublin with Doolin Village and Galway Bay...
More Info
$35.96*
and up
Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Galway
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Kinvara
Attraction details
Chestnut Ridge, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a fun night of entertainment”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

it is a very "touristy" thing to do, but we go to dunguaire every time we travel to that area of ireland. we always have a great time and good food, and meet nice people. and the show they put on at the castle is always good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    177
    103
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful castle.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

It was closed when we went but tour bus parking not far away. We loved the spot and I could visualizehow it might have been. Sittin on the bay made for an awesome picture.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Castle walks...”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We walked from kinvara bay to the castle and it was not open as it was the off season.

Don't be put off, you can still walk up and around the outside of the castle (which is quite small) for a look.

We even stopped around the other side and found a large boulder, had a glass of wine as the sun went down watching the fishing boats. It's pretty special.

It's a popular place for locals walking their dogs too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Dunguaire Castle”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Beautiful old Castle, not restored sitting a the edge of Galway Bay. it was built in 1520 by the O'Hynes. There is no entrance fee and no way to get to the ruins in January. Maybe it is opened later in the season

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank VisaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Drove along then west coast, then wham, another castle!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

In 2006, While driving along the west coast of Ireland, purposely without many pre-booked attractions, in a "freestyle" type of touring, I happened upon this castle. Free parking nearby (has since (also visited in 2012) been moved down the street to a less safe walking distance) made it easy to stop and tour. The coastal setting made the castle look all that much more medieval, and it wasn't hard to imagine viking ships in the harbor or ships from other invaders coming to challenge the stronghold. The architecture is simple yet magnificent. The antiques and decor was worth the admission price. A must see in your Irish vacation. Rates for admission and the medieval banquet: http://www.shannonheritage.com/BookOnline/Banquet%20Rates/

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerT359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunguaire Castle also viewed

Liscannor, County Clare
Oughterard, County Galway
 

Been to Dunguaire Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing