We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous castle location”
Review of Dunguaire Castle

Dunguaire Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$101.85*
and up
Cliffs of Moher, King John's Castle and the Burren Day Trip From Dublin
More Info
$65.90*
and up
Cliffs of Moher Winter Day Tour from Dublin with Doolin Village and Galway Bay...
More Info
$35.95*
and up
Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Galway
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Kinvara
Attraction details
home
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fabulous castle location”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

There is definitely a reason a photo of Dungaire Castle is on the front cover of Fodors. Spectacular location overlooking the water yet easily accessible. Parking lot just the other side of the river; not to be missed, 1 of the best preserved castles we saw.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dc1sanibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    177
    103
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pawcatuck, Ct USA
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“The Dunguaire Castle”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

What a Jem, as a professional photographer, I have found this site to be challenging and rewarding when photographing, then again Ireland is very challenging. Kinvaraians do things right, they are keeping their town with a softer , welcoming appearance.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middle england
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A piece of History”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Compact and beautifully located on the foreshore just outside the village, this little caste, no more than a fortified family it has been transformed into a mine of historical information and is well worth a visit: it should not take more than an hour; the views from the top of the castle both over the sea and into the Burren are enchanting

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mottyandfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Well maintained small castle”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is one of the better castles that we saw in Ireland. It has been well maintained compared to others and was lived in until 1972! Parking just past castle is good and free.
Looks great from outside and nice on inside. View from top is incredible.
This castle, Ross castle and Kilkenny castle are probably the best we have seen in Ireland

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Acsgcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This castle has it all, and a great view to boot. If you have the wee notion of curiosity, travel to the top of the castle and take a peek. I was AMAZED. What a view. And some great photos too. I wasn't able to take inthe dinner, but I will next year. I have visited this castle three years in a row. I can't get enough. I wonder what it was like back in the day??? Thanks for the memories

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cntry_kacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunguaire Castle also viewed

Liscannor, County Clare
Oughterard, County Galway
 

Been to Dunguaire Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing