We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living example of yogic life and energy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinvara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burren Yoga Retreats
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Living example of yogic life and energy”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Once you step into this space you feel the energy of the rocks and all the meditation, yoga, prayer,laughter and love. Dave exemplifies living a yogic life. The food is cleansing and nourishing. Meeting people and connecting with souls from around the globe is uplifting and provides a sense of connectedness. The teacher that week was also a David who was knowledgable, adaptable and created a space for individuals of all levels to appreciate yoga and meditation. There was a beautiful balance of yoga, meditation and time to reflect. The accommodations are comfortable and accessible for those with physical impairments. Of course being in Ireland is a gift in itself. A wonderful Transformative experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovingspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    50
    2
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
16
331
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Having just returned from my second holiday retreat here, I know I will be returning again.
City life just fades away the moment you arrive and relaxation takes hold, growing stronger each day. With a morning meditation surrounded by bees, butterflies and wild flowers in a nearby field, followed by an afternoon yoga class on the rocks of Blackhead, The burren is a wonderful setting for a week to chill and recharge the batteries. The food is delicous, both Paddi's vegetarian dinners and at the cafes we stopped at for lunch.
Dave puts a lot of effort in to ensure the retreat runs smoothly and that everyone gets as much out of their stay as possible. You can do as much or as little as you wish. You can have quiet time to yourself, or join in with the rest of the group for classes and day trips, that's entirely up to you.
Michael is a fantastic teacher (I go to his classes in Dublin too) and will guide you through the classes to your own ability. Don't worry if you haven't done yoga before. Having classes every day I built my practice to a level that I'm confident to continue once I'm back to daily life.

Room Tip: I've slept in shared rooms both in main house and annex. These are spacious compared to the sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shansi_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had a fantastic time in the Burren Yoga Centre I came for the weekend and stayed an extra two days. The facilities are excellent, the location is beautiful and the activities are really enjoyable. Our group got on very well together indeed. The yoga teaching was of a very high standard and there was lots of opportunities for one-to-one tuition. I learnt so much and I'm looking forward to returning. The holiday was really good value for money and the food was awesome. I can genuinely say that I have returned feeling energised and rested. An amazing transformative experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhanmoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Burren Yoga is a beautiful setting for a transformational retreat. The owner, Dave, is warm, welcoming and always around to help with anything. The rooms are clean and peaceful- I was in bunk beds and they are incredibly comfortable. Dave clearly thinks about how he places everyone too, I have made wonderful friends for life with my roomies- and indeed with many of the participants on the retreat! His optional guided walks and hikes were stunning, well thought-out and fun too! Michael Ryan ran the yoga classes for the week I was on- he is an incredibly kind, engaging and inspiring teacher. I have done yoga off and on for the past few years but still considered myself a beginner. Since doing yoga with Michael, I have taken my practice to a daily routine and am excited about all the positive changes coming my way. I truly feel transformed after the week and have already booked in for two more retreats over the coming months. In short: stunning scenery, surrounded by like-minded individuals wanting to have fun and do yoga and meditation, amazing vegetarian food cooked with love by the amazing Paddi, lunches out at beautiful cafés, a joyous and transformative experience. If you are wondering if you should go- DO! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lothlauraien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was looking for a week away from it all where I could completely unwind, and I'm so glad I found the Burren Yoga centre. I had tried yoga before but never stuck with it because I found it difficult, and thought a week long retreat would be a good way to give it a proper go, or figure out if yoga just wasn't for me at all! The house felt like home from the minute I arrived, it was so cosy and the smell of baking wafting in from the kitchen was so welcoming. It was a fantastic week, Niamh Jones is an incredible teacher and I was amazed how much stronger I got in the poses in just a few days. I really enjoyed the meditations and have kept up the practice ever since. The food was incredible and the outings in the burren were gorgeous, we got to see places you would probably never hear of if you were just visiting the burren as a tourist. . I came away feeling stronger and refreshed, and despite eating huge amounts of Paddi's incredible food I lost weight too! I can't wait to go back, I'm definitely going to make this an annual break, I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkellyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have just spend a week at Burren Yoga and feel like a new person inside and out. Through a combination of morning and evening yoga and mediation, amazing amazing food and so many outings into nature and beauty in the Burren and beyond, I have definitely gone through a process of opening up and connecting to the joy of life. The centre is immaculate yet warm and relaxing, beds so comfortable and the yoga studio really good to work in. Had an amazing teacher Michael Ryan but you will get something special from any teacher I am sure. Would really recommend this experience for anyone who needs some space to step out of their normal life and reconnect with themselves - something that is hard to get from a standard holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aug21-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

What a beautiful place to spend time in every sense of beauty.
Great food, great people, great learning.
A must for any yogi new or experienced. I will be back. My only regret was staying just 3days instead of the weekend.
Namaste.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clojking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinvara
13.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,689 reviews
12.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,068 reviews
12.5 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,893 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
256 reviews
13.3 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burren Yoga Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burren Yoga Retreats

Property: Burren Yoga Retreats
Address: Lig do Scith, Cappaghmore, Kinvara, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Kinvara
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Kinvara
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Burren Yoga Retreats offering weekend and week long yoga retreat holidays, all year round for complete beginners and advanced. Beautiful warm comfortable yoga centre with shared and single rooms in spectacular location of the Burren. Outdoor activities in the Burren hills and by the sea, amazing vegetarian food and a warm friendly informal atmosphere. Easy access by air, train, bus or car. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing