We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Maol Reidh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maol Reidh Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tullycross
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This a one night stop over at Tullycross and stayed at the Maol Reidh. We were more than impressed with the quality of the hotel. Lovely rooms, very friendly service (from everyone we met there). The food in the restaurant was excellent. It is great to see such a good quality hotel in a small village. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    39
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
32
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Annalong, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Now that the Wild Atlantic Way has been set up the stunning beauty of the Renvyle Peninsula will certainly attract many more visitors. The Maol Reidh Hotel in the charming little village of Tullycross is the perfect base from which to explore this magical area. The hotel is family run, and the welcome you receive on arrival is warm and genuine. The staff are fabulous, and the restaurant would give many Michelin-starred eateries a good run for their money. I honestly don't know how they manage to offer such a superb menu for only 25 Euro a head. The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable, and the shower in the en suite is really powerful. We have just got home after our third stay in this lovely hotel, and already we're planning our 2015 trip. The reason we keep going back to the Maol Reidh is very simple : when you've found the perfect place for a relaxing break, for a chance to "get away from it all" and re-charge the batteries, why would you want to change?

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davisofmourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel to attend a school reunion with some friends. My original intentions were to stay in Clifden but because of the extended Pony show in 2013 hotel rooms were scarce in Clifden, so a local friend recommended this hotel.
I'm glad he did.

This is a very nice family run hotel, unlike most products of the Celtic tiger years (which is the period it seems to have been built) this hotel has managed to retain a personal touch to its service. Rooms & bathrooms are reasonably modern adequate, and clean, and the hotel has a lift.

Service is efficient, both the bar and restaurant menus are very nice and there is a night porter on duty in case you are staying out late. Overall this is a very nice and great value hotel in an ideal location right in the small village of Tullycross for anyone planning to visit Connemara.

The hotel has free WIFI internet access, my only gripe would be the low shower pressure but this is a small gripe compared to the positives of this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank R129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

we had dinner here twice recently, once as a couple and once with a family group. both times the food was excellent, relly excellent. we enjoyed goats cheese starters, perfectly cooked steaks that tasted like steaks should, excellent lamb shank, great desserts and beautiful wine. the service was excellent and the price was very reasonable. we will definately eat here again very soon, highly recommended. Steve & Maria

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed for one night. Room was warm roomy and clean. Decor needed touching up in places but over all a very clean hotel. Had dinner. Set menu €25 per person. Fab. Food to die for and service excellent.
Only down side very noisey. Room to front of hotel with beautyfully views but witha pub either side of hotel and a loan ot american tourist staying very noisey around 2 am.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audrey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were attending a wedding in the church in tullycross and decided to stay in the Maoi Reidh Hotel as it was so convenient to the church and the reception in a nearbye location and we were not disappointed with our accommodation. We had a lovely large room to the side of the hotel with lovely views. The breakfast was very good and a good choice too very pleasant staff in the dining room and also at the reception area the hotel is also nice & clean, over all we were very happy with our stay & would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Only saw 2 rooms & chose the room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio Tx
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was traveling with 3 ladies & booked this Hotel because of its close proximity to Kylemore Abbey. The receptionist was very pleasant & was very helpful during check in. Our rooms were quite large & had a lovely view of the thatched roof cottages across the street. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the restaurant, all the plates of food were beautifully presented. Sadly though there were very few patrons dining that night but it was a Tuesday in late September with the tourist season winding down. We were waited on by a lovely young lady named Jennifer who added to the ambience of our meal. I would definitely include Maol Reidh Hotel on any future trip to this part of Ireland

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janSanAntonioTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullycross
2.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
708 reviews
11.5 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
259 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Kylemore Pass Hotel
Kylemore Pass Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kylemore
84 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
8.8 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maol Reidh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maol Reidh Hotel

Property: Maol Reidh Hotel
Address: Tullycross Village, Tullycross, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Tullycross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tullycross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maol Reidh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing the Maol Reidh Hotel, a contemporary establishment nestling in the picturesque village of Tullycross in the Renvyle Peninsula. With a view of The Twelve Bens, sandy beaches nearby and Kylemore Abbey close by, this hotel is ideally based for the overnight guest, the weekend traveller or the tired-out tourist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Maol Reidh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maol Reidh
Maol Reidh Hotel Ireland/Tullycross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing