We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maol Reidh Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$45
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barry's Hotel(Clifden)
$334
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Foyles Hotel(Clifden)
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alcock & Brown Hotel(Clifden)(Great Value!)
$91
$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$181
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delphi Resort(Leenane)
$191
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
68
42
12
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
42
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskylemore abbeyits close proximitystunning sceneryroom was largeconnemara national parklovely hotelthe pubstayed for one nightlong weekendgreat place to staymaol reidhstar hotelgood sizeeach morninga lovely staylast weekendfull irish breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 128 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Came to Tullycross almost 2 years ago to visit the village where my grandmother was born. Stayed at the only hotel available and as it turned out it was property that was owned by my grandmothers family. The staff was more than pleasant and provided me with a wealth of information regarding my family. The food was great, the rooms clean and comfy. We enjoyed a great night at the adjacent pub which turned out to owned by a cousin. The surrounding countryside is beyond beautiful! Hope to return again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catcs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a decent wedding night alternative to the expensive Renvyle House. Myself and my sister shared a twin room to attend a cousins wedding in Renvyle. Relatively modern built hotel, with new rooms. Certainly not luxurious - quite basic and spartan bathrooms. Clean/Tidy and found it quiet, despite other reviewers reviews. Breakfast was quite decent - full Irish with lots of toast and strong coffee - and its available to 11.30. As I said, it serves its purpose as 'alternative' accomodation, but not a destination hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hankat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were allocated a room overlooking the smoking area. I have read other reviews where folk complained about being to the front of the hotel - lucky you!
The noise was almost unbearable, as was the smell of cigarette smoke. We complained to the lady on reception, but to no avail.
The bar food was average at best ( vegetarian option was dire), and there is zero atmosphere, as mentioned by others.
Breakfast was good but did not make up for the rest of the stay.

Room Tip: Not at the smoking area
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LimList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed in the Maol Reidh for a couple of Nights in August as part of the Super Value breaks deal. The room was big bright and comfortable. We ate in the Bar the first night , the food was very good, my better half reckons the Guinness Beef stew was to die for.
The bar however I felt lacked athmosphere.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Next door is a pub with rare athmosphere and it also serves very good food.
This is a beautiful area of Connemara and it was quite a while since we had been there, our next visit should be sooner rather than later,if it ever stops raining. !!!

Room Tip: Some rooms face onto the street, but Tullycross would not be the busiest place after 23.00hrs. if you really wanted quiet , chose a room facing the rear.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here for three nights on a short break in the stunning Connemara area of Ireland. Had read good reviews on "trip " and have to say we were not disapointed. This is a really good, friendly hotel, nothing fancy or trendy, but if you like good old fashioned friendly service this ticks the boxes. Beds were comfy, and yes i guess if you were staying in height of summer it could be noisy with windows open, but it is a very small village, so not exactly a major issue.
Food good, reasonable choice and lovely presentation, the breakfast was fab, fresh fruit and top marks for kiwi fruit, unheard of in most english hotels!! The porridge is to die for and cooked to order as is all items on breakfast menu.
The staff are lovely, a special mention for the two ladies on reception Monica and Mary who were a mine of information and always smiling and chatty. This is a great base for exploring Connemara,cannot recommend highly enough. One tip the bin men come at 6am on Tuesday mornings, very rude awakening! !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchyfeetCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews