We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful time - again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maol Reidh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maol Reidh Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tullycross
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful time - again!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Third time of visiting- great! Monica and the rest of the Staff could not do enough for us. We were virtually the only group staying there- which was a shame for the hotel but brilliant for us- a real home from home.
A good location- great for walking holidays or drinking whichever suits you!
Fantastic scenery.
A return visit will happen- go if you can!

PS. Slept above the smoking area and it was fine!
And order the scallops!

Room Tip: 110 and 111 have a brilliant view. 101 is lovely and is quiet even though it is above the front ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    36
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Came to Tullycross almost 2 years ago to visit the village where my grandmother was born. Stayed at the only hotel available and as it turned out it was property that was owned by my grandmothers family. The staff was more than pleasant and provided me with a wealth of information regarding my family. The food was great, the rooms clean and comfy. We enjoyed a great night at the adjacent pub which turned out to owned by a cousin. The surrounding countryside is beyond beautiful! Hope to return again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catcs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a decent wedding night alternative to the expensive Renvyle House. Myself and my sister shared a twin room to attend a cousins wedding in Renvyle. Relatively modern built hotel, with new rooms. Certainly not luxurious - quite basic and spartan bathrooms. Clean/Tidy and found it quiet, despite other reviewers reviews. Breakfast was quite decent - full Irish with lots of toast and strong coffee - and its available to 11.30. As I said, it serves its purpose as 'alternative' accomodation, but not a destination hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hankat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were allocated a room overlooking the smoking area. I have read other reviews where folk complained about being to the front of the hotel - lucky you!
The noise was almost unbearable, as was the smell of cigarette smoke. We complained to the lady on reception, but to no avail.
The bar food was average at best ( vegetarian option was dire), and there is zero atmosphere, as mentioned by others.
Breakfast was good but did not make up for the rest of the stay.

Room Tip: Not at the smoking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork ; Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed in the Maol Reidh for a couple of Nights in August as part of the Super Value breaks deal. The room was big bright and comfortable. We ate in the Bar the first night , the food was very good, my better half reckons the Guinness Beef stew was to die for.
The bar however I felt lacked athmosphere.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Next door is a pub with rare athmosphere and it also serves very good food.
This is a beautiful area of Connemara and it was quite a while since we had been there, our next visit should be sooner rather than later,if it ever stops raining. !!!

Room Tip: Some rooms face onto the street, but Tullycross would not be the busiest place after 23.00hrs. if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here for three nights on a short break in the stunning Connemara area of Ireland. Had read good reviews on "trip " and have to say we were not disapointed. This is a really good, friendly hotel, nothing fancy or trendy, but if you like good old fashioned friendly service this ticks the boxes. Beds were comfy, and yes i guess if you were staying in height of summer it could be noisy with windows open, but it is a very small village, so not exactly a major issue.
Food good, reasonable choice and lovely presentation, the breakfast was fab, fresh fruit and top marks for kiwi fruit, unheard of in most english hotels!! The porridge is to die for and cooked to order as is all items on breakfast menu.
The staff are lovely, a special mention for the two ladies on reception Monica and Mary who were a mine of information and always smiling and chatty. This is a great base for exploring Connemara,cannot recommend highly enough. One tip the bin men come at 6am on Tuesday mornings, very rude awakening! !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itchyfeetCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just returned from a three night stay at this lovely hotel whilst attending a sad family occasion. The room was large bright and clean with the most comfortable warm snuggly bed and pillows followed by a lovely breakfasts.With views of Tully mountain/ lake The staff were warm and friendly and highly efficient. There is a lovely bar & lounge in which to relax and the food both in the bar and in the restaurant is most enjoyable. An ideal base to explore the beautiful surrounding area. I would strongly recommend a stay should you be visiting this area.
Anne O'Sullivan

Room Tip: The rooms to the back have a lovely view and are nice and bright also the hotel is in a very nice qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullycross
2.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
696 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
327 reviews
8.8 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Clifden Station House
5.5 mi away
Kylemore Pass Hotel
Kylemore Pass Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kylemore
81 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maol Reidh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maol Reidh Hotel

Property: Maol Reidh Hotel
Address: Tullycross Village, Tullycross, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Tullycross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tullycross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maol Reidh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing the Maol Reidh Hotel, a contemporary establishment nestling in the picturesque village of Tullycross in the Renvyle Peninsula. With a view of The Twelve Bens, sandy beaches nearby and Kylemore Abbey close by, this hotel is ideally based for the overnight guest, the weekend traveller or the tired-out tourist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Maol Reidh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maol Reidh
Maol Reidh Hotel Ireland/Tullycross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing