We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoking area a problem”
Review of Maol Reidh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maol Reidh Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tullycross
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were allocated a room overlooking the smoking area. I have read other reviews where folk complained about being to the front of the hotel - lucky you!
The noise was almost unbearable, as was the smell of cigarette smoke. We complained to the lady on reception, but to no avail.
The bar food was average at best ( vegetarian option was dire), and there is zero atmosphere, as mentioned by others.
Breakfast was good but did not make up for the rest of the stay.

Room Tip: Not at the smoking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LimList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 123 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed in the Maol Reidh for a couple of Nights in August as part of the Super Value breaks deal. The room was big bright and comfortable. We ate in the Bar the first night , the food was very good, my better half reckons the Guinness Beef stew was to die for.
The bar however I felt lacked athmosphere.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Next door is a pub with rare athmosphere and it also serves very good food.
This is a beautiful area of Connemara and it was quite a while since we had been there, our next visit should be sooner rather than later,if it ever stops raining. !!!

Room Tip: Some rooms face onto the street, but Tullycross would not be the busiest place after 23.00hrs. if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here for three nights on a short break in the stunning Connemara area of Ireland. Had read good reviews on "trip " and have to say we were not disapointed. This is a really good, friendly hotel, nothing fancy or trendy, but if you like good old fashioned friendly service this ticks the boxes. Beds were comfy, and yes i guess if you were staying in height of summer it could be noisy with windows open, but it is a very small village, so not exactly a major issue.
Food good, reasonable choice and lovely presentation, the breakfast was fab, fresh fruit and top marks for kiwi fruit, unheard of in most english hotels!! The porridge is to die for and cooked to order as is all items on breakfast menu.
The staff are lovely, a special mention for the two ladies on reception Monica and Mary who were a mine of information and always smiling and chatty. This is a great base for exploring Connemara,cannot recommend highly enough. One tip the bin men come at 6am on Tuesday mornings, very rude awakening! !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchyfeetCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just returned from a three night stay at this lovely hotel whilst attending a sad family occasion. The room was large bright and clean with the most comfortable warm snuggly bed and pillows followed by a lovely breakfasts.With views of Tully mountain/ lake The staff were warm and friendly and highly efficient. There is a lovely bar & lounge in which to relax and the food both in the bar and in the restaurant is most enjoyable. An ideal base to explore the beautiful surrounding area. I would strongly recommend a stay should you be visiting this area.
Anne O'Sullivan

Room Tip: The rooms to the back have a lovely view and are nice and bright also the hotel is in a very nice qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We weren't staying in the hotel , but seeing as we were too late in our own hotel , we decided to pop into here ! We were the only people dining here , which would question its popularity? The food was absolutely gorgeous though , it would really fill you up ! Nice staff too ! A small bit pricey though ! Would recommend

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennieok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Have recently returned from a two night break in the lovely maol reidh hotel in tullycross, any yes would recommend it. We booked a family room for ourselves and our 8 year old and also a twin room for 2 teenagers. The twin room overlooked cottages and was both bright and clean, The only complaint that the girls had was that it was noisy outside until the local pubs were vacated, but otherwise loved it. Our family room was huge and also spotlessly clean. The decor was bright and cheerful and we slept well in the very comfy beds, despite the stormy wet weather. Our only complaint was the views both to the front and the back of our room- the back overlooked waste land and could have done with a good tidy up- could have made a nice garden out of the space. The front overlooked the courtyard/smoking area. We could see into all rooms to the sides of ours and thought that a net curtain would def come in handy! You had to pull the curtains as others had good view when you came out of the shower! We had dinner on one night- the food was delicious! There was a good variety of hot breakfasts and for muesli lovers theirs was the best we have tasted! The pub was a let down as the choice of drinks was limited- no gin or tia maria and beers were also limited.There was not a great atmosphere the night we were there just a few loud teenagers who seemed to be friends with the barmaid and they certainly took over! However all just minor quibbles- a great hotel in all.

Room Tip: just check at time of booking- maybe some rooms offer more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaz01131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Lovely hotel in the heart of Connemara .
Renvyle is a beautiful village.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liambourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullycross
2.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
740 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
11.5 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Kylemore Pass Hotel
Kylemore Pass Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kylemore
94 reviews
7.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
7.3 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maol Reidh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maol Reidh Hotel

Address: Tullycross Village, Tullycross, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Tullycross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tullycross
Price Range: $100 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maol Reidh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing the Maol Reidh Hotel, a contemporary establishment nestling in the picturesque village of Tullycross in the Renvyle Peninsula. With a view of The Twelve Bens, sandy beaches nearby and Kylemore Abbey close by, this hotel is ideally based for the overnight guest, the weekend traveller or the tired-out tourist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maol Reidh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maol Reidh
Maol Reidh Hotel Ireland/Tullycross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing