We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surprisingly wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maol Reidh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maol Reidh Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tullycross
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A surprisingly wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel is faultless. The rooms are spotless, spacious and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast .. plenty of choice, although lacking in fresh fruit choice if you are a fruit lover. We had dinner in the hotel each night and tried almost everything on the menu. The food was michelin star rating, absolutely delicious. #Thanks to Mary and all at hotel Maol Reidh, we will be back :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerardine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    36
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Went there on the An Post 3 nights + one dinner package for €99 pps. Facilities are basic but the Management, staff and Food are excellent. Staff are helpful and courteous. Only on street parking. Overall excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meareilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Had lunch here 3 times. Really professional staff, very courteous and service-minded. Best wheaten bread in Ireland. Try out the seafood chowder. To die for!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyronegirl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

This hotel is a gem. It is in the quaint little village of Tullycross in Connemara. Upon entering the hotel it was bright warm and inviting. This theme runs right through from the decor to the staff.
The quality of the food was fantastic. For starter I had Tipperary goats cheese, and for main course, I had duck, it was succulent and tender. My husband had fish cakes and pasta for main again delicious. The staff in the restaurant were charming and very accommodating. We had a very relaxing break in this area, a lovely hotel in an area with breath taking scenery.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellieboyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Lovely village in Connemara.

Room and bathroom both clean and bright.

Staff at reception friendly and good to ask for advice on where to visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank Turasoirglic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a "get away from it all" weekend in 2008, and I just have to write and tell people how lovely a time we had here. The Lydon's are fantastic hosts, who employ very friendly staff and a top class chef! The food was absolutely delicious, and the bread was to die for!
We were given room 12 which is an extremely big and spacious room, looking out over lovely scenes of hills and the sea. We slept like babes, and it was so peaceful.

There's not a lot to do in the surrounding area, but the scenery is just fantastic, and we were blessed with beautiful weather. The pub a couple of doors down is also very cosy and has some good music at night.

Next time we want to chill out, we will definitely consider returning to this little gem of a hotel, nestled away in the beautiful surroundings of Connemara

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW JERSEY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

Our second stay at this great Hotel. We had a family reunion here last week and Monica and the rest of the staff could not have been nicer and so attentive to all our needs .The family reunion dinner was great with excellent food and so many choices.We liked their bread so much and asked if we could have two to bring home. Monica refused payment for these. This is a very well run family hotel in a great location. We highly recommend it if you are in Connemara.

EAMON & KATHLEEN

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EDDIEKNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullycross
2.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kylemore Pass Hotel
Kylemore Pass Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kylemore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
7.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
8.6 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maol Reidh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maol Reidh Hotel

Property: Maol Reidh Hotel
Address: Tullycross Village, Tullycross, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Tullycross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tullycross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maol Reidh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing the Maol Reidh Hotel, a contemporary establishment nestling in the picturesque village of Tullycross in the Renvyle Peninsula. With a view of The Twelve Bens, sandy beaches nearby and Kylemore Abbey close by, this hotel is ideally based for the overnight guest, the weekend traveller or the tired-out tourist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Maol Reidh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maol Reidh
Maol Reidh Hotel Ireland/Tullycross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing