We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and good night's sleep...We'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 13 Roundstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food and good night's sleep...We'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Arrived in Roundstone on a damp and dull Friday evening in June but the hotel - food and accommodation more than made up for the weather. We had a beautiful room (with 4 poster bed) across the road from the main hotel which had views out over Roundstone Bay. We had booked a table for dinner and were told our table was waiting for us and to take our time in coming over by the bright and chirpy manger. Dinner was absolutely divine and very reasonable with the value dining menu. Staff very friendly and great atmosphere in the hotel...We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megsimay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    32
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
59
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

I arrived on Friday afternoon in the most glorious sunshine and Roundstone and indeed all of Connemara was looking at its most beautiful, Checking in I was met by Carol, owner , and was given a warm and friendly welcome. My room was at the back of the hotel, bright and sunny, very clean and comfortable, very nice bathroom, tea making facilities included.
The hotel is in the centre of the village, which makes it an excellent location, room to sit outside and watch the world go by..
there are several restaurants and bars and all of them that I went to were great.
I had dinner on two nights in the hotel and both I enjoyed very much, lots of lovely fresh fish, and vegetables, and the staff were all friendly helpful and willing to change items on the menu. e.g. making a main course into a starter size portion,
Breakfast was cooked to order, always such a treat, Lots to choose from and very generous portions, piping hot, and refills of tea or coffee were no problem.
The hotel is ideally located for walking and touring Connemara,
It was a most enjoyable stay, and the staff were a major part of making it so.
I would definitely return to this beautiful spot and to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliviawicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

My wife and I wondered on to the restaurant in this hotel one night in June just walking around the main street in roundstone.

What luck! The food was amazing, crab claws and kind scallops to die for. Our waitress also happened to be the owner of the hotel. She was extremely gracious and a wonderful hostess.

We're sorry for the tardy review, but I guess better late than never.

If you are looking for good food and good people, this is your place. Next time we're in Ireland, we'll be back. Thanks again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyBunny02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

Good location for jaunting about Connemara. Close to the lovely beaches and walks.
Staff were very friendly and the place was very clean. Good value, even at peak season. The restaurant is attached to the hotel but there's no indication of this when you are booking or checking in. Nice fresh food, well presented.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmetontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sixmilebridge, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

We spent two nights--we didn't plan on more than one--because of the wonderful staff and manager (Rona). We couldn't recommend a hotel more highly. In addition to excellent room and service and views, the breakfasts were mighty. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartatsunyata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Arriving in the rain to this beautiful unspoilt village, we were delighted to see that Eldons had a commanding view right in the centre of the village. On a sunny day it's wonderful to sit outside on the terrace with its spectacular views of the harbour and watch the world go by. We received a warm welcome from the delightful Bronagh who runs the place with expertise and unfailing good humour and who was on hand all week to offer advice and provide detailed local knowledge on whatever we wanted to know. Nothing was too much trouble from printing out details of walking routes to providing great food at short notice. (The local smoked salmon is particularly good.) The bedrooms were extremely comfortable and the rooms well stocked with tea, coffee and biscuits. Eldons has a charm and an air of relaxation which makes the visitor feel immediately at home. Amazing value for money and, in our case, a wonderful base for a walking holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscarina54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

An excellent night spent at Eldon's with topical, witty and appropriate comments from Bronagh. Well worth a visit and our dinner was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lincssw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roundstone
0.0 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
7.9 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
6.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
7.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.0 mi away
Island View House B&B
Island View House B&B
#1 of 13 in Roundstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Main Street, Roundstone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Roundstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eldons Hotel and Restaurant, is a family run business offering Hotel accommodation along with food and drink outlets onsite .The 12 bedroom hotel is situated in Roundstone Village in the heart of Connemara overlooking Roundstone Harbour. Eldons Hotel is located on the rugged and beautiful Wild Atlantic Way coastline route approximately halfway between Cork and Donegal .Eldons Hotel is the perfect location along this route to come and stay and discover all Connemara has to offer ,whether it is fishing, golfing, painting, horse-riding, walking(guided if required) or cycling can all be done within 20 minutes drive from Eldons Hotel. All of these activities can be booked for you at Eldons Hotel. Accommodation Eldons offers six standard double rooms three of which are front facing with a view of Roundstone harbour and three back facing with a view of the twelve ben mountains. We also have five standard twin rooms. All rooms have ensuite facilities with either bath or shower. All room are tastefully decorated with Telephone, remote control Television, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer. Iron and ironing boards is available on request. Wake up calls and laundry service also available on request. We also offer one double bedded Superior Double Room Suite with balcony view of the Roundstone Harbour . Wi fi internet Connection is currently available in the Public Lounges Restaurant In the Restaurant we offer a Table D'hote set menu alongside an extensive a la carte menu with a focus on local Connemara produce especially local seafood. We offer a full range of locally sourced seafood including oysters and lobster. Connemara Smoked wild salmon with freshly landed sea fish such as hake, halibut and cod also feature on our extensive menu. We also offer a lunchtime snack menu with freshly made soup, chowder and an assortment of sandwiches, wraps and Panini's. We also offer a vegetarian option on our menu each day. If you have any specific dietary requirements you can let us know and we will be happy to accommodate you. .A comprehensive wine list with old and new world wines on offer in both our Eldons Hotel Restaurant and Eldons Hotel Bar. Bar You can relax and have a nice pint of Guinness in our snug little bar where you can listen to the locals tell their tales of their days at sea fishing or their hours spent cutting and footing turf on the bog or you can just take a pint to one of the lounges and read a book at you leisure. We also offer a lunchtime menu and evening menu in the bar. Live entertainment takes place in the bar usually once a week during peak season. We also offer a full range of alcoholic drinks and wine and our barman will be happy to suggest and make a cocktail if required . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldons Hotel Roundstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing