We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view, average accomodations”
Review of Errisbeg Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Errisbeg Lodge
Ranked #9 of 13 Roundstone B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 24, 2008

We arrived at Roundstone around 3:30 p.m. and decided to go directly to our b&b. The view was stunning and the home very nice on the outside. Apparently we were a little early as our host was not home but came shortly and told us check-in was not until 4:00. We found our room a little small but adequate. The bath was adequate size but the shower was small. There is not tv in room which was okay since we did not travel to Ireland to watch the tube. We drove the 2 miles back into Roundstone which is a beautiful town. Unfortunately, there is no nightlife to speak of and since it was very cold and chilly staying outside and enjoying the view was not an option. We went back to b&b around 9:00 and realized there is no public or shared room to go sit in. The house is not particularly open to its guests. We had no choice but to go to our room with no tv and listen to the radio. There was a problem with the water in the area and it could not be safely consumed. Our host, Shirley, kept a little water in the room in a pitcher. It would have been nice to have had bottled water in the room. The breakfast was okay, but a little meager. All in all not exactly what we had hoped for but was clean and the view was amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honestd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestIrelander, Owner at Errisbeg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2008

At Errisbeg Lodge, we appreciate any and all feedback recieved from our guests. While we endevour to provide the highest quality of service, it is possible that on rare occcasions a guest may not perceive this, and we love to have the opportunity to answer these queries.
We are delighted that the views, and outstanding scenery of Connemara, are admired by so many of our visitors. "Awesome" is how some of our guests have described our location. The flip side of this is that it is not possible to compare Roundstone and Connemara nightlife to that which you will find in larger towns and cities in Ireland. There are no nightclubs, or super-pubs; instead you will find cozy, traditional Irish pubs which will have good food, and music.
As regards the water issue, yes it is true that there has been a temporary issue with the drinking water quality in the area. This occured almost overnight and put the local business owners in a difficult position as regards water supply for guests. We did not have bottled water supplies available at short notice, and instead we connected up to our neighbours spring-well and he has kindly allowed us to use his water for our guests comfort and wellbeing.
Our breakfasts at Errisbeg Lodge in general get rave reviews from our guests, as many of our reviews will testify to. It is possible however that some people amy require or expect something different than what they recieve, and in that case a simple request to ourselves is all it will take and we will look after them. Remember we're not mind-readers!
Again, we would like to take this opportunity to thank all our visitors and guests over the years, and we look forward to meeting many new and returning faces in the years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 78 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2007

Errisbeg Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. We were there for 2 nights with the best hospitality you can find in Ireland! The rooms were spotless, the breakfast was wonderful and the views of the bay were gorgeous. A very nice morning hike up to the peak of Errisbeg Mountain was breathtaking and an afternoon swim in the bay was refreshing. Very beautiful and relaxing with such nice and caring owners.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bnjazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

This is an awesome place to stay! I cannot say enough good things about Shirley and her lodge. She is a wonderful hostess. Friendly, gracious and goes out of her way to help you feel comfortable. The rooms are clean, comfortable and nice amenities like hotpots, tea/coffee and local books. The location cannot be beat! Just a few minutes walk from the beach and Roundstone. And she delivers on the breakfast! I highly recommend it.

6  Thank tamiSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

This was a wonderful B&B right on the sea. Shirley the hostess was wonderful. We stayed for three nights and enjoyed every moment. The ponies in the backyard were a big hit with my children. The access to the beach was easy and the scenery was breathtaking. Roundstone was a one minute drive away. This is definitely a must, if you visit the west coast of Ireland.

6  Thank gsanzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

As has been said by reviewers before me, the beauty of Connemara is amazing but the real reason to stay here is the friendliness of Shirley King, the owner.

Our room was clean and well-equipped. The bathroom was spotless. The views of Errisbeg Mountain from the house are exceptional as well.

We enjoyed fantastic breakfasts, lively conversation and all of Shirley's recommendations. In regards to the previous post mentioning lack of TV. . .I can't imagine wanting to spend time in Roundstone watching tv when Gurteen Bay is a 3 minute walk away and there are a number of fantastic pubs and restaurants where rainy days can be spent.

I would highly recommend Errisbeg Lodge to anyone traveling to Roundstone.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AndiamoRagazze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2007

First - the photograph of the pristine beach, the lodge and the mountain is quite misleading. It's taken with a telephoto lens from miles away on a spit of land and space is compressed. In fact the "lodge" is surrounded, crowded really, by other buildings, homes and the like and the beach you see in the photograph is quite a distance away. We had an odd and perhaps idiosyncratic experience, and maybe the proprietor was having a bad couple of days, but there was a brusqueness about her as well as a list of things that one could and could not do that was off putting... Roundstone on the other hand was spectacular. A great and friendly little town that we loved.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Clergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NetLink, Marketing Consultant at Errisbeg Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2007

Dear Clergy,

In response to your review titled "Misleading Photograph", I would like say that the photo you are writing about was not taken with a "telephoto" lens, or any other special equipment. It was taken with a box-standard photo camera and an ordinary lens from a boat.

The owner took took the photographer out on a boat and asked him to capture the bay with the beach together with the house and Errisbeg Mountain in the background - in which he seems to have succeeded well.

It is the same picture that you would see if you were sitting in a boat about half a mile out the bay from Gurteen Beach.

As to the contemplation whether the proprietor may have been having a bad day: we all have our bad days, but the proprietor of Errisbeg Lodge is well-known for greeting all guests with a warm Irish welcome regardless of the kind of day she is having. In fact, Errisbeg Lodge has just been awarded with an "Irish Welcome Award" by Failte Ireland, the National Tourism Development Authority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2006

Stayed at Errisbeg Lodge on the recommendation of some friends of ours who had been out to Roundstone for a weekend earlier in the year. Have to say we were very pleasantly surprised; the accommodation was of a higher grade than we had been expecting. Spotlessly clean rooms, simply furnished and very comfortable. Contrary to another reviewer I have to say it is refreshing to find lodgings without a tv; surely in such a beautiful landscape the last thing you'd want is to have an excuse to be stuck in your room. Also, there's the bonus of not being kept awake at night by one's fellow insomniac guests!
All in all, well worth the trip. Breakfast was delish in the morning, and again we were surprised to have a choice of offerings in addition to the staple "Full Irish" you get in many B&Bs. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank kenshamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roundstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 13 in Roundstone
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island View House B&B
Island View House B&B
#1 of 13 in Roundstone
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Errisbeg House
Errisbeg House
#11 of 13 in Roundstone
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rush Lake House
Rush Lake House
#7 of 13 in Roundstone
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bogbean Cafe and B&B
Bogbean Cafe and B&B
#8 of 13 in Roundstone
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Errisbeg Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errisbeg Lodge

Address: Ballyconneely-Roundstone Road, Roundstone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Roundstone
Price Range: $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Errisbeg Lodge, an informal Irish home is spectacularly set amid private, spacious wildflower gardens, on the slopes of Errisbeg Mountain and overlooks numerous off-shore islands, and the magnificent Atlantic beaches of Gurteen and Dog's Bay. Yet just 2km from the pretty coastal village of Roundstone. Errisbeg Lodge is the perfect location where you can paint, photograph, write, walk, hike, bike, revitalise and really get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Errisbeg Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing