We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a perfect place with a stunning view”
other travelers have booked this property
On the water's edge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
On the water's edge
'Best View in Ireland' Traditional Sash Windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
On the water's edge
'Best View in Ireland'
Traditional Sash Windows
Located on the Working Pier
Living Area
Bedroom View!
Dogs Bay, just 2km away
More views from the front window
View from the New Pier
Fully Equipped, Modern Kitchen
Living Area with Open Fire
Bedroom Views
Top Floor Bedroom
Middle Bedroom
O'Dowds Famous Seafood Restaurant in background
Enough Said!
Nearby Dogs Bay
O'Dowds Bar and Restaurant 1 minute away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Roundstone, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
805antjem
Düsseldorf
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a perfect place with a stunning view”
Reviewed July 11, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We visited Roundstone for one week in april together with another couple and we really loved it. The house is perfectly equiped, very clean and - very comfortable when you're travelling with four adults- with two bathrooms. The view out of living room and both bedrooms was absolutely amazing. I think we took a picture every day five times. The contact with Simon was quite uncomplicated and everything went well. Roundstone itself and Connemara is definitely worth visiting. We would love to come back and stay at this location again. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Reviewed May 24, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The posistion, directly on the Roundstone Quay.
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 23, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Too short a holiday
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
elix
West Country
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time in Connemara”
Reviewed April 5, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Staying in the fisherman's house at the Quay in Roundstone was a great introduction to a week in the wild, beautiful region of Connemara. Nothing quite prepares you for the wonderful, changing views out of the large living room (and bedrooms) windows. There is something quite special when mountains meet sea. The house became a home for us during the week we stayed here and we loved every minute of it…cosy turf fires, comfortable beds and a fantastic location for walking and sight seeing the delights of Connemara and beyond. Simon and Anne, by offering their house, have made available a very special experience to all who are lucky enough to stay at The Quay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the views
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katja S
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful House with Amazing views”
Reviewed March 2, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here over the New Year period with my family. It is a beautiful three story house on the harbour overlooking Roundstone Bay. It was the perfect trip with the relaxing atmosphere in the house and village.
The living room and kitchen is beautiful with the open fire and bay window. We all loved sitting at the Bay window and looking out at the Bay.
The bedrooms were large with again amazing views of the Bay and the House was in excellent conditions, very clean and nothing was missing. Towels, Bedlinen, Cleaning & Washing Materials were all provided which helped a lot when travelling with children.
Parking was available just outside or in the village free of charge and our daughter loved the Playground located jut around the corner.

The owner (simon) really looked after us during our stay and we can’t speak highly enough of the house and Roundstone.

We will be back for sure during the summer period.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/View
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJH42
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect bolt-hole in the heart of Roundstone”
Reviewed March 2, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Where to start? My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in February 2012 and we will definitely return.

The location is fab: if you know anything of Connemara you will know that you must visit Roundstone. The Quay House is located right on the pier, so you are at the heart of everything. The surprise for me was that it was unexpectedly quiet during our stay, as the house is located just off the main road. Very close to shops, restaurants and pubs. One of the finest traditional pubs inIreland, O'Dowd's, is all of 30 metres away up on the main road (for some, thatis reason alone to go to Roundstone).

On arrival we found the house spotlessly clean and elegantly decorated. The bedrooms are spacious, the beds are wide and very comfortable, and the bathrooms were spotlessly clean. A double and a twin room on the first floor and another double on the second, with good bathrooms on each. Plenty of room for several adults. Stunning views to wake up to, a real treat.

The living room is a very comfortable place to relax, you can fall into the deep soft leather sofas by a roaring fire and gaze out over the sea to the distant mountains. The photos look great but they really don't do it justice. The kitchen area is well equipped with electric oven and gas hob and there is plenty of room to cook up a storm. There is excellent new TV, DVD and surround sound equipment, so if some strange reason you should feel the need to look at cableTV and not out the supersize picture window, you will be well looked after.

There is a utility room with appliances and bin space and heating controls. The house has an elaborate heating system that can be easily set and visiting in winter, we were pleased to find the house heats up very quickly. The owners were kind enough to set it in advance and when we arrived late in the dark of night the house was lovely and warm. There is parking right outside for several cars and your car won't block your view as the house is raised above.

Roundstone is near many great tourist locations and is a base for a walking/cycling paradise. Ballynahinch Castle is closeby, a must for fishing and shooting enthusiasts. It also has an excellent restaurant (book well inadvance!) and a great bar.

Overall our impression was that the quality of furniture and fittings are of a very high standard and we felt that it was less of a holiday house and more like a home away from home. We booked with Anne and it was effortless. I can't recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house was solid, clean, comfortable and everything just went smoothly.
Liked least: Nothing was disliked.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jp999999
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: La vue depuis la chambre
Liked least: rien , car tout était bien
Traveling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing