We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roundstone House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roundstone
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Top Class Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

On the evenings of Sunday 25th and Monday 26th May, 2014, three friends and I had the pleasure of an evening meal in Vaughn's Roundstone House Hotel. We had never visited the hotel before, but we shall be returning in the years to come. The quality of the food (esp. the delicious seafood) was of the highest standard from the point of cooking, fresh ingredients and presentation. Each course was a minor masterpiece! On a par with this excellence was the outstanding dining room service provided by the delightful Eileen whose charm set the tone for the restaurant. And no critique could be complete without praise for the witty and helpful Conor in the bar...with his Grandmother at the other end of a telephone line, he provided us with local knowledge and light-hearted amusement which lightened even the rainiest Connemara evening. Why can't more hotels be like the Roundstone House Hotel?!?

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    33
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
43
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay Easter Saturday ... The weather was fab and Roundstone was hopping! We had a lovely bright room at the top of the house with a double and single bed. Views were spectacular! Diarmuid, the owner was really friendly and gave us a warm welcome. The food in the restaurant (Vaughan's) is excellent ... Seafood Chowder to die for :-) Our breakfast on Easter Sunday was simply perfect and our waitress Lisa was a delight to chat with ... She gave us lots of tips on where to explore in the locality. We will definitely be returning to The Roundstone House Hotel for more of the same.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaHeather1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Although we did not stay at this hotel, we did have a very enjoyable evening meal here. Out of our two weeks in Ireland, my husband felt the salmon he was served here was the best and tastiest on our trip (and he orders salmon every chance he gets!!). All of us enjoyed our various meals. However, according to our daughter.......the Bailey's cheesecake was amazing!! We will definitely plan a meal here on our next visit to Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manassasmeanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinvara, Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Room rate for a single room for 2 nights was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was really excellent, ate in the restaurant first night and had a 3 course meal for €25 and second night ate in the bar and once again the food was great. It's a 3 star hotel and ideally could do with an update but it's clean and fine. Roundstone is a lovely village and we had great craic in the pubs with the locals - you'll never be short of someone to talk to!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We ate in the restaurant on two nights as our first experience was so good. You can choose from set menu or a la carte menu. On the first night we ate from set menu & we were very impressed by the choice and quality of food. The choice of wine was excellent and reasonably priced. The second night we decided to eat from a la carte menu as we didn't want a starter. Again we had a wonderful meal. The staff on each night were fantastic & delivered an excellent service without being over powering. I would highly recommend eating here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for lunch in roundstone and found the main hotel and bar with outside seating. Had a crab and brown bread open sandwich which was delicious and very fresh. Would fully recommend a visit and try this.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

It's the staff here that is the makings of round stone House hotel. It's an old style hotel but I found it to be v clean & comfortable. I did think it was a little bit pricey compared to other hotels. The food is fantastic, the Irish breakfast was the best I've had anywhere. Real orange juice! Breakfast cooked to order. Lisa was our waitress for breakfast & she is the nicest friendliest girl you could wish to meet! We stayed in room 16 it was a triple room with sea view. When I booked I requested a sea view & they happily obliged. I would return to this house hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roundstone
6.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
7.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
5.8 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Clifden Station House
10.9 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
15.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundstone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundstone House Hotel

Property: Roundstone House Hotel
Address: Roundstone Village, Roundstone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roundstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roundstone House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Roundstone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing