We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roundstone House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roundstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have eaten here many times and it never fails to deliver. The chef is extremely talented and makes the best use of local delicious produce . The service is excellent and the staff well trained and very personable . Try the local seafood and Connemara lamb , you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Try the Roundstone bay crab claws they are to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneA336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 134 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have just returned from Roundstone refreshed and rejuvenated. My partner and I stayed in this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Roundstone house offers a refreshing alternative to the modern generic hotel. It is full of idiosyncratic charm and constantly reminds you that you are somewhere special and unique. The staff are friendly and fun, no false pretensions, sound folks. We were very happy with the value of the room and the food. The portions are generous and very tasty.
It's hard to put your finger on what is so special about it, maybe its greater than the sum of its parts, maybe its the atmosphere created by feeling like a welcome guest in a family home, maybe its all the stout that Conor has been pouring into me for the last few days, whatever it is, its wonderful and I'll be back as soon as they reopen in spring.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten here many times, but this was my first time staying here, rooms are lovely, clean & spacious, but most of all spectacular sea views from my room,
Overall excellent hotel, great food & lovely bar.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liambourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here on a Wolfhound Adventure tour Sept. 2012. Had a room overlooking the waterfront. I could not have asked for a better spot! Room and bathroom both huge. I was a single, but had a king size bed. Great water pressure in the shower. A little noisy from a group running around on the floor over me, but other than that, a most pleasant stay. But then, it was in Roundstone, one of the prettiest little spots in Connemara!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Madeit2Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel, restaurant & bar are, separately, able to stand alone each as truly magnificent; joined together the entirety is the gem of Connemara, Galway definitely and of all Ireland certainly.
Run by Diarmuid, Cynthia, and Mrs Vaughan who together make this an unbelievably warm, welcoming, relaxed place to be for any length of stay.
As for the food, look no further than the bar for a variety of standard fare and specials which include chicken and mushroom vol-au-vent. The restaurant is another matter altogether: Connemara rack of lamb with a lovely red currant and rosemary gravy. The chef, Siobhan (trained at Ballymaloe,) is every bit the quality of the high priests of NY kitchens – it is enjoyed all the more here because it is absent some eejit trying to push you back into the street. Trust me, you are having Siobhan’s rack of lamb.
The others that work here – reviewed in other reviews by their secret code name: “Staff” – are the cohesive force that ensured our stay was truly special: Conor, Lauren, Niall, Maggie, Nora.
If this place is not beautiful to you dear reader, then please return to your damp misery and know that you are truly joyless.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EddieBurkeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is beautifully located, with views over a small harbour to the Twelve Bens mountain range. It's hard to beat this as a location. If the beaches nearby were in a hot climate they would packed. One can walk to them from the hotel. In fact, the whole area is great for walkers, with beach, mountain or bog roads available. The hotel has a guide brochure of the local walks, with directions starting from the front door. Don't miss The Old Bog Road walk, which starts just around the corner from the hotel but bring rain gear and waterproof boots, if the weather looks dodgy. The hotel has an amazing midweek offer of 3 nights bed and breakfast, plus 2 evening meals for 210euro per person sharing . Now this may not strike you as any great bargain but wait until you experience the evening meal, which bought separately would probably set you back about 35euro. The fish on the menu was fresh and wonderful. The steaks will keep any carnivore happy. When we asked for a small steak and half a cow arrived, the waitress simply remarked that "we don't do small here". Then there's the full Irish breakfast, with toast and brown bread, that will keep you going most of the day. Staff are great and rooms warm and comfortable, with lovely views from front facing ones. On some cold evenings there's a turf fire in the reception area - a very cosy spot for the after meal brandy.
Only downside is that I heard that hotel might be closing for winter season.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed on a three-night-2D3B/B-break at the end of August and thoroughly enjoyed our break. The value, food and service was amazing, quite outstanding. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner here each day so we sampled everything on the menu without a single disappointment, remarkably. The weather was torrential for the three days but the temperature of the sea was still quite warm (17C) despite the rain. The atmosphere was not dampened at all within the Roundstone House.
I would reiterate what a reviewer above has said: WiFi is not available in most rooms. We used the Residents' Lounge and the bar as the need arose. On another cautionary note, there is only one ATM in Roundstone village. A few doors away from the hotel I discovered a fabulous vintage jewelery store called 'The Match Maker's Curiosity Shop'. Unfortunately my eager shopping was constrained by the ATM which runs out of cash early each day.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough but perhaps an anecdote will illustrate the service and welcome we experienced:
When I asked on our penultimate day what time checkout was, the receptionist replied, "Sure, ye're not going yet? Have another cup of tea and relax for a while!" Perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms near the lobby have better WIFI connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mariewalshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roundstone
5.1 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
8 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
6.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
318 reviews
7.7 mi away
Clifden Station House
10.9 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundstone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundstone House Hotel

Address: Roundstone Village, Roundstone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roundstone
Price Range: $148 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roundstone House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Roundstone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing