We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Irish escape & made so welcome”
Review of Wits End B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roundstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wits End B & B
Ranked #2 of 13 Roundstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Irish escape & made so welcome”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were really looking forward to our visit to Connemara and it was all we'd hoped, even though it was November. At Wits End, Nora made us feel at home as soon as we arrived with tea and biscuits relaxed - no rush. The room was quiet & comfortable with ensuite & a lovely view over the unspoilt bay. Because of the time of year we only had one place to dine out locally, but O'Dowds Seafood Bar and Restaurant close by serves great food and is open all year round. Breakfast was a lovely full Irish and before we left we had a good laugh and chat with Nora and her daughter Eileen who also runs the B&B. I would imagine Wits End must get busy in summer, but we were blessed with good weather and genuine Irish hospitality, thank you Nora & Eileen, we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
107
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We arrived to warm scones and tea, we were warmly welcomed by the hostess and made to feel really welcome.Good location top of the main street and spent a great evening in odowds pub real open fire.We had to leave early next morning and were left a wonderfull breakfast in room Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Me and my friend visited beautiful Galway and the surroundings of Connemara. The hosts entertained us warmly and informed us on interesting places in the surroundings. They are very kind, attentive, patient and warm people who will make you feel at home. Food is amazing and beautifully presented. Rooms are silent and comfortable. We were completely satisfied with our visit to Roundstone! Definitely the best b&b in our whole Ireland road-trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enrique_perezr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Best welcome in Ireland from a lovely hostess, providing afternoon tea and conversation on arrival, and a great breakfast. However, our room was small and the bed was absolutely terrible (ended up sleeping on the floor). Noise from pub next door and other guests (thin walls) disturbed our sleep until 2.30 am. This was our worst night in a month of travel in Ireland, but Eileen was so lovely we couldn't bear to make a complaint - and we suspect this aspect has skewed the other reviews here too, but we feel the purpose on this website is to be completely honest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmandSime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoundstoneConnemara, Owner at Wits End B & B, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B.

I am so glad you enjoyed the welcome, the afternoon tea and the breakfast. I remember you very well when you stayed with us in mid September.

Your comment about the bed has been very helpfull. Thank you.
Since your visit we have replaced the mattress in this bedroom along with several others.
Thank you again for bringing this to our attention.

I am sorry you did not enjoy a good nights rest with us. Our B&B is conveniently located on the main street in Roundstone close to the restaurant and hotel. Most of our guests find this great because they can walk to dinner without having to drive their cars.

I gave you a bedroom with a sea view as it was your first trip to Roundstone and Ireland. The sunrises that can be seen from our front bedrooms are spectacular. I was hoping you would catch one of these to add to your Irish experience. A bedroom to the rear of our B&B would probably have suited better had we known.

I hope in general you enjoyed your first trip to Ireland and that it will not be your last.

Our very best wishes to both of you from all of us here at Wits End.

Eileen Coyne at Wits End B&B, Roundstone, Connemara, Co. Galway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great location at the top of the main street. Public parking across the street. Spotlessly clean bedroom with sparkling en-suite. TV and WiFi. Outstanding "Full Irish" breakfast. Would highly recommend and will stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid Roundstone in August, too busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilmartinsonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were on a 10 day holiday in the west of ireland and stayed in quite a few B&Bs. This was easily the best of them. It was affordable (cheaper than the others), beautifully maintained and the breakfast was scrumptious.
Well done Eileen & her Mum.
John & Valerie

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBernardBreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and & I spend 2 days in this delightful B&B. We had a double room,which although it was a little tight, still managed to find room for an ensuite, lounge for watching the LCD TV, tea & coffee along with biscuits & extra goodies in the corridor outside our room. We had a beautiful view over the Atlantic and enjoyed a wonderful breakfast each morning. We would thoroughly recommend this B&B - they have thought of everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynandBarry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roundstone
0.1 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
126 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
7.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Island View House B&B
Island View House B&B
#1 of 13 in Roundstone
239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
#4 of 13 in Roundstone
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Errisbeg Lodge
Errisbeg Lodge
#9 of 13 in Roundstone
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wits End B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wits End B & B

Property: Wits End B & B
Address: Main Street | Roundstone Village, Roundstone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Roundstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wits End is a family run Bed and Breakfast located on the Main Street of Roundstone village in Connemara, an area of outstanding natural beauty. Wits End enjoys fantastic sea views. All visitor attractions in Connemara are less than 40 minutes drive from Wits End, making it an ideal place to explore Connemara from. There is lots of car parking in Roundstone. Come and visit soon. You will be welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing