We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Wits End B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roundstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wits End B & B
Ranked #2 of 13 Roundstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My boyfriend, parents & I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Wits End and in Roundstone and the Connemara area. Nora was a perfect host; the rooms were very homely, with fresh flowers, generous toiletries, a wide selection of teas & biscuits, and books & magazines to borrow in the hall. Breakfast lived up to its name and was indeed BIG! We also took home some of Nora's beautifully knitted creations, which include beanie hats, scarves, mittens and Aran jumpers. Thanks again for a lovely stay Nora, Amy, Ian, Laurinda & Michael

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aims_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
107
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quin Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Spent a night in Roundstone at the Wits End B&B May 2012. Eileen who I'd booked the rooms with was unavailable, but Nora showed us to our rooms and then offered us tea & coffee which we gladly accepted. Out comes Nora with a big pot of tea, proper coffee (not horrible instant!), cakes and biscuits. I've stayed in many BnB's all over Ireland and that's one of the best welcomes I've ever experienced! The Wits End is comfortable, quiet, well presented and excellent value for money. Roundstone is a quiet village with plenty of nice walks and fabulous scenary. The breakfast the next morning was the one of best I've ever had. When Eileen said it was a large breakfast when I booked the rooms, she certainly wasn't kidding! I had the full irish which kept me going until late afternoon. There was also smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, porridge with fruit and everything looked incredibly tasty and fresh. All in all I have to say this is one of the best BnB's in Ireland and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. I'm already planning a trip up to Roudstone again this July as 1 night wasn't enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twalker003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights in this brilliant bed and breakfast. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable. Situated in the centre of Roundstone you are within minutes of top class pubs and food. Nora and Eileen make you feel special from the minute you set foot in the place. You might be at your "Wits End" when you arrive but I guarantee that you will be renewed when you leave. Try the full Irish breakfast the best I have had.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We are just back from two weeks in South and West of Ireland and had the pleasure to stay two nights at the Wits End B&B. Very nice room and excellent breakfasts, but most special are the people! From the moment we arrived to the time we left we enjoyed every minute we had with Nora, Eileen, and Oliver. We left feeling we were leaving family. We highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Jan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We had the privilege of staying at Wits End while researching our Family History Eileen, Oliver ,and Nora were so welcoming the breakfast were perfect the rooms were immaculate and had wonderful views of Roundstone and the surrounding area.
We can't thank you all enough for making our visit to Wits End and Roundstone such a wonderful experience and we will be returning to Wits End.
There was plenty of car parking available just outside Wits End.
I can't recommend Wits End enough.
Maxine

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2012

A truly Irish welcome awaits you when you walk through the door of Wits End. Eileen and Nora do everything possible to make your stay memorable. It has to be the best breakfast in the country. The rooms are well laid out, very clean and with a kettle for making tea/coffee. I can't recommend it highly enough and look forward to revisiting this year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I am just back from a wonderful stay in Wits End in Roundstone, Connemara. From the moment I arrived, I loved it. Eileen helped me in with my bags, gave a a gorgeous room overlooking the sea and the mountains and was more than helpful and welcoming. The smoked salmon I had for breakfast was really good, the big Irish breakfast I had the next morning was gorgeous too. I recommend this bed and breakfast as one of the nicest in Ireland. Eileen and her mother also make wonderful knitwear. I will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy_in_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roundstone
0.1 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
126 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
7.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Island View House B&B
Island View House B&B
#1 of 13 in Roundstone
239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
#4 of 13 in Roundstone
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Errisbeg Lodge
Errisbeg Lodge
#9 of 13 in Roundstone
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wits End B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wits End B & B

Property: Wits End B & B
Address: Main Street | Roundstone Village, Roundstone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Roundstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wits End is a family run Bed and Breakfast located on the Main Street of Roundstone village in Connemara, an area of outstanding natural beauty. Wits End enjoys fantastic sea views. All visitor attractions in Connemara are less than 40 minutes drive from Wits End, making it an ideal place to explore Connemara from. There is lots of car parking in Roundstone. Come and visit soon. You will be welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing