We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Wits End B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roundstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wits End B & B
Ranked #2 of 13 Roundstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2011

My wife and son and I stayed at the Wits End in early October 2011. Eileen (the owner) and Nora (her mother) were fantastic hosts. Extremely warm and welcoming. We wished we had had more time to spend in Roundstone, partly because of these two women. My wife was feeling a bit under the weather and Eileen recommended going to O'Dowd's Pub, just down the street, for a "hot whiskey". Now it's my wife's new favorite drink. We had some excellent seafood at O'Dowd's as well.
Our breakfast at Wits End was delicious. Our stay in Roundstone at Wits End and making new friends in Eileen and Nora were some of the highlights of our trip to Ireland. We hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burns157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 204 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

Couldnt recommend this B&B enough. Really friendly owner/staff with v clean rooms...not to mention the best Irish breakfast in a B&B in a long time. On the first floor landing there is a mini-library with plenty books and magazines to borrow and lovely tea & biscuits to take to your room. Roundstone is a nice little village for exploring the stunning Connemara countryside.

Room Tip: If you want a lie-in perhaps ask for a top floor room as you can hear other guests walking past in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jurganito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Roundstone Village is a great place to stay and make day trips throughout the Connemara. We were lucky to stop at Wits End - comfortable, clean, welcoming, warm. We felt absolutely at home there. Great breakfast, comfortable conversation with our proprietors. Nice village with options for day hiking and afternoon tea as well as good food at the end of a long day. There's no doubt we will return to Wit's End. I hope it's soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulleross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We loved our stay at Wit's End! Can't say enough about Nora and her daughter Eileen!! They were so nice! They made us feel so welcome and comfortable. The location, rooms and breakfasts were wonderful! The whole experience was excellent and would highly recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadiasahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stopped in Roundstone without having first booked accomodation and Wits End was the first place we saw. How fortunate for us - we were welcomed with mugs of hot tea and yummy fruit cake and that is while we sat and chatted before even looking at the rooms. Our timing could not have been better, the town's folk festival was starting that night, in the community hall across the road and our hostesses daughter was in it. Such was the family atmosphere of Wits End we just had to go, and what a treat. This place is a must - it has small-ish rooms, but for a place to base yourself for trips around the Connemara with lots of local advice, huge breakfasts and wonderful company you can't go past. I'm not sure when we'll return, but I do know where we'll be staying if we do!

Room Tip: all rooms are similar, small-ish, but high quality linen and furnishings and lovely olde-worlde char...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Wits End for 3 nights in September. Roundstone is a wonderful little town and as soon as we got in (after a long shower) we headed down to O'Dowds for some really good food before we went to sleep. The next morning, the breakfasts Eileen and Norah made were amazing, especially the smoked salmon and eggs. Once my husband had that, he never looked back. :-)

Eileen was so helpful. On our second to last day there, the taxi we had ordered to bring us to a wedding failed to show up, and she dropped what she was doing and drove us up to the wedding venue herself, the whole time regaling us with great stories about her time in NYC. She was so fun and friendly and we would go back in a heartbeat! Thanks for the great stay!

Room Tip: Our room faced out to the island and we had the best view possible. So beautiful to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DappledDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This little town was such a wonderful place to stay and this B&B was excellent. The people were so helpful and friendly you couldn't help but enjoy staying there. The rooms were very clean and accommodating and the breakfast in the morning was more than plenty to eat. I would love to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwfoster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roundstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island View House B&B
Island View House B&B
#1 of 13 in Roundstone
262 reviews
0 mi away
Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
Eldon's Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 13 in Roundstone
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Errisbeg House
Errisbeg House
#11 of 13 in Roundstone
20 reviews
0 mi away
Bogbean Cafe and B&B
Bogbean Cafe and B&B
#8 of 13 in Roundstone
16 reviews
0 mi away
Rush Lake House
Rush Lake House
#7 of 13 in Roundstone
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wits End B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wits End B & B

Address: Main Street | Roundstone Village, Roundstone H91 H596, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Roundstone
Price Range: $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wits End is a family run Bed and Breakfast located on the Main Street of Roundstone village in Connemara, an area of outstanding natural beauty. Wits End enjoys fantastic sea views. All visitor attractions in Connemara are less than 40 minutes drive from Wits End, making it an ideal place to explore Connemara from. There is lots of car parking in Roundstone. Come and visit soon. You will be welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing