We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Island View House B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Roundstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Louth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed one night here and it is a fantastic place,great value,lovely welcome freshly cooked breakfast. We went to a wedding and I needed to fix my dress I asked the owner for a safety pin he didn't have one and his mother next door kindly sewed my dress for me. Perfect place to stay!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayLouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
134
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devon uk
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed a night here in june. Warm welcome with scones & tea by a peat fire. Had a lovely good sized room with everything you could wish for. Very clean & liked the contemporary style. Lovely well cooked breakfast.Excellent value. Loved Roundstone, very pretty village with good pubs & B&B in easy walking distance. One small downside could hear everything from nextdoors bathroom in the night.However would definately recommend & would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed in Islandview on the May Bank holiday weekend for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The B&B is centrally located in Roundstone and everything is in walking distance!
As the other reviewers have said both Maurice and Aisling are wonderful hostts and very welcoming. The rooms have been recently refurbished and are to a high standard-very comfortable. I do concur with other reviews that you can hear noise from other rooms but this did not bother us too much. Breakfast was lovely and made to order and they had lovely homemade breads and scones. We were offered several times tea on arrival but as we arrived late we wanted to head out for dinner before they stopped serving food!
I would definitely recommend this B&B and if we were ever back in Roundstone again would stay here again. Its when you encounter B&Bs to this standard that you question why do we stay in hotels!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Maurice & Aisling are fabulous hosts. They will always go the 'extra mile' for their guests.
After a long arduous journey along the 'bumpy' roads Aisling was there to greet us with her wonderful homemade scones...hot out of the oven. Nothing was too much trouble and the rooms are very clean & tidy. We were blessed with a view to die for as this village must be one of the 'must see' places in Ireland. Preferably before you die!!!

Many thanks Aisling & Maurice...we will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdyNoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Maurice, your host is a warm,friendly man who is excellent at dispensing helpful local information also cooks up a fantastic breakfast.
He is always looking after his guests and makes you feel right at home.
The rooms are comfortable and clean although you do get some noise from other rooms this is not too intrusive.
I would recommend this b&b and would happily use it again.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honda1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed for three nights in May. Home baking aroma with frequent offers of tea and scones!
Good twin-room, spotless with sea-view.
Excellent generous breakfast.
A fund of enjoyable local info. readily available.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband and I and a close family friend stayed at Island View in Roundstone for two nights in early May of this year. Staying with Maurice and Aisling was like visiting someone's home and family. You are made to feel so very much "at home." They greeted us, helped us to our triple room, then started a fire in the dining/living room on the main floor to warm us. Then Aisling served us freshly made scones (I now have her recipe!) with coffee or tea. We settled in for a chat about the town and the many places to visit in Connemara. Our room was comfortable and clean. WiFi was much appreciated.

Breakfast was made-to-order -- fresh and piping hot. There were choices to make -- Full Irish was just one of the choices! The baked goods were a highlight, prepared most likely in the early morning. The fruit and yogurt were very refreshing.

We had a chance during breakfast to talk with Maurice about Roundstone, its history, the local personalities and craftspeople, the Bog Road, etc. It really gave us a much greater appreciation for this lovely part of Connemarra. How fortunate we were to stay with Maurice and Aisling at Island View. We recommend this B&B highly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roundstone
0.0 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
126 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
7.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
10.9 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
338 reviews
5.8 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View House B&B

Property: Island View House B&B
Address: Bayview House High Street, Roundstone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Roundstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island View House is a family run bed & breakfast in the heart of Roundstone Village.Owned by Maurice & Aisling Ryan with years of experience between them,in the bar,coffeeshop and accommodation business. We are open all year and offer complimentary wifi to our guests. All rooms are tastefully decorated with all mod cons.Rooms offer stunning views of Roundstone Bay and the Twelve Bens mountain range.Choice of breakfast cooked to order every morning.Maurice is born locally and is great for local history and routes to take for touring Connemara,places to eat etc..Tea/coffee and Aislings now famous homebaked scones await you on arrival.Island View House and Roundstone village is an ideal base for touring Connemara and the Aran Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Island View House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing