We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you want to feel like you have got away from it ALL, spend a weekend here...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renvyle House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Renvyle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We recently spent a weekend at Renvyle house (we have been here before and could not wait to come back). It turned out that there was a Murder Mystery weekend on here and we were not quite sure whether we would enjoy it or not...turned out to be one of the best weekends ever- it was absolutely great craic, the actors were marvellous, and we really enjoyed every minute of it. The events only actually take place in the bar at night-time so it's not like you are tied down for the whole weekened- you can do your own thing all day. It was also pretty nice to get to know other guests- usually on a weekend away you never get friendly with other guests (or maybe that is just me!) but the shared interest of solving clues meant a shared pint or two in the bar!

We had an upgrade on our room- it was one of the island suites- which was fantastic- and especially so if you were bring family, as there are two bedrooms and a separate living room and an enormous bathroom with jacuzzi bath.

As ever the food is fabulous- more restaurant qualilty than usually found in a hotel- worth a trip for the food alone.

The main thing about Renvyle however, is the real sense of getting away from it all- batteries are fully recharged. The lobby is very relaxing- turf fires and newspapers- and no one hounding you to keep buying food or drink... you can just sit there and while the time away.

There are more luxurious hotels to be found, without a doubt, but few will leave you as relaxed and happy as Renvyle.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShivGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Marketing & Reservations at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2010

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your break and that you felt well rested after you stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip further west.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
There are newer reviews for Renvyle House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 733 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2010

Went for an extended weekend, a deal on the back of the Irish Times. Have a great weekend. Didn't realize there was a golf course, there is one across from the hotel. Had an extremely windy game, gave in after four holes and had an excellent pint. Very cosy lounge area. Dinner both nights was incredible, super food and great value. Had best crab cakes I've ever had. Had been there as a teenager so good to go for nosy around, tennis courts where all the teenage action happened still there. Children playground beside it now. Good singing session both nights, particularly Friday night, good gang singing there. Spent most of Saturday in a sort of sun room at the left side of the hotel, reading the papers. Room fine, clean, nice big bath. Was in the old part of the hotel, spooky! Supposed to be ghosts! Did Diamond mountain in Letterfrack, didn't rain on us!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Marketing & Reservations at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2010

Thank you for your review. Pleased to hear you tried our ‘challening’ 9-hole golf course, especially on a windy day!

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and well done on doing the Diamond. The views are stunning on a clear day, Relieved to hear the rain held off. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

This is an excellent family hotel where all the staff go out of their way to be helpful and obliging. The food here is superb and has something for everyone both at the breakfast and dinner.It is excellent value for money in my opinion and you can bring your dog and save on kennels plus it would be a shame for the dog to miss the fabulous walks.Treat yourself and your family for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincentreardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Marekting & Reservations at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we’re delighted that you and your family had a relaxing break with us.

With our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We booked this hotel because of its reputation and its claim to be a relaxing retreat, and we found it didnt live up to either.

The good points were that it was stunningly situated and the common areas were cosy with country house charm.

However, when we tried to use the limited spa facilities we found the jacuzzi was cold and the beauty therapist was rude to us as we were unfamiliar with the booking policy. It took numerous trips to staff, back into the hotel in a towel, over a couple of days to get it heated. This also put us off booking any treatments. Complaints to staff about this were taken defensively and little was done to reassure or compensate. Even beyond this the facilities were disappointingly small and you had to haul the hot tub cover on and off and, heat the sauna yourself.

What should have been an accommodating child friendliness, was to allow children to run around the adult areas even in the nighttime. This could not have been relaxing for guests, parents or not. We witnessed an event one evening where the children were allowed to get out of hand, to the extent that it was distressing to watch. This was not only disturbing for guests in the nearby lounge but unfair to the children.

The room was clean, but pokey. There was a beautiful sea view but you had to stand up and right at the window to see it, as the windows were small and high up.

As mentioned the scenery was stunning and there were many accessible walking routes and the hotel provided us with maps for this.

Food was ok, some dishes were a let down, some very good.

I would never return, especially when other hotels in the west of Ireland such as the Connemara Coast offer outstanding facilities and staff.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatrinN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Marketing & Reservations at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are sorry to hear that Renvyle House did not live up to your expectations although glad you found the old house comfortable. Some of the bedrooms in the old house are indeed smaller than what you would find at a modern built hotel, but as the old house is a national monument, we are restricted in what we are able to do and have to work within the confines of the old house. We have spacious rooms in the newer wing, along with some fine superior suites which also have stunning view of the sea.
We re-opened that particular weekend of your stay. You are correct, we were unprepared with the outdoor Jacuzzi, it had been giving some problems after the couple of months of freezing weather. We should have explained that to you when you first enquired about its use to save you numerous trips.
We are a family friendly hotel and promote ourselves as such and have been for decades. To be fair to the Hotel and its staff, it is a parent’s responsibility to look after their own child and we cannot interfere in how they are raised.
Once again, thank you for your review as we can only learn from all feedback received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We decided to stay here as we had heard many good reports over many years. If you are not expecting too much it is fine but the brochure, the website and some of the reviews on this site give a false impression. It is very much a 3 star hotel and if you are used to that then you will not be disappointed. For such a fantastic location we were expecting a little more. The reception staff were not very friendly or helpful - we wanted to get fly fishing lessons and were told "the instructor is in Dublin at a conference", we wanted to go boating and were told "here are the life jackets and the boats are outside" and we went outside and were expected to go raise two hulk titanic rowing boats into the water ourselves - no help offered". They could do with re-training some of the bar staff - who need to be told "the customers are your livelihood". In fairness to them the breakfast was good and the staff in the dining room pleasant and helpful. With a few improvements and some focus on service it could easily make a jump up a tier but maybe they are happy where they are, which is fine. If you are looking for 4 star or luxury look elsewhere though. It is a reasonably comfortable and relaxed place to stay but lacking the quality and service touches one would expect for a hotel in this location.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Marketing & Reservations at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2010

Thank you for your review. It’s always constructive to receive feedback as we can only learn from our mistakes.

Renvyle House is a 3* historic country house hotel. The hotel was rebuilt in 1927 in a Lutyens-esque style and the interiors of the old house are from the Arts & Crafts era of the early 1900’s. The emphasis of this style was to use local craftsmen, materials and clean, simple lines. We continue to use Irish craftsmanship and materials as much as possible when undergoing any renovations within the hotel. Nowhere do we claim to be a luxury or 4* establishment on our website or literature.

Our Fly-fishing season commenced this year on 1st March due to the lake being frozen for some of December, all of January and the beginning of February. We should have updated our website accordingly, please accept our apologies. Once again, the boats had been out of the water for December, January and the beginning of February due to the lake being frozen for most of this time. Our staff at reception should have been aware of this and saved you the frustration of trying to use them. Once again our apologies.

We’re glad you enjoyed breakfast, we’re told it’s one of the few places that still cooks your breakfast to order. The sausages and rashers from Finnerty’s in Oughterard are very tasty.

Since your review, we have undergone a refurbishment programme in our bedrooms, using Irish craftsmen, Irish carpets, linens etc. again in keeping with the Arts & Crafts style ….. and hopefully assisting keeping jobs in Ireland.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write your review. With our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Arrived back to the hotel after a lovely church cermony. Blazing Turf Fires and mulled wine,champagne and canapies greeted our arrival followed a couple of hours later by a superb banquet. Wedding food by in large is generally dull. What we experienced was easily the best wedding meal we ever attended, Fresh crab followed by beef fillet and a wonderful warm chocolate torte, This hotel has set a new standard for weddings. Well done Chef, service staff and everybody concerned. Best Regards A cousin of the Bride

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinhoodgalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Marketing & Reservations at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2010

Thank you for your review. We’re delighted that you had a lovely experience at Renvyle House. Tim O'Sullivan and his team in the kitchen are remarkable and we are delighted that you enjoyed it and thank you for the high praise. We hope you got to see the Harry Clarke Stained Glass windows in the Church at Tullycross in their full glory, it’s a lovely church for such a special occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

I loved everything about the place. Yes if you want to nit-pick the seal around the bath had aged a little too much, and the room is relatively compact, but hey it had everything I needed and it was a single room booking after all! The sense of history, the views, the great poets and statesmen that have graced its past, just breathtaking. The service is excellent, the food toe curlingly good, the pint of Guinness in front of the open turf fire worth the trip alone. Thank you for a wonderful few days, if you want to leave the worlds worries behind you for a moment in time this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Dublin-Rover-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Marketing & Reservations at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Thank you also for your compliments and also for mentioning the things that we can improve upon. We’ve worked on a lot of those maintenance issues while we closed for winter holidays in January /February.

We hope you will come back to see the improvements (and us) soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renvyle
9.8 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
12.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
298 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
10.2 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
868 reviews
11.8 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renvyle House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renvyle House Hotel

Address: North of Tully | Connemara, Renvyle, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Renvyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Renvyle
Price Range: $134 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renvyle House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renvyle House is a four star, historic country house, family owned and family run. It first opened as a hotel in 1883 and is spectacularly located on a 150 acre estate on the shores of the Wild Atlantic Way (midway point of the longest car touring route in the world!). Renvyle House is known for it’s “air of otherwordliness” which we believe is a strong and unique selling point and something of which we are very proud. Our emphasis is on customer service “friendly combined with professional” and we believe this plays a large part in why Renvyle enjoys over 55% repeat business. The hotel resort grounds include a private lake, a par 3 golf course, a beach, woodlands, gardens and numerous activities on site including tennis, croquet, outdoor heated swimming pool & Canadia Hot Tub which overlokks the Atlantic (summer months), fly-fishing, canoeing and more. Renvyle House is also well known for it’s good food and this is as much due to the locally sourced fresh produce (lamb, fish, vegetables and herbs from our own garden) as to Tim O’Sullivan’s expertise in the kitchen (Tim is our award winning Executive Chef). Renvyle House always has a warm welcome guaranteed for every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renvyle House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renvyle Hotel
Hotel House Renvyle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing