We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renvyle House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Renvyle
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pure Bliss”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stress free , great food , great staff, what a hotel should be like. the tranquil setting is a picture postcard. the lake is beautiful , the warmth of the turf fire and delicious irish coffees WOW,WOW,WOW

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monica19771973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear monica19771973,

Thank you, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and for taking the time to write your review.
We hope you'll return again soon.

With best wishes,
Sabina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    147
    68
    37
    17
See reviews for
226
288
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

As you drive through the main gates of Renvyle House Hotel you meet a sign along the driveway telling you that you have now entered a 'stress free zone' and this sets the tone for your stay at the hotel. We stayed here March 4th to 6th, 2013. The hotel consists of an old country house and as you enter the main lobby/foyer area you are met with the welcoming smell of turf fires burning in the old stone fireplaces, guests sitting quietly reading, relaxing and enjoying the peaceful and tranquil surroundings. Just opposite the front door of the hotel is a small lake surrounded by the hotel's own 9-hole golf course and it's not unusual to be approached by a few inquisitive ducks, geese or swans. Just 100m from the hotel entrance is the Atlantic coastline with absolutely breathtakingly stunning scenery, that is also to be said for the surrounding townlands of Tully and Tully Cross and the wonderful Connemara landscape. Our room was in the main house, room 73, a large and very quaint room. The rooms and facilities are maintained in a style fitting such an historic old house, but to a very high standard with all the modern conveniences available. The staff are, without question, among the most friendly, professional and accommodating I have ever experienced in a hotel. They are always so very attentive and polite and will do their utmost to fulfill any request, but yet maintain a very relaxed and casual atmosphere. The food is absolutely stunning at Renvyle House Hotel. The breakfast menu offers the usual continental style but this is also supplemented by a wonderful menu of locally sourced and produced food cooked to order and in whatever combination you desire. We had dinner on one night and it was absolutely spectacular. A pheasant tourine with curried carrot chutney, poached pear and a red wine reduction to start followed by main of roast rack of Connemara lamb encrusted in mustard and herbs and accompanied with seasonal vegetables and potatoes. For desert we were served a beautiful selection of regionally sourced cheese. This is a great base for a relaxing holiday or short break with plenty of local activities should you wish. It is also a must for anyone interested in walking, cycling or hill-walking. The value, particularly mid-week, at Renvyle House Hotel is excellent, considering the very high standard of service, food and accommodation. We'll be back again next year. Thank you all at Renvyle House Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main country house as opposed to the more modern annex building. Rooms 73 &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samson2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Samson2008

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your dining experience.

Thank you also for your lovely compliments about the staff, it's always a lovely boost to hear.
We look forward to your return visit next year!

With best wishes,
Sabina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for probably the sixth time over the past 10 years and again were not disappointed. Everything about the place is perfect for us, it's location, the calmness, the helpfulness of the staff, the wonderful unfussy but beautifully cooked food, the room.
It describes itself as a stress free environment and it is!

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joofsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Joofsh

Thank you for staying with us once more and that it was an enjoyable break for you. Thank you also for writing a review of your stay with us.

We look forward to your next return visit.

With best wishes,
Sabina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayo, ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

stayed here for one night b&b. everything from beginning to end was wonderful. the staff are efficient and friendly. we had dinner here also and the food was top class, as was breakfast. the hotel and grounds are beautiful. took a boat out on the lake, no charge for boat/lifejackets nor for the fly rod we borrowed! just a fabulous place with buckets of charm, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laniewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear laniewest

Thank you for staying with us earlier this month. Delighted that you enjoyed your short break and that you had the chance (and the weather) to take a row-boat out on the lake...it's a very peaceful pursuit.

We hope you'll return again.

With kind regards,
Sabina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a beautiful suite with the most beautiful view of the ocean.The room was well equipped with separate seating area with large tv/dvd,limited channels but why oh why would you come here to look at tv.Beautiful marble bathroom with a large tropical shower and a jacuzzi. Large comfortable bed and pillows.We ate lunch in which was lovely.Dinner was also top class.A hotel is only as good as the staff you put in it and Renvyle House did not come up short here either.The Barman on Saturday afternoon epitomised this,even though he was v busy manning the bar I went to ask for an ice bucket and glasses to take to our room I was prepared to wait while he got them he insisted on bringing them to the room,restaurant staff were all very friendly and professional.I have worked in the hotel business for over 25 years and know how hard it is in the current climate to please guests but even the most critical would find it hard to find fault with this beautifully located well run hotel, Thank You,can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear SNBY,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review of your mini-break.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience and I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the team here. It's great to receive feedback early in the season.

Wishing you a good year ahead and we look forward to being able to welcome you back again in the future.

With best wishes,
Sabina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Nothing about this hotel disappoints - the food, the service, the location, the comfort of the beds, all perfect for the getaway I really needed. My only complaint is that my trip was not for longer!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Adele1966,

Thank you for staying with us in September and for writing a glowing review of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

With best wishes,
Sabina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We rented one of the three houses here and are so glad we did. The view from the huge front window was breathtaking. The house we had was three bedrooms two baths, a sauna room, washer and dryer-even a deep freezer. It was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mimidarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Mimidarling,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Renvyle Strand Timeshare last September. We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday in Connemara and hope that you had a safe journey home.

With kind regards,
Sabina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renvyle
12.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
256 reviews
9.8 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
10.2 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
825 reviews
2.2 mi away
Maol Reidh Hotel
Maol Reidh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tullycross
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renvyle House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renvyle House Hotel

Property: Renvyle House Hotel
Address: North of Tully | Connemara, Renvyle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Renvyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Renvyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renvyle House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renvyle House is a four star, historic country house, first opened as a hotel in 1883 and is spectacularly located on a 150 acre estate on the shores of the Wild Atlantic Way. The hotel resort grounds include a private lake, par 3 golf course, a beach, woodlands, gardens and numerous activities on site including tennis, croquet, outdoor heated swimming pool (summer months), fly-fishing, canoeing and more. The team both in the Dining Room and in the Hotel have won many awards over the years and are most proud of our reputation for hospitality and service with a warm welcome guaranteed for every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Renvyle House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renvyle Hotel
Hotel House Renvyle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing