We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renvyle House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast(Renvyle)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baywatch B&B(Renvyle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (761)
Filter reviews
761 results
Traveler rating
470
162
72
39
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
162
72
39
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturf firesstress free zoneherb gardentennis courtsoutdoor poolthe atlantic oceanrack of lambold world charmkids clubkylemore abbeyconnemara national parkcharming hoteloysterseach eveningtop classwedding receptionbar menu
Filter
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 761 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here on the 23rd-26th as part of a large group for a pre Xmas get together, we could not have asked for a better location, the food utterly amazing from the yummy mid dinner soups to the plaice fillets with hollandaise sauce for breakfast. The amazing team of staff headed up by Phil were the best most attentive I have ever seen in a hotel we felt really cared for and am now looking forward to spending Xmas 2013 there and bringing all our family also! Cannot praise this hotel or staff more 10 out of 10!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear sarah d,

Thank you for staying with us for your pre-Christmas get together and we are delighted that you all enjoyed yourselves and the hospitality at Renvyle House.

Thank you also for taking the time to write your review and we hope we can look forward to your visit in December 2013.

Wishing you and your family a very Happy New Year.
With warm regards,

Sabina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband, two year old and myself spent a weekend here in November. It was far from our first visit and will not be our last. After a long, eventful journey we arrived in the dark, a little grumpy and tired. However, the magical moment for me is opening the old front door and stepping into the warmth from two turf fires. Once in, we lost our frayed nerves and were greeted warmly. Unlike many hotels (the clinical variety), reception is tucked away round the corner, leaving you with the impression that you have walked into someone's sitting room. We settled in and came down for a bar 'snack' in front of the fire. My husband had the sirloin and he is still raving about it. Service was friendly, efficient and our son was well catered for. In no time, the staff knew his name and he was very at home. It all feels very safe. It was so warm, we were grateful for the door opening now and then! The room was fine, still a little shabby but clean and comfortable with an amazing view. The bathrooms, in solid 'connemarble', are interesting and give an impression of faded grandeur. Breakfast was excellent, consisting of a fresh buffet and a cooked breakfast which was piping hot and perfectly cooked. After feeding the ducks we went out. We didn't do much but returned to have a bowl of seafood chowder in the library (I recommend it highly). The hotel is so comfortable and homely, it is not difficult to find a quiet spot to read, etc. Dinner was just marvelous and as good as ever. The food is excellent and so very consistent in quality. It is the standard by which we compare most restaurants and we have eaten in many, especially extensively in France. There was a play room which proved a delight for our son. We stayed here for my 40th birthday last year, in a suite and it was truly wonderful. It is our aim to stay in the room we first stayed in, just up the front stairs. We'll keep trying!!
Renvyle is an unusual hotel which I recommend to many. Some think I am on commission but I can assure that I am not! It is friendly, homely, comfortable. The setting is truly unique and you can't help feeling that you are the last stop before America... The food is superb and Tim's culinary magic means that I am happy to eat ingredients I don't especially like. The person who describes the style as good home cooking needs to think again.
It is not many hotels which are better off peak than in high season. A wet, windy day is a godsend at Renvyle.

Room Tip: In the old house if possible.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Izzywizz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Izzywizz_8,

Thank you very much for staying with us recently and delighted you, your husband and little one enjoyed your holiday. Will you thank your son for feeding the ducks as they're much hungrier in the winter months and grown-ups do not do the job as well.

Thank you also for taking the time to write such a detailed and lovely review of your stay.
We look forward to your next visit. It's a little early but we'd like to take this opportunity to wish you and your family and very happy Christmas and much happiness for 2013.

With warm wishes,
Sabina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Spent weekend here with my husband and baby, the staff could not do enough for us. The hotel had some lovely areas where you could sit and relax. There was a kids room where they could play without disturbing other guests. We ate in restaurant which was fabulous, lovely menu and food beautiful. The hotel is located on beach which is so beautiful and makes for lovely walks. The hotel itself is not new and chic but would highly recommend it. The staff are excellent and they really make your stay special.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Sue G,

Thank you very much for staying with us earlier this month and we are delighted you enjoyed your break with us and had a relaxing time.

Thank you also for taking the time to write your review.

With warm regards,
Sabina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Renvyle House Hotel is a delightful cosy little gem perched on the west coast of Connemara. It is extremely family and pet friendly, so much so that if you aren't a fan of children or dogs, I suggest giving it a wide berth during holiday periods. For us it was perfect. It had a lively kid's club from mid afternoon until, well, whenever you have had your fill of food from the restaurant and a drink from the bar. I presume this only runs during school holidays. The arts and crafts style public areas and bar have comfy sofas and armchairs huddled around smoky turf fires. Although it can sometimes be difficult to find a seat. The bedroom we were in was quite old fashioned in a 1980s way, but was spotlessly clean, and with a magnificent view from a large window overlooking connemara ponies, mountains and the Atlantic ocean. You would only go to your room to get some sleep having relaxed and done a crossword with a pint in the comfortable public areas. Outside there is a lake with some rowing boats, a small golf course, two tennis courts, a playground and some lovely little gardens and great trees for climbing.
The restaurant has a lovely feel to it, and we were very impressed with the food, which can only be described as modern Irish. (Quite normal and right to have a Carrot or Potato soup as a dish between starter and main if you ask me, reviewer from the Wirral, and delicious it was too!) From the fish to the Connemara Lamb, everything was gasping fresh, and perfectly cooked. And there is no skimping on the bountiful cheese board, which has a lovely selection of great Irish cheeses and home made crackers. Our only complaint perhaps was that the wine list needs to be refreshed. The food was delicious, and the breakfasts wide ranging, varying from crepes with fresh fruit, to kippers, Plaice with hollandaise, even pan fried lamb's liver, with of course all the traditional favourites in between. All beautifully presented. It's a very Irish experience, from the children chasing around clutching club oranges, and animals lolloping through the bar, the smokey turf fires and the wellies lined up in the porch, and the enormous portions of food. It won't be everyone's cup of tea but it sure is mine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Antoinetta,

Thank you very much for holidaying with us recently and for taking the time to write such a full and lovely review of your time with us. Thank you also for your helpful comments which we will certainly take a look at.

We are very happy you enjoyed the food, the relaxation and the ambience while you were with us.
We hope you had a safe return journey home and hope we may have the opportunity to look after you again in the future.

With best wishes,
Sabina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We got married here in Oct, and it was amazing. Most of our guests travelled and booked in for a few nights, everyone raved about the hotel and the staff and have said they will be back. As with any big event there were blips, and the hotel sorted them with ease and efficacy. The old world charm is an asset to the place, and as much of a bridezilla as I became, entering the stress free zone was great. I will be back, not just because it now holds great memories, but it is a great hotel for a stress free break, with fantastic food in a beautiful area! Thanks Cillian, Ronnie and all the staff!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlliH101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear AlliH101,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review so soon after your wedding. We are delighted that your day was a special one and that we were able to help you where possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for a relaxing break from it all! I will pass on your thanks to Cillian, Ronnie and everyone here (thank you).

With warm regards and wishing you many, many years of happiness,
Sabina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews