We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun & affordable...for a "castle"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fun & affordable...for a "castle"”
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We hadn't intended on staying in a castle on our trip but our travel agent suggested it & got us one night here (a Thurs night, weekends are either booked long in advance or are extremely expensive). It's not what I'd really call a "castle" but it does look like one & it's really kind of more like a very large manor house. But close enough for us Yanks! We had a lovely room with a view of the grounds behind the house, large bed, nice big bathroom. I'd never even seen or heard of an electric towel rack that warms your towels before we stayed here. Nice touch. We opted for the big dinner in the dining room as a treat. Very expensive but worth it! Great food & service. My husband had the beef filet steak & he said it was the best steak he's ever had - & we grew up in the midwest! High praise indeed from a dedicated carnivore! Our dinner table overlooked the river as the sun set beyond it. What a wonderful evening & night. Couldn't afford to stay there all the time but for a special treat, it was terrific.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hockeymom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    194
    70
    18
    16
See reviews for
218
755
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We stayed one night at Ballynahinch (primarily because it was so expensive). The hotel and the grounds were so beautiful its hard to describe in words. Just walking around and taking in the scenery was worth staying there, the room was beautifully well appointed and very comfortable. However, we primarily chose to stay here because we wanted to stay in a castle. I've never stayed in a castle before, but I would by no means describe this as a castle. And if you don't believe me, you can look in the "Irish Manor Homes" listing provided by the staff, in which this place is listed.

Again, it was wonderful for what it was and I would definitely recommend it. But if you're looking for a castle, I think based on pictures I've seen you may do better at Ashford or Dromoland (which are also quite expensive).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adhali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2009

My wife and I travelled by car from Dublin to Ballynahinch, an easy beautifull drive through some beautifull country side. We arrived at Ballynahinch and immediately felt at home. The rooms are spacious and well equiped, the staff are friendly, the pub cosy, the fine dining restaurant served some of the best cuisine of our 3 week trip and the scenery was absolutely spectacular. There are numerous walks around the estate and with the Irish autumn in full swing we experienced one the most scenic hikes we have ever been on, accompanied by 2 very friendly labradors. The famous sky road is in close proximaty and the country side is certainly worth a drive. Our only issue was that 2 nights is not enough! We will certainly return and stay for longer next time. The Salmon fishing season was closed, but this seems like the perfect place from where to do some fishing in summer, we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariusMalherbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byrdstown,Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

This by far was the prettiest areas that we stayed at in Ireland,The Castle was perfect and our room was clean.The bed was very comfy and the staff was very helpful.We were close to a few areas to sightsee.We will go back here if we travel to Ireland again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jordancj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

Ballynahinch is out of the beaten path but is well worth the drive! It is more modern in decor and accomodations than some other castle hotels in Ireland. It is absolutely breathtaking! The views are of the mountains, landscaped footpathes and the river that runs through the property is the icing on the cake. Our room was huge with 2 bay windows with perfect views. The bathroom was so clean, modern and big. There is a castle pub with a fireplace and cozy feel that offers a bar menu for dinner if you don't want to go to the restaurant for the 5-course dinner. We opted to have the award winning dinner and were not disappointed!! It was excellent. The service all the way around at this location was incredible!! The staff is friendly, helpful, and have great personalities. We didn't want our time here to end.

This castle is near Oughterard, which is a charming little town and in the other direction is Clifden. This was a great spot for scenic drives, shopping and food.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelersheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2009

My husband and I are just returning from our honeymoon in Ireland. We are please sure say we were enchanted with this hotel. The bed was comfortable, the room was huge, and the bathroom was fantastic. As the price does seem high, we were very pleased to see that we got our money's worth. As far as the food goes, we ate in the pub, and it was the best food of our entire trip. The walk around the grounds was amazing. The only issue we did have was the brownish water in the bathroom. We had such a fantastic stay, it didn't make any difference in the world. Fantastic stay!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutolater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Staying at the castle was supposed to be the highlight of our 2 week vacation and it was by far the most expensive place we stayed at. The hotel itself was beautiful, as well as the grounds which were a treat to walk around. The room was the best part of the experience with a large bed, huge bathroom and no outside noise to speak of.

The staff was decent at best as they were very quick with us and seemed to just want to say whatever they had to say to get us away from the desk. People have questions, be it on the area, possible tours or directions and the lady behind the desk and for the price's paid at this hotel, they should be bending over backwards for us. The food was way overpriced and not even remotely worth it.

We decided to call it a night and use the large bathtub in the bedroom. However, the water flowed so slowly that it took about 45 minutes (no joke) to fill up about 75% of the tub and by that time I didn't even want to use it anymore. Plus, there was some infestation of little black flying bugs that somehow get into the room while we were out for the day. The were lots of signs in the rooms to keep the windows closed at night, but we never opened the windows so having hundreds of bugs everywhere was not pleasant. Breakfast was unspectactular and as a few previous posters have mentioned, service was terrible.

Overall, the hotel was nice and we loved walking the grounds. But we could have just visited ourselves, walked around the hotel grounds and then stayed somewhere else and saved over 400 US dollars. They draw you in with a traditional "castle" experience but in the end it is just not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jstarks03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recess
24.3 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,495 reviews
7.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
24.7 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
9.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
228 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lough Inagh Lodge
Lough Inagh Lodge
#1 of 1 in Recess
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballynahinch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballynahinch Castle Hotel

Property: Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Address: Ballinafad | Connemara, Recess, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Recess
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Recess
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballynahinch Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 star hotel located on a 450 acre estate with 48 bedrooms & suites overlooking the river, mountain or both. The Fisherman's pub serves lunch and dinner by the open log fire, dinner is also served in the award winning Owenmore Restaurant. On site, miles of scenic river & lakeside walks, bicycles to explore the area, fly fishing and clay shooting. Locally we have a boat trip from Roundstone fishing village which includes a trip to a deserted island & lobster fishing and great hiking. Connemara National Park, Connemara Golf Club and Clifden are all a short drive as is the ferry & airport to the Aran Islands. Ballynahinch Castle is the ideal base for touring Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ballynahinch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel Ireland/County Galway - Recess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing