We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Castle we stayed at in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Recess
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2009

The setting for Ballynahinch Castle is something like you would see in a fairy tale. There is a sizable stream on one side of the castle and a mountain on the other. The castle is off the beaten path, which makes it all that more charming.
Our room was a very large, well layed out suite. We found it to be extremely clean and very nicely decorated with a great view of the stream. We were upgraded to the suite when they found out it was our honeymoon.
We had the Irish breakfast and dinner during our stay. The food was absolutely amazing and the best of all the hotels that we stayed at during our trip.
The staff was very friendly and accomodating during our stay. We highly recommend this as a place to stay when visiting Ireland!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odaytrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,195 - 1,201 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2009

The beauty of the surroundings is inspirational - the castle itself is a step into the past. The welcome and quality of service is top drawer making this a most desirable spot to visit.
We enjoyed tremendous fine dining - the waiting staff were attentive and knowledgeable and breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stiofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and had an amazing honeymoon. The grounds are breathtaking, food is excellent and we loved our room at the waters edge with doors leading out to it from our room. We ate every night in the restaurant which is sublime. Breakfasts however were rather lame, decent enough buffet but boring fried selection if you wanted a cooked breakfast. Service was mostly excellent bar one rather unhelpful lady although as other reviewers have said the staff tend to be in the room behind the front desk and waiting for the key was rather tedious. We especially enjoyed all the rooms with open fires to have a drink next to or read. Patrick introduced himself to everyone at evening meal on 2 of the nights we were there which was wonderful and was very informative and interesting.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBandLMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

The castle itself was beautiful, situated on a beautiful river overlooking mountains. We stayed in room 1, which was the largest room on the floor. King size bed (two doubles pushed together),separate changing room and updated bathroom. Flat screen TV was nice. The room was comfortable but the view was terrible, overlooking the parking lot. It wasn't as quiet as expected either.

Service was not what we expected. Every time we approached the front desk (from check in to check out), there was nobody there. Seemed like staff utilized the room behind the front desk more than being at the desk. To have to wait every time to either drop off or pick up the room key got taxing. It's easier to keep the key with you so you don't have to wait.

Breakfast was decent. Not much variety so we basically ate scrambled eggs, bacon and toast every day. Buffet was good, with frest fruits, breads and cheeses.

Castle has two restaurants. We made reservations for the Pub the first night, expecting pub-like food. When we saw the menu, we left. Definitely not pub-food. Cheapest dish was 22 euro. Look at the menu first before choosing to eat here. Town is only 10 minute drive with plenty of eating options.

The best part of this castle was its grounds. We spent an entire day walking its paths. It is absolutely beautiful and highly recommend taking a day to do this!

Location was good, only 10 minutes from the nearest town, Clifden. Also, an hour from the ferry to the Aran Islands.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CariStroudsburg_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

With a relative of mine, I used this hotel as a base for a while to explore the Connemara region. Throughout our stay, we were constantly amazed by the beautiful and tranquil grounds, the wonderful food, the cozy and peaceful atmosphere in the hotel pub - the list goes on.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in Ireland for a quick pit stop or for a lengthy romantic getaway. Though I travelled with family, I would happily return with my partner if given the opportunity.

Though the location is not the most convenient - twenty minutes to nearby Clifden, forty-five minutes to Galway City - the scenery and privacy make this well worth the drive.

I hope to return within the next couple years, and hope to book room #41 again, at the back of the property. Stunning river views and a private location made it well worth the extra walk from the perfect and comfortable lobby - we were initially given a room with a single queen bed though we were two men from the same family, but this was no fault of the hotel's, as we failed to specify this upon booking. Our eventual room ((aforementioned #41)) had a king bed which detached into two smaller beds, and we were much happier with this.

I express my sincere gratitude to the management of Ballynahinch for giving me the best experience possible for my last week of travel in your beautiful country.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azn-210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

If you want to experience tranquility, relaxation & consume glutinous delights whilst taking in some of the most beautiful scenery in Connemara this is the place to stay! This is a dignified elegant unpretentious country retreat with an interesting history. Staff are so helpful and nice! The Fisherman's Bar provides a location in the Castle for a drink by a crackling fire. There are lots of long country walks around the area. A trip to the Cleggan Riding school is worth a trip for those with equestrian interests as cantering along the beach was one of the highlights of this brief sojourn. i have been twice to Ballynahinch and i am looking forward to a third stay later this year. Great location to explore the delights of Connemara by car if you manage to pull yourself away from the Castle.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieee_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We stayed here the night we got engaged and again for our honeymoon. Truly a magical spot. A framed print of the castle how hangs in our home to remind us of one of the best places on earth.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recess
7.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
24.3 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,793 reviews
9 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Clifden Station House
6.5 mi away
Lough Inagh Lodge
Lough Inagh Lodge
#2 of 2 in Recess
254 reviews
11.8 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballynahinch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballynahinch Castle Hotel

Address: Ballinafad | Connemara, Recess H91 F4A7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Recess
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Recess
Price Range: $215 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballynahinch Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 star hotel located on a 700 acre estate with 48 bedrooms & suites overlooking the river, mountain or both. The Fisherman's pub serves lunch and dinner by the open log fire, dinner is also served in the award winning Owenmore Restaurant. On site, miles of scenic river & lakeside walks, bicycles to explore the area, fly fishing and clay shooting. Locally we have a boat trip from Roundstone fishing village which includes a trip to a deserted island & lobster fishing and great hiking. Connemara National Park, Connemara Golf Club and Clifden are all a short drive as is the ferry & airport to the Aran Islands. Ballynahinch Castle is the ideal base for touring Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ballynahinch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel Ireland/County Galway - Recess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing