We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food & service - but you do pay for them!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Recess
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I decided that as we are on honeymoon we should treat ourselves to a really excellent meal in a stunning location at least once during the week - Ballynahinch Castle was the obvious choice. In terms of service & food quality (& presentation) this could not be faulted - however it is VERY expensive & not something we would repeat in a hurry - perhaps for our wedding anniversary!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ClaremcDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

827 - 833 of 1,423 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

at old ballynahinch, but room’s in the “castle” are one. my mistake, i chose to stay in the “castle” as a more authentic visit. the rooms are tight, as expected, but there’s little circulation and in our room a relatively poor view on to the parking lot. if i were to do it again, i’d certainly pay to stay in the more modern rooms. i’ve done that before in one or two of these old manor houses and thought i really should have skipped the amenities in favor of a more “real” visit. at ballynahinch that’s not the right decision, at least for us.

the grounds are beautiful and it really pays to arrive early and take a stroll across the river. not only do you get a great view of the grand house, but you settle in to the environment and experience a bit of the past. we also enjoyed a drink in the common area a couple hours before dinner and met two couples, one from ireland the second from the states. the enjoyable conversation lent itself to an overall thoroughly enjoyable afternoon.

the most important recommendation i can give to others who follow is to prearrange for the evening meal. it was without question the best we had in ireland, which includes stays in three other castles, two of them “real” castles. not only were the choices outstanding, but every course was scrumptious. as usual, my wife and ordered different items and shared what we ordered, so we were able to sample as much as possible. there wasn’t a thing we ate that disappointed, even the wine was just fine at a very reasonable price given the setting.

Room Tip: as above, i'd stay anywhere other than the classic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmacSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

On a trip to Ireland, we were lucky to be invited by the Mason clan to a gathering, dinner and night at Ballynahinch Castle. While it was some of the hottest weather in Ireland's history, the humidity was still very low but the sun was high very late - summer, after all. The entrance is much like many stately homes but never have I seen such a trout stream, so close to the far north Atlantic Ocean's pristine water, with incredible ancient mountains surrounding the river's floodplain. Our room was on the third floor over the front door looking at the mountains and the lawn. The staff were incredibly attentive, it was perfectly appointed. Dinner that night was spectacular local farm-to-table fare of local seasonal fishy and game, perfectly presented and served. We all retired to the castle pub for a night of singing and festivites. After sleeping in the next morning we went to the end of a sumptuous breakfast and on our way.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Splendidly located hotel. Superb grounds, excellent food (don't miss the seafood chowder), a great pub and good staff. But rooms a little less great for the price, although spacious: awkward shower, a bit creaky, and view wasn't amazing. Still, a lovely place we'd return to.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Tucked in close to a rolling hillside, Ballynahinch Castle feels like a homey country estate. Not as fancy as some of Ireland's more prestigious castles, nonetheless, I enjoyed my stay here very much. The breakfast buffet was a great assortment of foods; freshly made yogurt, fruits and breads...in fact, the Irish Soda bread was just fantastic, especially paired with the fluffiest, best tasting eggs I've ever had.
The rooms were very comfortable.
I enjoyed walking the grounds, in April, the heather is in bloom.
All in all, this was a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nice building, well maintained, in a great riverside setting. Staff were lovely. Hotel restaurant was good.

Very relaxed and enjoyable.

Exceptionally expensive, but then we booked in at two hours notice after walking out on another supposedly-high-quality nearby property that was too grim for words.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Had a lovely visit here and got upgrade to suite which was beautiful. The dinner is superb as is breakfast. A place to come to for tranquility and fresh air while the midgets can be annoying so take spray with you. Lovely walks and music in the bar which was excellent. We will return.

Room Tip: Room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJLIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recess
7.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
24.3 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,809 reviews
9 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
6.5 mi away
Lough Inagh Lodge
Lough Inagh Lodge
#2 of 2 in Recess
254 reviews
6.7 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballynahinch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballynahinch Castle Hotel

Address: Ballinafad | Connemara, Recess H91 F4A7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Recess
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Recess
Price Range: $221 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballynahinch Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 star hotel located on a 700 acre estate with 48 bedrooms & suites overlooking the river, mountain or both. The Fisherman's pub serves lunch and dinner by the open log fire, dinner is also served in the award winning Owenmore Restaurant. On site, miles of scenic river & lakeside walks, bicycles to explore the area, fly fishing and clay shooting. Locally we have a boat trip from Roundstone fishing village which includes a trip to a deserted island & lobster fishing and great hiking. Connemara National Park, Connemara Golf Club and Clifden are all a short drive as is the ferry & airport to the Aran Islands. Ballynahinch Castle is the ideal base for touring Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ballynahinch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel Ireland/County Galway - Recess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing