We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even 3 star rooms- who has written previous reviews?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Recess
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

What sad and tired accommodation in this stunning setting. It was way overpriced for the so called luxury room, no air con in the hotel and our room on top floor, in Ireland's current heat wave even the windows open at night did not help. they have a monopoly on coach tours as they can accommodate a large group, so if you want to be overrun with Americans who just love this type of 'old' place then by all means book here..... We were sorry we did not check out the lovely looking accommodation in nearby Clifden . Our loss.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank kiwiguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

810 - 816 of 1,388 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our two days at the Ballynahinch were truly delightful! Our room had a picture perfect view of the river surrrounded be lush green trees. It was one of the most peaceful and relaxing places we've stayed. But what was most impressionable about this hotel was the amazing service we received. Arvan, the manager, is THE man! He sure knows how to run a fine establishment and to make his guests feel like royalty. He made our stay an exceptionally memorable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank room9guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Ballynahinch Castle is in a great location in the beautiful Connemara area in the West of Ireland. The walks that they have around the grounds are peaceful and offer wonderful views of the surrounding mountains and the castle itself. The room had a great view and was nice and cozy, nothing spectacular about the size of the room or bathroom. We enjoyed sitting in the lounge area and listening to live music (one night) and ordering drinks. The reason I didn't give this hotel a 5 star - both nights that we sat in the lounge area, a man in a suit (who we assumed was the manager) walked around greeting guests. The lounge area is small, so there aren't a whole lot of people in there at one time, and both nights, he completely bypassed us. I believe that this was on purpose, and did not appreciate being "snubbed." We are a young couple, but we deserve the same hospitality as anyone else. It left a bad taste in our mouth. Other than that, the rest of the staff was very friendly.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ssreview480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Ballynahinch. Our room was very clean and had a view of the river. The Fisherman's Pub had great food and we ate there every night for dinner. The breakfast was very tasty and it was traditional Irish. I loved this hotel and I will stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank FamTimeFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Having travelled from Barna to Kylemore Abbey we decided to go further to Ballinahinch Calstle for lunch. I was most disappointed that the hotel did not seem to cater for coeliacs. I ordered chowder & gluten free bread to learn the chowder was not gluten free just their vegetable soup was gluten free & they had no bread just rice cakes. If the vegetable soup can be gluten free why can the chowder not be gluten free also. My partner had the pate which he said was absolutely delicious and looked fantastic & plentiful. In todays environment when so many people have an allergy to wheat is this fantastic hotel not catering for them?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eilis186609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for our first night in Ireland. Delta had lost our luggage and the hotel staff when above and beyond to route our bags to our next destination. Supper and breakfast were delightful and they even brought up an after supper tea and dessert to our room. Rooms are comfortable with all the amenities one could ask for. They had fires burning in the common area fireplaces which was a lovely touch. Beds were some of the most comfortable we had while in Ireland. My mother’s was a bit more firm than the one in our room. They are more towards the typical European beds, not what we are accustom to in the US but again more comfortable than most in Ireland.
The grounds were beautiful and location was very nice as well.
Thank you for a wonderful stay and we would definitely recommend and stay again (for longer next time)!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had two rooms and spent one night at Ballynahinch Castle. It is not quite a castle but it is a beautiful estate and a large elegant manor house. The rooms are nice and very quiet but the carpet is old and needs to be replaced. The bathrooms are updated and clean.

We traveled with our children so we needed two rooms. The first room we had was above the kitchen and after dinner we went back to our room and could hear the dishes clanking around and loud conversations. We called the front desk and they immediately moved us to a different room, which was lovely and very quiet.

We had the 4 course meal in the dining room and the food was excellent. Breakfast the next morning was wonderful too. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We especially love seeing the friendly Labradors wandering around outside and in the lobby. When we travel we miss our dogs and like to have a pup to pet. This was a splurge but worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OutForTheJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recess
24.3 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,719 reviews
7.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
6.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
308 reviews
11.8 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
741 reviews
7.7 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballynahinch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballynahinch Castle Hotel

Address: Ballinafad | Connemara, Recess, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Recess
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Recess
Price Range: $227 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballynahinch Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 star hotel located on a 700 acre estate with 48 bedrooms & suites overlooking the river, mountain or both. The Fisherman's pub serves lunch and dinner by the open log fire, dinner is also served in the award winning Owenmore Restaurant. On site, miles of scenic river & lakeside walks, bicycles to explore the area, fly fishing and clay shooting. Locally we have a boat trip from Roundstone fishing village which includes a trip to a deserted island & lobster fishing and great hiking. Connemara National Park, Connemara Golf Club and Clifden are all a short drive as is the ferry & airport to the Aran Islands. Ballynahinch Castle is the ideal base for touring Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ballynahinch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel Ireland/County Galway - Recess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing