We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let first impressions sway your opinion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Recess
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Don't let first impressions sway your opinion”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

You will have two impressions right away. First, it is pretty much in the middle of nowhere; we took the "back road" off of the main highway, which consisted of a one-lane two-way winding road, so if you are not sure of your driving find the main entrance. Secondly, don't be deceived by what they call the "lobby", which consists of two couches by a desk. As we sat there we wondered what we were in for.
However, once you get to the room you will be impressed. It was very modern, quiet, and ours overlooked the river. You can go hiking around the grounds or just enjoy one of the quiet areas to read. Breakfast was very nice and service acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExperiencedTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POFlahertyGM, General Manager at Ballynahinch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear visitor,

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and discovered that a visit to Connemara is worth the journey. The hotel lobby is indeed the hall of the house built in 1756, I am delighted that you had time to explore the estate. Do come and visit again soon. Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    215
    72
    18
    17
See reviews for
236
798
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went here on our honeymoon and it was well worth the expense. We had one of the smaller rooms but by small I mean to say we had a king sized bed, desk, dresser, love seat, two chairs and plenty of room to walk around. The staff was accommodating. The grounds are gorgeous and there is no lack of outdoor adventures for all levels. Breakfast was typical of Irish bed and breakfasts. The castle is within drive distance (10 mi minutes) to a town for shopping if you're interested in that. I would recommend this hotel if for no other reason than to wander the grounds, lakes, river and surrounding mountains. Peaceful, tranquil, gorgeous.

Room Tip: We were in the maharajah room (room 6). Lots of space, view of the woods and part of the river. Beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POFlahertyGM, General Manager at Ballynahinch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi Beth, Thanks for your lovely review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you had a fantastic Honeymoon, come back for your anniversary!! Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHANNESBURG
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Warm friendly and old. I would not call this a Castle is you have been to Dromoland Catle however it has a spectacular setting and right on a beautiful river with typical old stone bridges. Lovely walks and the breakfasts great. Had a meal in the pub which was excellent . Happy caring staff I would go back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUESUEJOHANNESBURG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POFlahertyGM, General Manager at Ballynahinch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi Sue, Thanks for your kind words, I am so pleased that you got to enjoy the estate and our food. Come back soon. Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Ballynahinch Castle Hotel for one night. Connemara is an absolutely beautiful area and I am glad we were able to stay in the heart of it. The hotel grounds are beautiful and when you arrive they provide you with a map of the grounds and a description of things you can do - including walks and how long each activity could take. I read in a prior review that the staff did not give them any ideas of things to do but they must not have asked because there was a couple in front of us when we were checking out that asked for ideas and the hostess gave them all kinds of places to go to including a map and brochure. Luckily I came prepared with my travel book and gps but if you need any ideas I am sure they can point you in the right direction. If you are planning on staying here I highly recommend a trip to the Kylemore Abbey and a drive up to the Sky Road. We stayed in a suite which had an access door where you can sit out by the river. If you are a nature lover then this place is definitely for you. The bathroom was very large and included two showers and a bathtub. The staff were helpful and friendly, especially the young gentleman who served us lunch. The breakfast was good - no complaints at all there. Overall the hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yaaburnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POFlahertyGM, General Manager at Ballynahinch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi there, it sounds like you had a great trip to Connemara and Ballynahinch. I am so pleased that you found the team to be so helpful and caring, they are a great bunch. Come back soon, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was by far our favorite Castle stay.
Located in the Connemera Region of Ireland, you are surrounded by nature and beautiful scenery.
We stayed two nights and should have stayed many more nights had we known what a gem of a find this was.
This was the only castle stay where we felt like we were in a castle that had not been too modernized. The standard room was small, quaint and very comfortable. The bathroom had a separate shower from soaking tub. There are no elevators, but the staff insisted on carrying all of our luggage up to our room on the third floor.
We had an amazing view of the river and the moon setting over the river provided breathtaking pictures.
The breakfast was excellent and our dinner was definitely five star. The chef prepared dinner with any special requests (husband is a vegetarian) and the presentation and taste was superb!
There are nature trails surrounding the property and they offer self guided or guided tours. We chose a self guided 30 minute walking tour which we extended by 60 minutes as every bend in the corner was more breathtaking than the next.
The men in our group went fishing on the property (in the only rainy day of the year) and had a wonderful time. They offer guided or self guided fishing trips of trout and salmon and the guides are extremely helpful to those that decide on self guided trips.
We will definitely be back to Ballynahinch when our travels bring us back to Ireland. It's an amazing, enchanting location and property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POFlahertyGM, General Manager at Ballynahinch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Annette, Thank you for your very kind review. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so much, particularly the restaurant. What better way to deal with the rain in Connemara than go Fly-Fishing! Come back soon! Patrick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have recently returned from a long weekend at Ballynahinch Castle. We have visited this hotel several times over the last 13 years,and I'm at a loss to know why I haven't reviewed it before!
The hotel is beautifully situated in the wilds of Connemara, Co Galway, with extensive grounds including lakes and rivers. Many guests enjoy participating in the available country pursuits including salmon fishing available on the estate.
The staff at Ballynahinch are led by General Manager Patrick O'Flaherty, who has a very visible presence around the hotel. The hotel has a welcoming and informal atmosphere and all staff we met were friendly and helpful.
When making our reservation, 6 weeks or so prior to our visit, only 2 rooms were available, (a deluxe or suite) both in the newer part of the hotel. We decided to go for the suite and were not disappointed in any way with room 41:Derryvickrune.
It featured a large living room, with sofa and armchair, which overlooked the river. Stunning views but we didn't manage to glimpse the otters!
The bedroom was also a good size, with a large and very comfortable bed. The bathroom had double sinks and a seperate shower, and a small lobby acted as a dressing area with wardrobe and chest of drawers. Bathrobes and slippers were also provided. Wifi (free!) is available in the rooms, but is apparently weather dependent. We could only get access in the bedroom or hall! Both the bedroom and living room had televisions and there was an iPod docking station too. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms, (which would be lovely,) but these are available in the pub.
I had been advised the room hadn't had a recent refurbishment, (as some of the rooms in the main house have), and it did look slightly worn in a couple of places, but it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
We dined in the restaurant on 2 nights (dinner €60pp) and the hotel "pub" on 2 nights. The food is extremely good, and dining in the restaurant is a lovely experience, which offers excellent food.
Breakfasts were of a very high quality with cooked items to order and a buffet containing cereals, breads, fruit and juices. My request for assam tea proved a little challenging at times, but we always got there eventually!
The hotel is situated in extensive grounds and shooting and fishing are available in season. There are also 3 different walks in the grounds, and guided walks in the area are also available (£) Picnics can be provided.
The hotel is very keen on green issues and puts its money where its mouth is with amongst other initatives solar panels and a charging point for electric cars.
In the past we have taken advantage of special offers available, but as this was high season, none were available.
The surrounding area of Connemara is stunning with plenty to explore and enjoy.
If you are looking for a relaxed country house hotel in peaceful surroundings, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs Picky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POFlahertyGM, General Manager at Ballynahinch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi S. Wow, what a great review! Thank you so much for all your kind words, it was great to have you back again and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Be well, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

As part of the Ted Hughes Weekend has lunch at the Ballynahinch Castle Hotel. The welcome was good, and the setting is splendid. Sadly the 20 euro lunch was short on quantity and skimpy quality. Attentive service just does not make up for an inadequate buffet, a limited supply of bread, offered from a basket. Value for money it was not.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank storym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POFlahertyGM, General Manager at Ballynahinch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear visitor. Thank you for your observations regarding lunch. I am so sorry to hear that you felt it inadequate. I will review again the offering and see how this came to be. We would normally error on the side of caution in the preparation for such an event and to have insufficient is disappointing. I do apologize. Thank you once more. Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recess
24.3 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,598 reviews
7.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
9.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
12.0 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
833 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lough Inagh Lodge
Lough Inagh Lodge
#2 of 2 in Recess
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballynahinch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballynahinch Castle Hotel

Property: Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Address: Ballinafad | Connemara, Recess, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Recess
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Recess
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballynahinch Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 star hotel located on a 700 acre estate with 48 bedrooms & suites overlooking the river, mountain or both. The Fisherman's pub serves lunch and dinner by the open log fire, dinner is also served in the award winning Owenmore Restaurant. On site, miles of scenic river & lakeside walks, bicycles to explore the area, fly fishing and clay shooting. Locally we have a boat trip from Roundstone fishing village which includes a trip to a deserted island & lobster fishing and great hiking. Connemara National Park, Connemara Golf Club and Clifden are all a short drive as is the ferry & airport to the Aran Islands. Ballynahinch Castle is the ideal base for touring Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ballynahinch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel Ireland/County Galway - Recess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing