We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Country Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Recess
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Casual Country Elegance”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night (not nearly long enough) at Ballynahinch and had a wonderful experience. This was our fourth visit to this hotel and it surely will not be our last. Ballynahinch was not on our initial itinerary this holiday as we were traveling to a different part of the country. However, we abruptly decided to change course a pay General Manager Patrick O'Flaherty and staff a visit. As always, Patrick and the staff were quite accommodating. They even went so far as to assign us to our "usual room" with luxury unrivaled and views of the river and mountains. The attention to detail the staff possesses is extraordinary. Patrick personally greeted us, as is always the case and sent some drinks our way. He is a prince of a man! He certainly possesses the requisite skills necessary to perform his duties optimally.

The breakfast was fabulous in all respects. The menu is quite diverse so finding something you will like is not a problem.

The hotel is ideally situated to tour the Western part of Ireland. The hotel has wonderful views of the river and mountains.

We will be returning to Ballynahinch in the next 12-months or so and will certainly be staying at least three nights. If you are looking for a luxurious property with excellent, unpretentious service I recommend Ballynahinch. You will not be sorry.

Room Tip: Opt for a riverside suite; it is well worth the expenditure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James1117428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POFlahertyGM, General Manager at Ballynahinch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
James it was great to see you both again and thank you for all your kind words. I hope you had a good trip home. Just drop us a line when you want to make your next booking. Look forward to seeing you soon. Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    215
    72
    18
    17
See reviews for
236
798
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked a room overlook river and instead got a room over looking the roof. The room was dusty which made are allergies act up. The staff was not very friendly and we had to ask where breakfast was and when, never told. When we went to check-in our room wasn't available, no offer to suggest things to do.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miami7820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POFlahertyGM, General Manager at Ballynahinch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest,
I was so sorry to read of your impressions of Ballynahinch. It seems we did not meet our normal standards when you visited. I would very much like to hear more detail of your experience and would be pleased if you contacted me directly. Thank you for letting me know, Patrick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week in Ireland spent at the Ballynahinch Castle Hotel, using it as our base to explore the West coast. A perfect choice in every respect. An oasis in the middle of the surrounding barrens (which are breathtakingly rugged and beautiful). The grounds alone are spectacular to explore! The rooms were lovely and clean, with incredible views (we stayed in a classic room for 4 nights, superior for the last 2). The food was excellent! Best breakfast (cold and hot). The food in the pub was so good that we ate there nearly every night, knowing we would get a delicious meal. The staff was always friendly, informative and helpful - willing to take the time to make you feel at home - in a word - impeccable! It was also refreshing to stay at a hotel which takes meticulous care to retain its historic charm and warm character, untouched by the cold hand of modern spa and convention "facilities". The only complaint, and this isn't a big one, was the slow dial-up Internet connection to keep in touch with the outside world. Mind you, that small frustration may have been on purpose - it keeps you focused on enjoying the natural old-world splendors of this not-to-be-missed experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiaBrianHeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POFlahertyGM, General Manager at Ballynahinch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Brian,
Thank you for your lovely review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. After a week you really get under the surface of Connemara and Ballynahinch and I am so pleased that you had such a good time. WiFi by radio wave is not the fastest; we hope to have an upgrade available soon. Come back! Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The castle is lovely. Plan to explore the grounds during your stay. It is like walking through a park. Our room was large and very comfortable. CAn't say enough about the quality of service. From the time you check in to checking out someone is always available to help.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POFlahertyGM, General Manager at Ballynahinch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi Sandra,
Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the grounds and that the team looked after you so well. Patrick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the beginning of May in the original building. We were 2 adults and a 5 year old. We had a llovely corner room with windows on both sides with views of greenery and water. The building and grounds are beautiful, we enjoyed numerous lengthy walks on the property. The breakfasts were nice and the staff was helpful and friendly. We hope to return when our son is old enough to participate in the fly fishing lessons (for ages 12 and up). We would have been happy to stay longer, it was very relaxing.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank thirstybursty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POFlahertyGM, General Manager at Ballynahinch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi there in Seattle. Thank you for coming to stay with us. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay so much, please do come back and get your son fishing, my boy caught his first trout at 6 years old! Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a weekend at Ballynahinch and during the time were able to try much of what it has to offer. The building itself has an authentic "old world" feel; they manage to keep it beautifully maintained while protecting the traditional layout, furnishings and ambiance. The staff are exceptionally friendly and the place has a bustling atmosphere which makes it much more relaxed and warmly welcoming than many of those east coast "golf and spa" resorts which regrettably dominate the five-star market in Ireland. We ate one evening and one lunchtime in the bar and the food there was great: hearty dishes and good value. We also ate one evening in the restaurant which is very impressive indeed; local ingredients cooked to top quality standards. And breakfast is a similarly five-star start for your day. We would particularly recommend taking one of the guided walks along the trails; we spent a fantastic day exploring along the riverbanks and through the forest and learned a tremendous amount from our very knowledgeable guide about the fascinating local history and the place of the castle in it. A highpoint was the boat-trip out to the ruin on the island in the lake and the chance to plant a tree as part of their sustainability efforts. So pretty faultless all round really; if you can afford it (and it is worth every penny) then this surely has to be one of the best hotels in all of Ireland.

Room Tip: the older rooms facing the front are a little dark but have a great view of the mountains while some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POFlahertyGM, General Manager at Ballynahinch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi Firbolog! Thank you for a great review. I am so pleased that you got to really engage with Ballynahinch while here and that you enjoyed your hike and tree planting. It sound like you made the most of your stay, come back soon, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

From the moment we arrived at this beautiful old hotel, we were made to feel at home in a way that only the Irish can manage. The hotel itself dates from the mid-eighteenth century and has a fascinating history, which the convivial general manager, Patrick O'Flaherty, is only too happy to relate. The rooms and corridors are spotlessly clean and well furnished and the views from the rooms delightful, even through the obligatory mist and rain. One doesn't go to County Galway for the weather!
The best part of our three night stay, however, was the food. We ate in the "Fisherman's pub" on our first night and then in the main restaurant, twice. Fantastic!
A decent whisky, or a sublime pint of Guinness, in front of a roaring fire was just what the doctor ordered and was a fitting finale to the beautiful lake and riverside walks. It seems many famous people use this hotel when filming or performing in the area. I can understand why!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanhReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POFlahertyGM, General Manager at Ballynahinch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi Alanah, I was so pleased to read your review! Thank you for saying such nice things about us. The team in the kitchen are particularly pleased that you enjoyed the food so much. Come back soon, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recess
24.3 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,598 reviews
7.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
9.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
12.0 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
833 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lough Inagh Lodge
Lough Inagh Lodge
#2 of 2 in Recess
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballynahinch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballynahinch Castle Hotel

Property: Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Address: Ballinafad | Connemara, Recess, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Recess
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Recess
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballynahinch Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 star hotel located on a 700 acre estate with 48 bedrooms & suites overlooking the river, mountain or both. The Fisherman's pub serves lunch and dinner by the open log fire, dinner is also served in the award winning Owenmore Restaurant. On site, miles of scenic river & lakeside walks, bicycles to explore the area, fly fishing and clay shooting. Locally we have a boat trip from Roundstone fishing village which includes a trip to a deserted island & lobster fishing and great hiking. Connemara National Park, Connemara Golf Club and Clifden are all a short drive as is the ferry & airport to the Aran Islands. Ballynahinch Castle is the ideal base for touring Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ballynahinch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel Ireland/County Galway - Recess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing