We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picture Perfect Connemara Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lough Inagh Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lough Inagh Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recess
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect Connemara Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2005

Just completed a tour of Connemara with my partner and our stay at the Lough Inagh Lodge Hotel was definitely the highlight. The setting is picture postcard perfect (looking out over the beautiful Lough Inagh to the the Twelve Pins mountains). The ambience is of genuine hospitality, with all the hotel staff giving you the sense of being committed to their jobs and that going out of their way to help you is second nature to them. The room we stayed in was also superb with a king size bed and the nice touch of an ante-chamber/dressing room en-route to the spacious bathroom. Although we didn't have a front-view room (highly desirable if you can swing it!), this wasn't a problem since the tables and chairs out front meant the best way to drink in the view was to sit out front with a pint of Guinness or G&T. Topping this off was the restaurant which not only served up excellent fare in the evening but also gave us the best and most varied breakfast menu we had enjoyed on our tour.

As someone who had visited Connemara regularly and wanted to share the spirit of the place with my girlfriend, this was the perfect place. It is a bit isolated (the village of Recess is 4 miles away and is little more than a tourist shop) but that is one of essential charms of Connemara. For city-dwellers like ourselves it gives a fantastic sense of space. It more than made up for the disappointment of our stay at the Abbeyglen Castle Hotel (see separate review) which on paper had more recommendations and cost significantly more but had none of the simple magic of the Lough Inagh Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Eoghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    24
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
34
117
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2005

We hosted our son's wedding brunch at Lough Inagh Lodge and Maire O'Connor and staff made sure that everything was perfect!! We were from all over the USA, and this wonderful location was the perfect choice! We plan to go back this fall!!

  • Stayed March 2003
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2005

Family of four, two young teens, Yanks transferred to Ireland for the year. Traveling a great deal, we stay at 4 to 5 star. Have been all around Ireland, and this is more then a B&B. Lough Inagh is a great small hotel with a B&B feel in their service, decor, and the literary names on the doors-- touches like that. Unforgettable views (but to reach out and touch them is a hundred yard at best) donkeys grazing in front of the lake which sits below the mountains as someone drives sheep down the motor route. Very spacious and immaculate rooms with views and a large king that was very comfortable, very big bathroom, not a walk-in shower but a huge tub with bubble bath and the shower is wonderful. Cozy pub. Great friendly service, late, late arrival--whatever you need, they seem to always there to help if you have many questions or want to book something like horseback riding, hiking to one of st. patrick's spots, or fishing (11 pd salmon!) or anything else, really, like windsurfing or waterskiing. We went to Kylemore Abbey and local tourist attractions as well, and a couple of gift shops for Connamara marble knick knacks and crafts and such. Connemara is incredible and unique with a beach that looks like it came out of the Carribean, we found odd eggs, sea urchin skeletons, mother of pearl shells, and well, just an abundance of shells, white sand, turquoise water and an otter with a lucky strike of drift wood and also the occasional friendly soul that lets you know that you're not alone at the end of the world. This place is quintissential Ireland with the dramatic landscape (more drama then Kerry and as beautiful), wonderful hotel, and not to be missed. Really.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2004

The Lough Inach Lodge Hotel is our little piece of heaven ! My family has stayed there 5 times during the past few years and we find it the most magnificent part of the world. A tranquil and beautiful setting with superior survice and food which is why we keep coming back !
As one of the Irish sayings go: " When God made time, he made a lot of it ........" so make a trip to Lough Inach and enjoy!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2004

Highly Recommended! One of the most relaxing places I have ever been. Perfect for that "get away from it all" break. Amazing setting, breath taking scenery, very comfortable accomodation, delicous food and excellent, friendly service.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recess
7.0 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
9.7 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
12.1 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
11.9 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
12.3 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Inagh Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Inagh Lodge

Property: Lough Inagh Lodge
Address: R344, Recess, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Recess
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recess
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Inagh Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lough Inagh Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Inagh Hotel Recess
Lough Inagh Lodge Ireland/County Galway - Recess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing