We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility, chill-out, great food, great service, unbeatable location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lough Inagh Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lough Inagh Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recess
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Tranquility, chill-out, great food, great service, unbeatable location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I needed a tranquil, chill-out break for recuperative reasons as I have a chronic illness, which by-ill-chance is not resultant from wages of sin. Rang on the off-chance and the phone was picked up, without even dialling, by Máire, who said, "Oh, you are very lucky to have rang at this second!" Either, the greatest sales pitch in hotel marketing or it was my lucky day. Yes, it was my lucky day! Cancellation! Karma credits used up! The Gods! Firstly, the location, at Lough Inagh is world equalling as anyone familiar with Connemara knows. We had four brilliant days. The expense? For the location, welcome, friendliness, service, continuous attention, company of other guests and staff, food and accommodation, the cost is correctly pitched. Having stayed 12 months, to the week, at Ballynahinch Castle, across the mountains (cannot say a bad word about them), the food at Lough Inagh, is as good, the rooms with the lake view on a par and service equal. The advantage is it, because of the smaller size, is more relaxed, totally chilling-out and offers more personal service. Basically, modus operandi is that, Máire or Dominic give you the weather forecast (how, is a mystery to me!) and they help plan your day! Fishing (I don't fish) and gillies, from talking to fishermen who return year after year is first class, even if catches, as is the nature of the sport, can vary, but, I gathered is very good. Proximity to the Western Way (or Galway Way) is a big advantage and suggested walks on this trail or the trail around Lough Inagh are to be obeyed, because, the scenery is stunning and you meet nobody!. We declined packed sambos because the breakfasts were too good (McGeoughs butchery of Oughterard contribute! The fresh fruit salad and cream-like natural yoghurt .... Well, just put the two bowls in front of me please!) The dinners are top notch, service attentive without being intrusive and staying with the fish of the day is idiot-me-proof and hides my lazy menu reading and provides a thoroughly satisfying result. I declined dessert (avoided reading it as I am very weak willed!) for fear of ruining the main-course buzz! My wife (present wife) did ask for an off-menu of the previous night's menued pannacotta (some "to-die-for" expression was mumbled - my wife thinks I am hard if hearing!), and it was produced! I slid back up onto my chair. Two very important points of advice, get a room with a lake view and sleep with the curtains open - waking up to sun-rise, that view and the shifting mists on the mountains (real mountains not like our Dublin drumlins!), you think you may have died. Lazy default Dubliner exhibitionists like myself will be used to open curtains, but, not THAT lake and THOSE mountains! If you want a hotel with fine lines, clinical surfaces and everything in it's place this lodge is not for you. If you want to live in a relaxed, chill-out zone this is your nirvana. One downside. Avoid Tomás the barman, because he hides in nooks around the hotel, must have shares in Diageo, greets you with "a pint?", and he procedes to pull the creamiest, coolest pint of Guinness this side of St. James's Gate, a perfect end to a day hill-walking or fishing! P.S on the morning of departure, we successfully booked the same week next year! Dreamland!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve2006Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    24
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
34
117
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

My father and I stayed at the Lough Inagh Lodge on a recent hiking holiday and we both were thoroughly impressed. Terrific food, magnificent setting and very warm service. I will definitely be returning next summer with my wife and baby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GPV-TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Went with two friends for dinner whilst on holiday in Ireland. The setting was lovely and the meal very good but pricy. The bill came to over £270 for the four of us which we thought was a bit steep in the wilds of Ireland. Could not fault the food although we would have preferred a la carte instead of the table d'hote which was the only menu proferred. Not many other diners in the dining room save for a very noisy American family and a friendly chap from Oz. Could be the price put others off and they ate in the bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stopped off for dinner in the bar and it was really excellent. The wonderfully fresh and flavourful seafood (in our case, mussels and the seafood platter) and the very enjoyable duck made our evening. Hope to come again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed as part of a walking holiday. The overall impression was that of staying in a country house, rather than in an hotel. We were greeted by the owner who brought us tea and scones. There was a fair turnover of guests of different nationalities but the owner and her staff all took time to make one welcome. You could have dinner either in the more formal dining room or the bar. The meal was traditional but with a modern, lighter slant and very well presented. Great breakfast choice with plenty of fruit as well as cooked options. A memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcaminante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Beach, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We did not stay at the lodge. We ate dinner in the dining room after a day of cycling. The food was excellent. My wife had local fresh lobster and I had a local fish. Both entrees were very good as were our appetizers and salads. Mara was most accommodating in the dining room. As the dining room filled up, we moved to the bar for dessert. Thomas, the bartender, was very friendly and gave me some pointers on the various Irish whiskies which he had there at the bar. The bar was very cozy with sporting memorabilia, as the lodge is a fly fisherman destination.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
464 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

For many years, driving the lonely road joining Recess Village with the Clifden-Leenaun route, we passed this brilliantly-located Lodge/Hotel and wondered what it would be like to stay there ? Finally we decided to give it a try, and the fact that an intended 2 night stay extended to 3 nights surely says something positive.

The Lodge is described in one guidebook as "akin to a family home where guests are encouraged to relax and enjoy the peace", and in our view it lives-up to that promise. It's quite compact (13 bedrooms), with two comfortable "Sitting-Rooms", a lovely Dining-Room, and a small Bar. The Bedrooms are named after famous Irish literary figures - ours being the George Bernard Shaw Room - and pictures of these "greats" are interspersed with the eclectic mix of paintings & prints displayed throughout this attractive House (lurking amidst the "literary giants" we also observed one Eamonn deValera, and then searched in vain for "The Big Fellow", Michael Collins !)

Our welcome was warm, and we were very impressed with our Room, which looked-out onto Lough Inagh. The offer of tea and (warm) scones helped us settle-in, and we soon began to savour our surroundings and unwind.

Dinner (Euro 49) - we ate here for three nights - is generally quite good, our favourite Starter being a particularly tasty "Black Pudding Spring-Roll", and as for Mains the winner definitely was the "Monkfish Special of the Day". Bearing in mind the size of the Lodge, they have an excellently-chosen and very fairly-priced Winelist, so well done to them !

But the real core ingredients which make a stay here most enjoyable are the Hosts : Maire and Dominic - both of them extremely attentive (not intrusive), and, as a bonus for those interested, Gaeilge binn blasta acu beirt ! Maire would remind you of the best style of "Bean a' Ti" - warm, committed, helpful, reliable, and producing a "cupan tae" at (almost) any time you feel even slightly thirsty ! For his part, Dominic is equally warm, as well as being shrewd, energetic, responsive, erudite, and possessing a slightly wicked sense of humour (we grinned when he was directing a large group of Americans to the Dining-Room "turn LEFT - if you want your Dinner, you've got to become DEMOCRATS !)

Even with two wonderful people running the show, not everything runs smoothly all the time. Breakfast, for example, can be a bit of a struggle - the buffet display of fruits, juices, cereals, breads etc. is great, but you gamble when you order from the "cooked" menu, as you may not get exactly what you order, and the Chef shows a definite tendency to "over-cook" your food. Coffee here won't win any Rosettes either - the Owners should go and experience "the real thing" somewhere like "Mocha Beans" in Galway/Westport or more nearby, "Upstairs/Downstairs" in Clifden. And inexperienced staff can let you down in other ways too : in an almost empty Bar, an extremely polite young American lady had to ask the Barperson for a cloth to wipe an unacceptably dirty table, and the same American had to request a "Finger-Bowl" to go with her portion of Mussels - not great on the lady's very first visit to Ireland with her Irish husband eh ?

Mentioning these lapses may seem picky, but Maire & Dominic do such an excellent job that it seems a shame when they appear let-down. (To give them due credit, they responded well when we gave them some honest feedback on what we had experienced or observed !)

So, overall, would we go to "Lough Inagh Lodge" again ? We think we would. This place is quiet (some guests might feel tempted to recall the memorable John Wayne line "too durned quiet" ?) but we like peace, tranquility and stunning scenery, and we definitely enjoyed ourselves. What Maire and Dominic offer here they do extremely well almost all of the time - go neiri an t-adh leo !

Room Tip: For a reasonable supplement you should book a de-luxe room with views over Lough Inagh
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gooner10_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recess
7.0 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
9.7 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
12.1 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
11.9 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
12.3 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Inagh Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Inagh Lodge

Property: Lough Inagh Lodge
Address: R344, Recess, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Recess
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recess
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Inagh Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lough Inagh Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Inagh Hotel Recess
Lough Inagh Lodge Ireland/County Galway - Recess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing