We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lough Inagh Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lough Inagh Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recess
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in Ireland”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Inagh Lodge is one of the best hotels in Ireland. I stayed during the course of a set of intermittent travels (lasting now over six years) which have gone into the making iof a new book, and was very impressed with the warmth of the welcome, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, and the comfort of the bedrooms. There are two sitting rooms on the ground floor, each with an open fire. The views from the hotel are magnificent (Twelve Pins on one side of the valley, Maum Turks on the other); there is ample parking; the bedrooms are spacious and elegant. The food is outstanding and locally-sourced: on the first night of a recent stay I found myself eating fresh oysters and tucking into an absolutely superb rack of lamb. Above all, though, it's the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff that seem so remarkable. An example: last week I was surprised by a totally unexpected allergic hay-fever-type reaction to some sort of pollen that was so severe it made my eyes swim (and I was fishing at the time). The hotel sent down to Galway for some anti-histamines, which arrived at the Inagh valley a mere three hours after I'd (very unwillingly) detailed the symptoms. Such promptness and thoughtfulness are entirely typical. I recommend Inagh Lodge wholeheartedly. One final tip: the midges can be ferocious, so take plenty of midge repellent in the period May-September.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_mccully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    24
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
35
121
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Killaloe, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Very nice relaxing stay at this hotel.
Exceptional scenery, very comfortable, clean room and warm welcome which more than made up for slightly tired decor in the bedrooms.
Breakfast was adequate and friendly service.
All in all would stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnMarie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Hi I’m a ten year old kid from Philadelphia, PA.
I loved Lough Inagh Lodge. I stayed in room 14. It had a very cool bath tub. There were 2 beds and a futon. It was awesome! The food there was really good. The people were always very helpful, and they had a very cute and loving dog named Sophie. During the summer a fisher came there named Colin; he will give you fishing lessons and he's good with kids. The hiking around there is very pretty, but you have to be up to it.
Overall I loved Lough Inagh Lodge!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilby68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed here for one night on the way home and was blown away by the beauty of this area. The hotel is typically Irish, a little retro but very very charming. Food was cooked beautifully and the staff were amazing at every turn. Definetly be back some day!!!!

Room Tip: Front rooms have better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurotrav09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

What a treat to stay here in June and as the reviews stated it was so relaxing and homely.
We stayed in the Oscar Wilde suite and the view over the lake was magnificent.
The staff were so helpful and nothing was a problem even when I had no mobile connection they gave me the house phone to use.

Dinner was the best we have had with excellent service and the bar food both days was super.
It is truly a haven of relaxation and if you like the beauty of Connemara this is the place to stay.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJLIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

What a Joy to experience the old world charm of this lovely lodge. Step back in time to the true spirit of Connemara. The location is wonderful, the food delicious and the service personable.. Escape and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My sister and I stayed one night at the beginning of June and were delighted. Spacious room with dressing area and a large bath was made available to us. Dinner in the restaurant was a five star event. Everything was made to perfection and service was understated and professional.
The views from the hotel are astonishing (and there's lots of that in Ireland)...the lake and the mountains with the mist hanging in the dusk make for unbelievable photos as well as soothing the soul.
Breakfast is also a treat and the library and drawing room make for comfortable reading or Internet trolling.

Room Tip: very quiet location off a main highway in Connemara. No worries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPGlendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recess
6.0 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
807 reviews
11.1 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
14.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
327 reviews
11.1 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
10.7 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Inagh Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Inagh Lodge

Property: Lough Inagh Lodge
Address: R344, Recess, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Recess
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recess
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Inagh Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lough Inagh Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Inagh Hotel Recess
Lough Inagh Lodge Ireland/County Galway - Recess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing