We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hunting & Fishing Lodge in Connemara”
Review of Lough Inagh Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lough Inagh Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Recess
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Lough Inagh Lodge is a very special place. It is a historic building that is set -- it seems -- in the middle of nowhere, but is close enough for easy travel throughout Connemara and beyond. We were three couples traveling together, and we spent two restful nights there. The bedrooms were clean, comfortable, and spacious, and the views of Lough Inagh from our rooms were fantastic. We had an informal dinner in the lodge's bar the first night and a celebration dinner complete with birthday cake in the dining room the next night. Breakfasts were generous, delicious, and nicely presented in the dining room. There is a library where you can read before a turf fire, plus there is another pretty sitting room as well. The owner and staff were helpful in every way. This is what good hospitality is about. We would love to return.

Room Tip: Book ahead and ask for a room in the front if you would like a direct view of the lough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 250 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed two nights with friends on touring holiday . Great location facing lake and mountain views.Booked superior rooms on package with B & B and one night's dinner.Room excellent staff brilliant.We stayed in bar area entertained by barman Thomas and fishing guide Colin who took us to see a bit of fishing. Food excellent especially oysters. What more can we say excellent hotel well run with private owners.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leisurely_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

If you are lucky enough to get a room overlooking the lake, the view in the morning will take your breath away.

The food is excellent and the staff could not be more welcoming and helpful. Nothing is too much bother and they are more than willing to advise on things to do. We love this hotel and cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the lake, you may not always get one, but you can ask anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wainsfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We spent a truly marvellous weekend here recently with friends. The hotel is not what you might call contemporary luxury but it more than does the trick for a fabulous relaxing break away. It is cosy,comfortable, and extremely friendly ... The kind of place where the staff remember your names from the word go. It's all turf fires and cosy lounges to while away an evening. Service is superb. Food is great. And the scones (complimentary) on arrival are just about the best I've had. Views to die for. Rooms huge. Really comfy beds. We came home more relaxed than from any weekend away before

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShivGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Dog friendly and very accommodating, had a fantastic stay here. We arrived down with two small dogs and a six month old baby. The owners gave us a room close to the bar so the baby monitor worked while we had our dinner. Dogs joined us in the library later! Fantastic spot, and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strange_john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My Husband and I stayed in the Lough Inagh Lodge for 1 night on the 6th November, together with 3 American friends. Unfortunately, we misjudged the length of time that the journey would take on the N59 so we didn’t arrive til late in the evening.

To be honest, I have mixed feelings about my stay. As mentioned in my previous reviews, we were travelling around with our American friends and this was the last place that we had booked. It probably doesn’t help the fact that we stayed in 2 castles before the Lodge (Lough Rynn Castle and Abbeyglen Castle). Therefore, I was somewhat disappointed if I am completely honest. I expected it to have more of a ‘wow’ factor.

It does have spectacular views of the Lough which we had a ‘side profile glimpse’ of from our room but I think this is where the ‘wow’ factor starts and ends. The gentleman who booked us in, told us that if we wanted to get views of the lough, we’d want to arrive at 6am! We commented amongst ourselves later; ‘that’d be difficult considering ‘check-in is after 3pm’!

We were allocated 3 rooms side by side. Our room was the ‘James Joyce’ room. It was huge with nice furnishings, a huge bathroom with a dressing room area and it had lovely views, we were delighted! Unfortunately the other couple were not as fortunate or as thrilled. Upon entering their room, they got a strong unpleasant odour. I also noticed it immediately as I entered the room, it reminded us alittle of sewage. The gentleman who checked us in suggested that it was possibly from somebody who ‘smoked’ but it definitely wasn’t that type of odour and there was no point arguing about it. He apologized and asked if they wanted a different room (to be honest, I don’t know why he even asked this as it was obvious that they should be moved). They indicated to him that they wanted to move to another room, so he made the necessary arrangements. The 2nd room was upstairs, it was nice but they had preferred the 1st room so unfortunately it did put a slight dampner on our arrival.

After the room was ready, we went to one of the ‘drawing rooms’ which had a lovely open fire and we had coffee and dessert which was a nice treat. We stayed there for a few hours as it was so pleasant sitting beside the fire and chat. There were also lots of books to read if one desired to do so. During this time, the staff were friendly and attentive.

Later that night when we had retired to our rooms, it was a little noisy, as we could hear some loud voices and laughter and I guess depending on how close you were to the bar or communal rooms, it would be worse. My friend was located at the beginning of the corridor on the ground floor so she could hear the noise more than us but personally it didn’t affect us as much and we had a good sleep. Therefore, this might be something to bear in mind, when booking a room.

Next morning, we were up early so were the only 5 people in the dining area. The breakfast choice was excellent, there was plenty to chose from and everything was fresh, we even had some freshly baked warm scones! Delicious! The girl who waited on us was very nice and attentive.

After our breakfast we had a lovely walk around the lough area, it is such an idyllic location, our American friends loved it and needless to say, we we did too!

In conclusion, we enjoyed our stay but I’m not entirely sure if we would go all the way to Recess to stay in the Inagh Lodge again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blaithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Very relaxed and enjoyable stay. Location is stunning, room was large & comfortable, food was really good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is very convenient for walking in the Maamturks & 12 Bens, ask staff for local knowledge/route advice etc. Hotel is at the higher and of cost bracket but the experience makes it good value. Location does make it difficult if you want to eat somewhere else, e.g. Clifden.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recess
6.5 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
12.3 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
740 reviews
11.9 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
9.7 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
362 reviews
7.0 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Inagh Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Inagh Lodge

Address: R344, Recess, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Recess
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Recess
Price Range: $175 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Inagh Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Lough Inagh Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Inagh Hotel Recess
Lough Inagh Lodge Ireland/County Galway - Recess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing