We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a call!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Have not had the chance to stay here yet but as they are intending staying open all year, unlike the other 2 hotels, will definitely do so.
However, I have eaten here several times and consider the food and the value to be excellent. While the menu changes rarely, just like the other 2 hotels, the range is good on both the bar and evening menu, the food is superb, the portions are generous and represents very good value. There is a good wine list also. As I say, well worth a call.
One point worth bearing in mind and one that seems to be overlooked/ignored by a lot of reviewers is that the island is small with a total resident population of around 180. The season is short, say around 14 weeks, with a smallish number of visitors who would stay overnight. So to expect each hotel to run an operation similar to one even in a medium sized town is unrealistic. The quality, variety and service offered therefore is excellent and to be commended .
Best of luck to them all!

Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
2  Thank EliKoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 84 of 84 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2007

First of all when we arrived all other hotels had minibuses to bring people to hotel but none their for us. We walked & followed the crowd up a stee hill, no signs for the hotel anywhere!!, saw a battered hi-ace coming for our hotel & he took our bags, but no room to give us a lift. We didnt mind this but if you were elderly, or had children this could of caused some hassle. A 5-10min to hotel.
Hotel itself was ok, new but a bit bascially furnished, no altmosphere at all really. Got a room with deck out front which was nice, but again gardens bit sparse & bleak.
I found the food good there, had nice dinner, lunch & brekkie there.
No real bar to sit at, very bright at night a bit like sitting in a takeaway.
This place could be great with a few less lights & some better furniture/features. its more of a B&B than hotel.
Saying all this it definetly is the nicest place too stay on the island & would stay ther again when on island.
The staff were very good & service was friendly & laid back..
Island itself is so lovely, beaches all to yourself.,,

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UpCavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

I thought the Dolphin was fine. Accomodation was very basic but spotless. Breakfast was uninspiring with very little choice. The food was definitely overpriced and was mediocre. Both our dinners were extremely over seasoned with salt, I could hardly eat the chowder... and I am a salt lover. Very little atmosphere. Altogether a poor experience. Georgina Campbell has given this a reccomendation but this means nothing nowadays as her judgements have really dropped...she seems to have such an array of standards recently, from dreadful to excellent... Unfortunately as beautiful as the scenery is on Inisbofin, the food in all the establishments was very disappointing. Beautiful scenery at the west end of the island and worth a good 2/3 hour walk.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mij0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2006

Just back from a short break in Inishbofin.
We really enjoyed our stay,the island is wonderful for exploring
We stayed at the newly opened Dolphin Hotel(The restaurant has been opened for a few years,the rooms are a new addition)
There are good sized rooms which are spotless,excellent dinners in the restaurant and the people there could not be more welcoming and helpful-a friendly homely place to stay.Good value,room and full breakfast €40(low season),dinner €25-30

6  Thank crowdedhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Véronique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, traveled with friends
Thank valerio5791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.8 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
8.5 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
13.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
298 reviews
11.5 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin

Address: Middle Quarter, Inishbofin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range: $94 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Hotel Inishbofin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing