We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff-very relaxing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
belfast
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great staff-very relaxing hotel”
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed here for two nights at the start of August. Rooms were clean and food was excellent. The highlight of this hotel however is their staff. They were professional while at the same time naturally friendly and they genuinely could not do enough for you. Compliments and thanks to Colin, Cora and the very friendly girl in the restuarant who was still in great form at dinner one night after serving us breakfast that same morning. Other Irish hotels could learn so much from this hotel about customer service. I cannot understand a previous review which complained about no bedside lamp and late breakfast. It is important to understand that the way of life in Inishbofin (which by the way is great) is different to the mainland. This hotel manages to fully blend in with the Inishbofin way of life and it is vital that it remains doing just that. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break and great food.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    96
    34
    13
    18
See reviews for
95
142
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2010

My stay at Inishbofin House Hotel was perfect from start to finish.
We were meet at the ferry by a lovely bubbly girl called Patricia who carried our bags to a bus and delivered us all to the hotel. We eat in the bar shortly after our arrival which was beautiful. We brought our four children aged from 10 to 3 .We had a lovely family room which had plenty of room for us all. We went on a fab walk up the rocky hill beside the hotel where when you reach the top the views are breath taking the two eldest kids were in their element. We orgainised a baysitter for 8 o' clock and she brought them all for a walk and to the park for an hour before bed time. We had a meal in the bar which again was georgous. We stayed in the hotel until 11 o'clock and them moved down to Days pub beside the hotel which had a brillant crowd in it .There was trad music and a bit of irish dancing from a crowd of girls that were away for a 30th birthday. We left the pub at 2.30 and the pub was in full swing we were told you could be there untill 6 o'clock if you wished. In all we were delighted with everything as i said the staff were very helpful nothing a problem.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

i recently stayed in the wonderful inisbofin house hotel. the room were lovely. the views where amazing. the service was excellent. the staff were very helpful and kind to everybody in the group. we all had a great time. will come back again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theonlypaulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This was my first time to Inisbofin . The Hotel was centrally located and the friendly welcome made us feel at home instantly. The room was very comfortable and the view breathtaking. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent. We greatly enjoyed the walks around the Island with a stop for coffee and delicious cakes en route. The peace and away from it all feeling was exceptional, and the music and fun in the pub completed the experience. We cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan186621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2010

I recently booked 5 rooms for a Friday night stay at this hotel. While all appeared ok on the surface, we were extremely disappointed at the level of customer service and general standards. Couple of things (and keep in mind this was over 24 hours). We were a group of 10 people (5 adults & 5 teenagers), and as there were no 3-bedded rooms available, we were forced to book 5 double/twin rooms. When we requested a discount on the full price (110 Euro per room per night) we were refused. This stuck in the throat, especially as all the rooms were facing the back, so the view was basically a cement wall. Dinner was fine - but when we requested they light the candles on the table, we were told they had "run out of tea lights" (in the middle of high season?!). As the evening drew in the spotlights over our table were not turned on (we could barely see our desserts). When we requested they be switched on, we were told "sorry, the fuse is gone on those" with no offer of a solution. Still left in the dark until finally they brought in some big candles from reception. Honestly, I've been in tea houses in Nepal where the service was sharper and more professional (at a fraction of the cost). No bedside lamp in my room - too late to do anything about it so did without. Loud humming noise outside the window all night (and this with the windows shut - some sort of machine). Breakfast from 9am (unbelievably)- 11am. I've never, ever stayed ANYWHERE where breakfast was served so late. No desk staff until 9am. One of our party made a request of the waitress (who was laying the tables) for coffee at 8am and he was refused (how hard would it have been to supply the guy with a cup of coffee (and bad coffee at that)???). Breakfast - lacklustre buffet - Rice Crispies, Corn Flakes and muesli (like powder), sugary juices. No fresh fruit or yoghurt. No menu - "its the usual full Irish" - what does that mean to people who are not Irish? The 2nd waitress was 25 mins late so chaos in the dining room. The waitress on duty did not have a clue how to cope. We waited 15-20 mins before finally going to her to try to get some coffee. My biggest gripe is with the management. No sign of anyone in charge in the morning and staff are only as good as they are trained to be. All very sloppy and 2nd rate. I'm from the west of Ireland and the rest of the party are from the USA. I've stayed before and had a reasonably good experience - room with a harbour view, much cheaper rate, better service, etc. But I was so disappointed that my recent experience was as described above. I felt I had returned to the standards of the 70s. Not good enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hibernia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for three nights recently with my extended family and we had a great time. The hotel is very nicely designed with a good bar and restaurant overlooking the harbour and a residents lounge which was a welcome bolt hole. The bedrooms were very comfortable and spacious and the beds were a great size. Make sure you ask for a room with a sea view. We had a shared balcony where you could sit and read, weather permitting!. The staff were really excellent and extremely helpful. They were run off their feet though which meant that housekeeping was sometimes not as good as you would expect but that was a minor irritation. If you get the weather, Inishbofin cannot be beaten for beauty and natural wildness. We will definitely be back and will stay at Day's Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Smith1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

On our first trip to the island, we were blown away by the beauty of the place. Our stay was all the better for the friendly staff at the Days Hotel. They were obviously very busy but went out of their way to really helpful and nice to us. Not having packed properly for the cool evenings, Colin even offered me his jumper. Went down to the shop the next day and bought the trademark blue Inishbofin sweatshirt so jumper was duly returned. The spa is worth a visit. We will be back. Mick and Finola

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mk1Dublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin
13.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
708 reviews
11.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
12.7 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Property: Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Address: Inishbofin | Connemara, Inishbofin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inishbofin, the enchanted Island, is set in the wild splendour of Connemara, amid the magical beauty of sea, lake and mountains, located off the beautiful Galway and Mayo coastline in the west of Ireland. An oasis of modern luxury, with a warm island welcome, Inishbofin House Hotel is far removed from the daily distractions of the mainland. The hotel is guaranteed to provide a warm island welcome. Inishbofin House Hotel provides the perfect island getaway for families looking to rediscover nature or couples looking for a romantic break away from it all. With beautiful beaches, walks and cycling paths, an array of birds and other wildlife, the Island and Inishbofin House Hotel has something for everyone. All 34 en-suite rooms are fitted with contemporary furnishings designed in keeping with the beautiful island setting. Sea view rooms offer stunning views of rugged mountains and blue Atlantic waters. All rooms have luxurious beds complete with goose down duvets and pillows. Relax the afternoons away in our stylish Pier bar surrounded by spectacular harbour views. Enjoy casual informal dining with a selection of dishes from our bar food menu to suit everyone. Enjoy live traditional music with local musicians. Our restaurant menu is inspired by the sea and carries a range of dishes to reflect the days catch and the changing seasons. Our wine list caters for every palate with a thoughtful selection of new and old world wines to suit everyone. The Hotel Spa is the ideal place to relax after a day out exploring the island. The Marine Spa has six treatment rooms and a relaxation room. Many treatments are on offer ranging from massages to seaweed baths. VOYA products are used, which is an organic beauty range designed to delight and purify the body. The VOYA seaweed bath is a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishbofin House Hotel And Marine Spa
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Inishbofin
Inishbofin Hotel Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing