We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Kings were treated like Royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Kings were treated like Royalty”
Reviewed May 10, 2010

First i have to say for all the years i have been traveling this is the first time i have stayed on an island and had to get a ferry over so that was exciting in itself and we were met off the boat by our Hotel driver and he brought us to this Beautiful hotel with incredible surroundings. I cannot compliment the staff enough for their hospitality and friendliness. I would personally like to thank the manager Colin for his efficiency and generosity. The island is breathtaking and if anyone ever felt a little bit of stress in their lives you can be assured that you will leave your cares behind and feel rested and a new person by the end of your stay in bofin.

Look no further STAY HERE

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boozie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    98
    41
    14
    18
See reviews for
97
149
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2010

We were lucky enough to be invited to a birthday party here. 71 people in total, including over 30 children. It was wonderful. The staff were very helpful and kind, especially Colin, who seemed to be everywhere making sure his guests had a great time.
The Island is magical, with lots of walks, cycling, swimming and pubs( when you are finished with the healthy bits).
This was my third time to Inishbofin and It gets better each time. The hotel itself was clean, with large rooms looking out to sea, the food was delicious.
I will be back soon, I hope.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulubells1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

just back from weekend in this hotel. Great spot, lovely location overlooking harbour. Staff collected me from harbour but its only 5 min walk either way. Ate in bar and food was excellant. There is a great vibe to this hotel helped by friendly, eager and efficient staff who run this place very well. I really liked the views from the bedrooms, restaurant and the bar. Overall, loved this place, well worth a detour for a night, its only 30 mins on the ferry from cleggan.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We have just returned from holding a birthday party at Inishbofin House Hotel. There were 71 of us. It was a family occasion with a mix of all age groups. Leading up to the party the manager met us in Galway to plan the event. Each time we met him, the answer to my requests was either 'yes' or 'give me 24hrs and I can let you know' and then the answer was yes.
The hotel is stunningly situated overlooking the harbour, the bus met us at the pier.
The rooms are modern and bright, the staff could not have been more friendly, helpful and enthusiastic, Colin, the manager was very much in evidence asking guests how they were. My friends and family were charmed by him. He even organised a bus tour for my elderly parents who would not otherwise have been able to see the island.
We decided to have the usual rather than function menu, the food was delicious with lots of freshly caught fish, the children could opt for more simple fare.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a function or a family short stay. We were offered a very generous party B and B rate. We will be back before the end of the year!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freecantillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2010

I spent three days on Bofin earlier this month, and besides the weather being glorious, the hotel was perfect for our visit. We had a sea view and the little cove in front of our window was picture-perfect. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and professional and the rooms were tastefully decorated and very comfortable - nothing like having a shower that works well and mirrors that de-mist!
The menu for breakfast was a delight - always a selection of fruit, cereals, little pastries, fruit juice, and then a full breakfast should you wish. Their bar menu was fabulous and well worth the cost. I had the bangers and mash on one occasion (delicious!) and the toasted goat cheese sandwich on some kind of thin flat bread (absolutely divine). The proximity to the pub was great and I used the lovely glass-fronted and sides library - sitting back in the comfortable couch for an hour or so simply enjoying the quiet of the place and the stunning views was perfect. The hotel is perfectly located on the island, so it was easy getting from one end of the island to the other. The walks give you spectacular views and we truly were fortunate to have sunny skies for the most part. It's an island and a hotel I will most definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guilligumdrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We spent three days in Inishbofin House Hotel also knows as Days Hotel. The hotel's facilities were wonderful but more importantly the service was great, the staff we met were so friendly and accommodating and really made our trip. Apparently previous reviews of this hotel are bad but this was before the ownership changed so please ignore these ones...or you will miss out!

Ps: Try the goats cheese pita with caramelised onion-delish!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

'We have just come back from one of the best holidays that we have ever had. We have travelled extensively on business and leisure holidays all over the world and we have to say that the Inisbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa is amongst the best of them if not better. We booked a two night break with our two children aged 4 and 7 and ended up staying three nights as we such a great time. Upon our arrival we were met by Clare who was extremely friendly and welcoming. We were shown to our room which was at the front of the hotel. It had one of the best views that we have ever had at a hotel. The room was very clean, spacious and well equipped – ideal for the four of us. The hotel has an amazing spa which unfortunately was closed when we visited but we will definitely use when we return. The spa is extremely well equipped and the treatment rooms looked very enticing! The view from the chill out room is one to be seen. A perfect place for some pampering or a girlie weekend treat away.

We arrived mid week so the hotel was not full but we had excellent service from all staff members. They all went out of their way to talk with us and ensured that all our needs were met. The bar food is of a very high standard. We are big sea food lovers and Colin looked after us very well with one the best seafood dinners ever! The quality of the food in the restaurant was top class – our compliments to the chef!!

This hotel is a hidden gem. I am surprised that I had not heard about it before now and it was just by chance that we saw it advertised on the web. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something a bit special. Colin and his staff went out of their way to ensure that we had a great time. Nothing is a problem for them. From dropping us off to pick up our bikes to preparing a packed lunch for our day the beach. Everyone goes above and beyond the call of duty

We had four glorious days on the island. If you are looking for bustling nightlife with lots of shops, bars etc then this is not the place to go but if you are looking for a complete chill out zone with stunning scenery, beautiful walks and wonderful friendly people then the Inisbofin House Hotel and Inisbofin Island is for you! But please don’t tell too people about it! We don’t want our secret little piece of heaven to be discovered! Colin and Clare keep up the great work! We WILL be back!'

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveLifeLiveLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
289 reviews
12.7 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
11.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Property: Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Address: Inishbofin | Connemara, Inishbofin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inishbofin, the enchanted Island, is set in the wild splendour of Connemara, amid the magical beauty of sea, lake and mountains, located off the beautiful Galway and Mayo coastline in the west of Ireland. An oasis of modern luxury, with a warm island welcome, Inishbofin House Hotel is far removed from the daily distractions of the mainland. The hotel is guaranteed to provide a warm island welcome. Inishbofin House Hotel provides the perfect island getaway for families looking to rediscover nature or couples looking for a romantic break away from it all. With beautiful beaches, walks and cycling paths, an array of birds and other wildlife, the Island and Inishbofin House Hotel has something for everyone. All 34 en-suite rooms are fitted with contemporary furnishings designed in keeping with the beautiful island setting. Sea view rooms offer stunning views of rugged mountains and blue Atlantic waters. All rooms have luxurious beds complete with goose down duvets and pillows. Relax the afternoons away in our stylish Pier bar surrounded by spectacular harbour views. Enjoy casual informal dining with a selection of dishes from our bar food menu to suit everyone. Enjoy live traditional music with local musicians. Our restaurant menu is inspired by the sea and carries a range of dishes to reflect the days catch and the changing seasons. Our wine list caters for every palate with a thoughtful selection of new and old world wines to suit everyone. The Hotel Spa is the ideal place to relax after a day out exploring the island. The Marine Spa has six treatment rooms and a relaxation room. Many treatments are on offer ranging from massages to seaweed baths. VOYA products are used, which is an organic beauty range designed to delight and purify the body. The VOYA seaweed bath is a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Inishbofin
Inishbofin House Hotel And Marine Spa
Inishbofin Hotel Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing